Book Notification

Laura Kinsale Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Medieval Hearts Books

For My Lady's Heart (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadowheart (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Regency Tales Books

Midsummer Moon (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Sweet Folly (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uncertain Magic (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Victorian Hearts Books

The Hidden Heart (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow and the Star (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Midsummer Moon (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seize the Fire (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prince of Midnight (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flowers from the Storm (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dream Hunter (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uncertain Magic (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lessons in French (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura Kinsale is a New York Times bestselling author, and winner of the book of the year award by Romance Writers of America. After working for six years as a geologist, Laura Kinsale eventually decided to become a romance writer. While serving as a geologist, Laura Kinsale used to wake up in the middle of the night and then drive more than 100 miles across west Texas, and give instructions to men who were covered in oil. However, it did not take long before Laura Kinsale decided that being a geologist was not her career path. Thus, she gave up her career as a geologist and decided to sit on chair more than 12 hours in a day, trying to create characters and an interesting storyline. Currently, Laura Kinsale lives with her husband, with whom they spend time between Texas, New Mexico, and Santa Fe.

Laura Kinsale Best Books
Flowers of the Storm
If you are looking for a historical romance novel, which is close to perfect, then you should definitely read flowers of the storm. The language, the narrative, and emotional intensity; Flowers of the Storm have everything that a fan of historical romance may be looking for. In Flowers of the Storm, author Laura Kinsale introduces the readers to Archimedea, a sensible and extremely strict Quack lady, who happens to be the daughter of a renowned mathematician. When the work of her father brings Archimedea into contact with one, Christian Langland, a mathematician duke of Jervaulx, Archimedea decides to writes Christian Langland down as a practiced rake. Nonetheless, Maddy is somewhat dismayed and a little bit puzzled by the intensity of her sadness, when she gets to learn that Jervaulx has passed away.

What Maddy does not know is that Christian has not passed away, though he still wishes he was. After experiencing a stroke, Christian is confined in a madhouse, where he is diagnosed as suffering from the side effects of a moral breakdown. Blythedale, Maddy’s cousin, is in charge of the asylum, together with her father, they go to live in the asylum. When Maddy is introduced to the patients in the asylum, she is shocked to meet Christian once again, confined and manacled in a barren cell. Instantly, Maddy realizes that Christian is not insane. Maddy makes the vow to take care of Christian until, he comes back to his senses. Christian’s family is more than determined to ensure that Christian is declared insane. However, after realizing what his family was planning to do, he realizes that he has to come up with a plan. Furthermore, Christian is smart enough to understand that he will not be able to fight his family alone.

In turn, Christian decides to enlist Maddy. After coming to the realization that Maddy believed that he was not mad, Christian began recovering at a much faster rate. However, the more Christian, got better, the more he realized that he needed Maddy. Maddy on the other hand, comes to the realization that she is drawn to the world that all her life, she was raised to reject and in the process to go against most of the basic principles that she has always learned to uphold. With that said, Flowers of From the Storm is a narrative that goes beyond two opposites attracting. It is a narrative about looking beyond what other people see and be able to discover who we truly are. Christian is in the long run, able to uncover the rather hidden and repressed nature of Maddy. Maddy, on the other hand, realizes that despite the fact that she is a powerful person, she is also quite vulnerable.

The Shadow and the Star
The Shadow and the Star is the second installment in the Victorian Hearts book series. It is an extremely dark narrative that contains numerous brilliantly written elements. Author Laura Kinsale has a talent when it comes to penning down intoxicatingly sensual scenes, which are created with the barest of touches or a mere look. There were also numerous romantic moments that were created from some of the simplest things, like the first gift that one Samuel gave to Leda. In the Shadow and the Star, author Laura Kinsale introduces the readers to Samuel Gerard, an extremely rich, talented, clever and emotionally damaged man. Ever since Samuel Gerard was young, he was emotionally abuse. Despite the fact that he is 20 years old, Samuel is not only afraid of his physical desires but, he is also still a virgin.

After being rescued from his nightmare by one Tess, a lady that Samuel completely adores, Samuel was brought up in Tess’s family, the well-off Ashland family. In the entire Ashland family, it is only Tess, who truly understands the unspeakable life that, Samuel had to go through. However, lady Tess does not truly understand fully the emotional damage that Samuel has to deal with on a day to day basis. While Samuel was living in Hawaii with the Ashland family, Samuel is taken in with the family’s butler, Dojun. Samuel is trained in the field of martial arts and eventually becomes a skilled warrior.

Lessons in French
In Lessons in French author, Laura Kinsale introduces the readers to Lady Callista Taillefaire, who apart from being cute has a tremendous amount of wealth. However, Lady Callista is extremely shy because she has been left at the altar on more than three occasions. Callista has always had a challenge of striking small talk with men. Now 27, Lady Callista is about to give up entirely on the marriage institution and is more than certain that she is going to remain a wallflower. Callista plans on moving in with her sister and lead a quiet life, where she will be mainly breeding her bulls. As Callista does her best to disappear completely, she walks in at one Trevelyan her childhood crush, whom she has not seen for quite a while. The last time Callista saw Trevelyan, was when her father scared the young man away.

For several years, Trevelyan has been in Paris trying to secure his family’s dynasty. When Callista sees Trevelyan in town, she tries even harder to disappear; however, it does not work. Trevelyan immediately spots Callista and walks towards her and immediately flatters her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Kinsale

Leave a Reply