Book Notification

Laura Frantz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Ballantyne Legacy Books

Love's Reckoning (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Awakening (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Fortune (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mistress of Tall Acre (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Frontiersman's Daughter (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Courting Morrow Little (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Colonel's Lady (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Moonbow Night (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lacemaker (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bound Heart (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Uncommon Woman (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tidewater Bride (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Heart Adrift (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose and the Thistle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seamstress of Acadie (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura Frantz, a history lover, Christ –follower, mom, wife and author, started writing at the age of 7 and has never stopped writing ever since. Born and raised in Kentucky, Frantz, later on, moved to Lexington, but she admits her heart had always been in Berea in Madison County, the place she and her family has lived since the 18th century. She worked as a teacher before marrying her husband (a Washingtonian). The family is blessed with two sons and owns two dogs and a cat (all males). Laura, who, strangely enough, only attended one creative writing class, has a passion for history and the wonders of the past centuries. The following sections detail some of her books.

Books Laura Has Written

Frantz has authored some novels including Frontiers the Frontiersman’s Daughter, Courting Morrow Little and The Colonel’s Lady. Book series under her name include Love’s Reckoning (2012), Love’s Awakening (2013) and Love’s Fortune (2014). The list of all the books is rather long and features captivating plots, deep characterization, and remarkable writing prowess. The following are some of the books in the Novel and series categories. Read on.


The Frontiersman’s Daughter

This Novel is a narration of a backwoodsman’s daughter going by the name Lael Click. Click, who is described as lovely yet tough as nails, is haunted by her family’s secret sins as well as her father’s former captivity by Shawnee Indians. She grows up in the delicate Kentucky settlement that her father founded. However, she faces dangerous family feud, the loss of a babyhood love and the love of a Shawnee warrior but still manages to draw strength from two sources; Ma Horn, a relative who shows her how to use roots and herbs for medicinal purposes and the rugged terrain she calls home. The novel portrays Fritz strong heroines, is well-researched, full or surprising plot twists and uncompromisingly depicts her Laura’s life on the Kentucky frontier.


1. Love’s Reckoning (Ballantyne Legacy Part 1)

Love’s Reckoning features a character by the name Silas Ballantyne, who on a harsh December day in 1785 arrives at blacksmith Liege Lee’s place in York, Pennsylvania for an internship. With only a couple of months left to become a master blacksmith himself, Ballantyne is focused on finishing his apprenticeship and moving west. However, Liege realizes Silas is an extraordinary craftsman and worker and instead opts to retain him in York. Silas develops an interest in Liege’s two daughters; the high-spirited and clever Elspeth and the faith-filled and gentle Eden. He then wondered if, should he choose one, the other’s jealousy would destroy their love.

A sweeping family saga ensures in western Pennsylvania. One man’s choices in work and love, in enemies and friends, set the podium for several generations to come. Love’s Reckoning is a rich multi-layered, captivating and charming historical quarter from a super-talented author Laura Frantz. It started in the 18th century and trailed the Ballantyne family all the way to the close of the Civil War.

2. Love’s Awakening (Ballantyne Legacy Part 2)

In Love’s Awakening, Laura Frantz talks about Jack Turlock and Ellie Ballantyne, two young lovebirds whose families detest their union. While Ellie’s family is highly religious, Jack’s doesn’t have the best repute. Ellie’s, therefore, disapprove Jack. Ellie Ballantyne is part of abolitionist family and finishing school, while Jack, on the contrary, is a student and hails from a family apprehensive of Ellie family’s views.

The tale started when Ellie leaves finishing school in the spring of 1882 and returns to her family home in Pittsburg. On reaching home, she finds her siblings, who appeared not to want Ellie to live with them, alone (her parents had gone on a long journey). Determined to make it in life, and fill her time, Ellie opens a day school. However, when a member of incorrigible Turlock Family enrolled to be one of her students, Ellie realizes she has to walk a thin line.

Despite being aware that the Turlock family members are suspicious of their abolitionist learning and jealous of her powerful family, Ellie can’t resist falling in love. With time she becomes increasingly entwined with her family’s rival clan. To her, the handsome Jack Turlock is irresistible. Is she falling in love with a challenging future? Will she betray herself (and her family) with the enemy? Ellie, torn between her family’s ties and love, finds herself in a dilemma.

Ballantyne Legacy is a well written, majestic tale of history, love, and loyalty full of suspense. Laura Fritz, a masterful author, displays her prowess through the emotive Ballantyne family saga. You need to read it yourself to have a first-hand experience of these incredible books, by renowned Laura Frantz.

Books made into movie

None of Laura Frantz’s books has been made into TV series or movies. Frantz claims it was not even her desire, initially, to have her books published’ she only loves writing for the pure joy of writing. With such a perception about her works, and considering her books are mainly historical, the likelihood of making her books into movies are slim, currently.

The Role Laura Plays through her books

At the backdrop of American Revolution that overlooks traditional accounts and romance of the past centuries, Laura endeavors to bring the occurrences of the colonial period vividly into life. All her books are full of vital lessons both for lovers of history and persons in love. So, if you fancy inspirational romance and historical writings, or love novels in general, check out the above fantastic Novel, and several others, by Laura. For series by Laura Frantz there is need to start from the first one so as to understand the plot deeper and hence enjoy even more.


Laura Franz is undoubtedly a talented, passionate and historical writer who always delivers interesting works. She is well-known all over the world for her unparalleled research and depth of characterization. Ever since she was called to write at the age of 7, she has been writing fascinating 18th-century fiction series and novels, especially on colonial history and all the marvels of the past centuries. Are you a fan of historical writings and wonders of the past century? Grab any of her books and quench your thirst.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Frantz

Leave a Reply