Book Notification

Laura Madeleine Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Confectioner's Tale (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Wild Cherries Grow (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets Between Us (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Echo of Scandal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura Madeleine
Laura Madeleine was born in 1988 in Windsor, Ontario, and has an older sister who is fantasy author, Lucy Hounsom. By total and strange coincidence, their debut novels were published on the same exact day.

She went to theater school and acted professionally as a kid. Her first ever job was when she was nine, playing Elizabeth Hall in the RSC’s “The Herbal Bed”, directed by Michael Attenborough. Her biggest film role was probably in “The Phantom of the Opera” (2004) playing Young Madame Giry.

Even though she had planned on pursuing a career as an actor or a dancer, when she was 16 she changed her mind and decided to do A Levels instead. It was one of the best decisions that she ever made. Thanks to all of the encouragement from her tutors, she wound up applying to universities, and got offered a place to study English at Newnham College, Cambridge.

Laura’s short stories have been published by Candis magazine, Short Fiction Journal, and My Weekly, among others.

“The Confectioner’s Tale” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2015. What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

Paris, 1909. At the famous Patisserie Clermont, one chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given a single young guy this glimpse into a life that he never even knew existed: about melted chocolate and sweet cream, powdered sugar and golden caramel, of pastry that is light as air. However it is not only the art of confectionery that is holding him captive, and quickly a forbidden love affair starts.

Almost 80 years later, this academic finds this hidden photograph of her grandpa as a young man with these two people she’s never seen before. On the back of the picture the words “Forgive me” have been scrawled. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she starts unraveling the tale about two star crossed lovers and an irrevocable betrayal.

Take one moment to savor this bittersweet and evocative love story which echoes through the decades.

Laura’s style of writing is crisp with such an articulate narrative style which changes from one timeline to the other. The story is rather captivating since the story takes place during early 20th century Paris. Paris is a backdrop is captured vividly by Laura, as she captures the culture of this time, as well as the people, the language, and the streets. This is an enthralling yet evocative story filled with deep emotions and delicious pastries.

“Where the Wild Cherries Grow” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2017. The year is 1919 and the war has ended, however for Emeline Vane the cold Norfolk fens are just haunted by the memories of those that she has lost. In a single moment of grief, she recklessly boards this train and runs away from it all.

Emeline’s journey leads her far away, to this little seaside village in the South of France. Taken in by Maman (cafe owner) and her 20 year old son, Emeline discovers this world that is totally new to her. Of wild herbs, oranges, and olives; some rich tastes of the land.

However once a love affair develops, just as passionate as the flavors of this village, secrets from back home start blowing in off the sea wides. 50 years later, this young lawyer on his very first case discovers Emeline’s diary, and starts to trace this tale of love, betrayal, and bittersweet secrets which is going to send him on this journey to learn the truth.

Readers found this to be a very readable and tenderly written novel with some flavorful descriptions. Catalin cooking (both its traditions and descriptions) are so mouthwatering, as it becomes so important in Emeline’s life. Fans of the book found themselves very curious to see what Bill would discover in all those musty papers and diary, and if he could figure out where it was that Emeline went. It’s easy to get engaged with this setting and all of the characters. Laura’s got such a beautiful and smooth style of writing which pulls you in and keeps you intrigued on what’s going on.

“The Secrets Between Us” is the third stand alone novel and was released in 2018. Laura delivers a gripping mystery with a heartbreaking revelation. Here is a sublimely satisfying tale about betrayal, love, and the dangers of war.

High up in the mountains in the South of France, Ceci Corvin (18 years old) is attempting to just carry on as normal. However in 1943, there isn’t any such thing as normal; particularly not for a young woman that is in love with the wrong person. Scandal, it appears, can be far more dangerous than a war.

Fifty years later. Annie is looking for her long-lost grandma. Armed with nothing but a sheaf of papers, she travels to Paris from England to find the truth. However while she traces her grandma’s story, Annie finds something that she was not expecting, something which changes everything that she knew about her family, and everything that she believed she knew about herself.

“An Echo of a Scandal” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in 2019. With blood on her hands, and in the dead of night, she was able to make her escape.

Alejandra has been accused of murder, and so she flees from her home, escaping out to the southern edge of Spain, where she faces a life of destitution and poverty.

Seduced by the power of the rich and all the anonymity which is waiting across the water in Tangier, Ale makes a bid for a new start. However it is going to come at a price: a life of deception. Since Ale’s new buddies want to know who it is that she is running away from, who she even is, and whether they can trust her or not.

Half a century later, this young American writer wanders around the Tangier streets, looking for some inspiration. He stumbles across this trace of Ale’s life, he finds himself getting tangled up in a story of danger, scandal, and love which has not yet reached its end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Madeleine

Leave a Reply