Book Notification

Laura Wolfe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Horse Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Top Producer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Widows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Lies Alone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Best Friend's Lie / The Lake House (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Live Next Door (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Before Me (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The In-Laws (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prom Queen (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura Wolfe
Laura Wolfe writes twisty and fast paced suspense and mystery novels. The books in her equestrian-themed YA mystery series have been shortlisted for multiple indie book awards. “Trail of Secrets” was nominated for a Next Generation Indie Book Awards Best First Novel in 2016.

Laura is a lover of nature and animals. When she is not busy writing, Laura can be found hanging out with her highly energetic children, hiking through local nature areas, playing some tennis, spoiling her rescue dog, and growing vegetables in her garden.

Laura holds a JD from DePaul University College of Law and a BA in English from the University of Michigan. After several years of pursuing a winding career path in the real estate and legal fields, she found herself being drawn back to writing, one of her earliest passions. Her fascination with “things that go bump in the night” probably stems from watching way too many scary flicks when she was younger.

She heard a long time ago that you should write the book that you want to read. She has always enjoyed reading fast paced and well written novels that keep the reader guessing until the very end. So it was not much of a surprise when she set out to write in a similar genre.

When Laura writes this sort of book, she loves figuring out how to keep readers wanting more. Her favorite things to do are end every chapter on a cliffhanger and leading the reader down one path just to surprise them with a logical yet completely different ending. It’s a challenge, yet one that brings satisfaction in the end. Quite like putting the final piece down into an incredibly difficult puzzle.

“Trail of Secrets” is the first novel in the “Dark Horse” series and was released in 2015. Sometimes people do disappear for a reason.

Spending three weeks of her summer at the Foxwoode Riding Academy in northern Michigan should’ve been some of the happiest time of Brynlei’s sixteen years. However right from the moment she arrives at Foxwoode, she cannot quite shake the feeling that she is being watched. Then she hears about this girl that vanished on a trail ride four years ago. As the other girls are laughing over this story about the dead girl that haunts Foxwoode, Brynlei senses that this girl, or her ghost, might be lurking in the shadows.

Brynlei’s quest to reveal the truth interferes with her plans to just keep her head down and win the Top Rider Award, Foxwoode’s coveted prize. Making things worse, somebody discovers her search for answers and is going to go to any length in order to stop her. While she starts unraveling the facts surrounding the missing girl’s disappearance, she becomes faced with another impossible choice. Is she going to save a life? Or protect a valued secret?

“Barn Shadows” is the second novel in the “Dark Horse” series and was released in 2017. One year after Brynlei’s tumultuous exit from the Foxwoode Riding Academy, she returns to confront her demons and win the elite Top Rider Award. When she stumbles across this antique doll at the construction site of this new barn, some inexplicable occurrences force her to start questioning whether her condition as a “Highly Sensitive Individual” is to blame or if there’s something more sinister at work here.

While Brynlei gets consumed with learning the full history of this newly unearthed doll, the strange happenings escalate to pretty dangerous levels. She quickly realizes that somebody close to her has been lying. But who? Could the threatening events at Foxwoode and one decades old tragedy be more closely entwined than she ever could’ve imagined?

“Top Producer” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2020. Mara’s dream job becomes her worst nightmare, she realizes that it isn’t just her livelihood at stake, it’s also her life.

Mara Butler, a real estate newbie, cannot believe her good luck when she lands a position with Jacqueline Hendersen, one of Chicago’s top realtors. However Jacqueline’s polished exterior just conceals her crooked moral compass and her relentless quest to win the prestigious Top Producer Award. Mara, under Jacqueline’s tutelage, earns enough money to pay her sister’s mounting medical bills and for a new condo for herself. At the same time, she entangles herself in her mentor’s own unorthodox methods of generating business.

Mara fears that she may be Jacqueline’s next victim, after a competing realtor winds up dead. Backed into a corner by her involvement in Jacqueline’s scandals, Mara faces a high stakes dilemma. Is she going to risk everything that she has attained, or just play along in this murderous game of Jacqeline’s? Because there can just be one Top Producer.

“Two Widows” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2020. One secret, without anywhere to hide. An unidentified woman’s body has been found on the local beach in a tiny town. The cops don’t have any suspects.

Gloria has grown accustomed to solitude. Widowed and still mourning her dead husband, she spends her days with just her faded photographs to keep her company. However when a young woman gets murdered close by, she gets anxious. Living alone in the old farmhouse, surrounded by nothing more than empty woods, there isn’t anybody for miles around that would hear her scream.

Beth, a freelance writer, shows up with her trailer to live on Gloria’s land, Gloria is relieved to no longer be alone. The cops have got zero suspects in the murder and fearless Beth makes Gloria begin feeling safe. But then Gloria learns that Beth’s a widow as well; these women become closer and start sharing their secrets.

However Gloria soon begins wondering, what does she truly know about Beth? About what brought her to this remote spot? About how Beth’s husband actually died? Could it just be a coincidence that she has arrived right when this small town has seen its very first murder in decades?

Gloria believed that Beth told her every secret she had. But she was wrong.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Wolfe

Leave a Reply