Book Notification

Lauren K Denton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hideaway (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hurricane Season (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glory Road (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer House (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The One You're With (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place to Land (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Lauren K Denton was born and raised in the small town of Mobile, Alabama. Currently, Lauren K Denton lives with her daughters and husband in Homewood. Apart from writing fiction, Lauren K Denton is also a newspaper column contributor on parenting, faith, and life. During her free time, author Lauren K Denton loves to go to the beach with her family and a pile of books to read. The Hideaway is Denton’s debut novel. Ever since author Lauren K Danton was young, Denton has always been an avid reader. Through writing and reading, Denton was able to process her thoughts and ideas, problems and worries. After completing her high school education, Denton joined Auburn University.

Immediately after her graduation, Lauren K Denton secured an internship first, before a full time job. It was during her working years that the idea of penning her own books began to take shape. Lauren K Denton played around with so many ideas and storylines, many of which took place in the South. Nonetheless, none of these ideas came to fruition. While working on a new story, author Lauren K Denton gave up halfway, after realizing that she had no idea where the story was going. Eventually, in 2011, Lauren K Denton managed to complete her first full manuscript. During this period, Lauren had a two-year-old baby, thus was forced to write only two days a week. It took Lauren K Denton up to five months to complete the manuscript.

Despite the fact that the manuscript was not good enough, the entire process lit a spark inside her, and from that moment, Lauren K Denton knew that she had found her true calling. After putting her first complete manuscript away, Lauren tried various ideas, but none of them worked. One day, Lauren asked herself about the type of book that she would love to read. Slowly, a narrative began to take shape, as she began to research about New Orleans and an eccentric grandmother. Unlike the first time, Lauren K Denton was not going to easily give up considering she now had the experience and momentum to push forth.

The Hideaway took Lauren, a total of ten months to write and six months of revising. Once Denton presented the manuscript to Harpercollins, she signed a two-year contract with one Thomas Nelson of Harpercollins. Currently, Lauren K. Denton is working on her second novel, which will come out this year.

Lauren K Denton Best Books
The Hideaway
The Hideaway is a poignant, compelling and heartfelt narrative, which combines all the outstanding elements of a southern fiction; quirky, authentic and charming characters. Other elements include family, love and friendship, a small town setting which will make the reader put up their feet, secrets, and romance. Author Denton introduces the readers to Sara Jenkins, the owner of a successful store in New Orleans. Apart from being content with her new life, Sarah is also proud of her success. However, Sara Jenkins is a little bit lonely. Sarah’s grandmother, Mag is the only surviving member of her family. Mags is the owner of a successful Bed and Breakfast located in Alabama known as the Hideaway. Despite the fact that Sarah tries to visit Mags as many times as often, she just does not get the time. Nonetheless, when Mags passes away, she lives the Hideaway Bed and Breakfast to Sara.

Sarah has no optioned but to once again visit her childhood home and determine whether she should honor Mag’s wishes of restoring the place or sell the hotel and move on with her life. At first, Sarah is a little bit hesitant to put up, all of her energy into the Hideaway, considering the fact that she is running a successful antique store. Nonetheless, as Sarah continues to spend more time with the locals, she begins to unearth Mags passion filled and dramatic past. Eventually, Sarah finds herself fully invested in Hideaway’s fate as well as her future. As time goes by, a bottom-feeding land developer tries to claim the Hideaway. Sarah has no option to make a choice. Lauren could go back to her successful solitary life in New Orleans or remain and fight for the Bed and Breakfast in New Orleans.

That said, author Lauren K. Denton narrates the story from two interwoven perspectives, of Mags and Sarah. Denton’s writing is easy and smooth, such that the readers will be turning the pages extremely fast. Apart from humor, the Hideaway is also full of all-round characters who are not only fun but also easy to connect, relate quite unforgettable. Sara and Megs her grandmother are not easy to forget as well.

Hurricane Season
Ty and Betsy Franklin, the owners of Franklin dairy farm in Alabama, have decided against putting their disappointments in life behind them. Betsy is in charge of the day to day operations of the dairy firm while Ty, on the other hand, herds the cattle. By keeping herself busy, Betsy is able to overlook her longing urge for motherhood. Nonetheless, one day Jenna, Betsy younger sister decides to drop her children at the farm to attend a retreat in Alabama, Betsy’s plan begins to fall into pieces. Apart from putting her to the test, the presence of the children also brings about the harsh memories of the guest room, which was to become a nursery and the negative test results. As the day goes by, the relationship between Betsy and her husband continues to become worse and worse.

As expected, author Denton entwines a narrative of discovery and healing with a brilliantly captured setting. Apart from the main plot, there are several subplots that Lauren K Denton includes in the narrative; the story of acceptance and healing and also Jenna’s narrative of finding out her way in life and her role as the mother of two. Each of these subplots plays a major role in the narrative and offers a detailed and layered plot, a gorgeous setting and characters who are easy to love. Ty is a loveable character. Apart from being slow to speak, he also has an outstanding work ethic. With that said Hurricane Season is an outstanding novel of family, relationships, farming future, acceptance and reconciliation.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lauren K Denton

5 Responses to “Lauren K Denton”

  1. Cheryl: 1 year ago

    I love any books set on our Alabama beaches. The two of these I’ve listened to so far are exceptionally heart warming, moving, and draw you in to feel like you’re with the characters. I can’t wait to move on to the next book!

  2. Rhonda Howell: 2 years ago

    I have ready every one of her books with the exception of A PLACE TO LAND. I’ve loved everyone and am looking forward to her next novel!

  3. Tina Collins: 2 years ago

    I’ve been a dedicated mystery, thriller and suspense reader for many years. Have no idea how I found The Hideaway in Kindle Unlimited but so glad I did. A refreshing read that has opened my mind to a whole new world of reading.

  4. Ann Kissinger: 3 years ago

    I just finished The Summer House and I loved it. It was so real!
    Bravo! .

  5. Janet Dunlap: 3 years ago

    I wanted to let you know that The One You’re With is one of the best books I have read! The story line is amazing going from past to present, etc. The characters are so real the way they relate to each other. I have already gone back and read parts of the book again. On to another book that you wrote……


Leave a Reply