Book Notification

Laura E. Weymouth Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Light Between Worlds (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Treason of Thorns (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rush of Wings (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Consuming Fire (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Voice Upstairs (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura E. Weymouth is a Canadian-born American writer of fantasy, young adult, historical fiction, and magical realism stories. She made her debut in the world of writing with the 2018 book called The Light Between Worlds. This book became widely popular and helped establish Weymouth in the ranks of noteworthy aspiring authors. She followed the success of her first novel with her second book called A Treason of Thorns. This book also received great successes in all the places of its release. Author Weymouth was born and brought up in Ontario, Canada. She now resides in New York. Her family consists of her loving husband, a couple of beautiful daughters, a cat, and some chickens.

Weymouth is the 6th consecutive generation of her family that has migrated to another country from their country of birth. She has been residing in America since her migration and seems to have fallen in love with her new resident country. Weymouth is represented by Lauren Spieller of the TriadaUS agency. According to her, the best thing about writing is that one never gets bored with it. She always tells her husband that being a writer is like having the liberty to go watch a movie at any point. A writer always feels like he/she is the director, costume designer, casting director, set designer, etc.

Whenever Weymouth comes across writer’s block, though she hardly faces any due to being involved with her children all the time, she prevents herself from pushing things. She likes to use the opportunity to let her mind rest and invest the free time in pursuing other forms of creativity. Mostly, she likes to do gardening. Sometimes, Weymouth even listens to music to attain the peace of mind that she always looks for. Weymouth claims that writing has always been her first love. She has been writing from a very young age. When she was small, she used to invest her time in reading the works of popular authors with the hope of becoming a noteworthy author herself in the future.

The authors who have influenced her a lot in her younger days include Ursula Le Guin, Erin Bow, Madeleine L’Engle, Peter Beagle, CS Lewis, Melina Marchetta, Robin McKinley, etc. The inspiration behind writing her first book came from her love for history. Many things served as important factors in the development of the story of the novel, including the fascination of the role of witness in the personal stories of people. Weymouth was also very fond of stately homes located in Europe that led her to set her story in a similar setting. She was also quite amazed by the idea of generations of a family living in such beautiful mansions over the course of several years. Weymouth thinks families who have lived in one place for very long show greater responsibility towards their homes. So, she came up with the idea of describing a house that is strongly bonded to a family. Subsequently, the Burleigh House came into the picture.

The main challenge that Weymouth faced while writing her books was from her two daughters, who she claims have mildly feral natures. They run around in her house creating chaos and damaging things. So, Weymouth has to keep moving around them to make sure that they don’t cause greater damage or get themselves injured. This takes up much of her time and leaves very few hours in a day for her to focus on her writing. Weymouth’s advice to aspiring writers is to keep writing as much as they can and read wisely. She also asks them to try their hands at different genres of stories so as to hone their writing skills and become a better writer. Also, she believes that aspiring writers should not write with the intention of getting their published, at least for the first couple of years of their career. This way, they will be able to take literary risks and improve their writing style. Author Weymouth is confident enough to write many more exciting stories in the coming years and become a much more successful writer. She hopes to get the support of her fans as well as the critics all over the world.

The debut book written by author Laura E. Weymouth is entitled ‘The Light Between Worlds’. It was released by HarperTeen in 2018. This novel contains the primary characters in the form of sisters Philippa and Evelyn Hapwell. Initially, it is mentioned that Evelyn and Philippa experienced a frightening day 5 years ago when they tried to save themselves from airstrikes on the bomb shelter in London in which they were staying. Later, they were transported to a place known as The Woodlands. The sisters found refuge temporarily in the forest kingdom that was filled with creatures out of legend and myth.

Upon returning to London, they saw that everything was the same except themselves. As the sisters begin their normal lives again, Evelyn longs for the Woodlands and makes attempts to go there again. She is willing to do whatever it takes to return to the Woodlands. On the other hand, Philippa shows determination to find her place in the real world. She shows a tough exterior to shield herself. But, when she is unable to get over the memory, she decides to relocate to America. Later, Evelyn disappears and Philippa is forced to confront the depth of the despair of her sister as well as the painful realities that they have been trying to avoid.

Another mind-blowing book penned by Weymouth is known as ‘A Treason of Thorns’. It was also published by HarperTeen in 2019. This novel features the central character in the role of Violet Sterling. The book opens by depicting that Violet has been living in exile for the last 7 years. She is desperate to come back to Burleigh House, which is one of England’s 6 great houses. The magic of Burleigh is what has kept the countryside free from all harm. When Violet was small, she was brought happiness by this magic. It would drape her in lovely flowers while sleeping, light fires on cold nights, and make secret places for her to hide. But, everything got shattered when Violet’s father committed treason while he tried to overcome the oppressive rule of the king on Burleigh House. Her father’s death in the process forced Violet to go into hiding. When she finally gets a chance to come back, she finds that Burleigh has turned into a sad state. The magic she knew has turned deadly and dark, turning the flowers into thorns, destroying crops, and poisoning livestock. Violet makes up her mind to help Burleigh return to its former glory and do everything in her capacity to succeed in this mission.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura E. Weymouth

Leave a Reply