Book Notification

Lawrence De Maria Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alton Rhode Mysteries Books

Capriati's Blood / The Capriati Conspiracy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Laura Lee (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siren's Tears (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sister (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gunner (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Elson Legacy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turtle Dove (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Black Womb (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Golden Gate (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barnwell (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drone (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joshua House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cole Sudden CIA Thrillers Books

Sudden Kill / Hurricane Fats (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hadron Escape (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thawed (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jake Scarne Thrillers Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lawrence De Maria is a wonderful American author of thriller, mystery, and suspense stories. He is famous for writing the Alton Rhode Mystery series and the Jake Scarne series. Recently, he has started a new mystery series called the Cole Sudden CIA series. Additionally, Lawrence has written one standalone novel and several omnibus collections. Author Lawrence was born in New York City. He completed his graduation from Villanova University. Following his graduation, Lawrence joined the US Marines in the capacity of a Lance Corporal and served for several years. When he left his Marine service, he began working as a journalist. While working for the Staten Island Advance, Lawrence was applauded for his spot news crime reporting with an Associated Press award. Later, he joined The NYT and received a Pulitzer Prize nomination for his articles in the financial segment.

After leaving NYT, Lawrence started working for Forbes Magazine. During his journalism career, Lawrence covered or met some of the most notorious criminals of the nation. They included the ones working for the Mob, Wall Street, and the government. Lawrence was widely quoted and credited internationally for his work in exposing a Ponzi scheme worth multi-billion dollars. Later, Lawrence turned to fiction writing and started with the Amazon bestseller called Sound of Blood in 2012. He claims that the story of this novel is inspired by real-life experience. Lawrence has always looked up to the works of prominent authors for inspiration. The ones who have influenced his work the most include Michael Connelly, Colin Dexter, Robert B. Parker, John D. MacDonald, Ed McBain, Ian FLeming, etc.

All the three mystery series created by author Lawrence have praised by critics for their unique stories, strong characters, grit, plotting, and humor. Most of the books penned by Lawrence have international flavor in them. Occasionally, they delve into science and high technology. The hallmarks of Lawrence’s novels include complex villains, strong love stories, and recurring characters. Author Lawrence believes that he creates villains very well. Quite often, he gives them redeeming characteristics in addition to their unsavory traits. During his time at the NYT, he found business journalism to be an oxymoron. Most of the time, business writers turned into cheerleaders for the individuals they covered. Lawrence hated this culture very much and never walked that path while being a journalist.

When his service in the Marines came to an end, Lawrence met a girl in a bar with whom he had corresponded. She was an employee of the Staten Island Advance. When he told the girl that he has no idea what to do in life and which direction to head to, she told him to pursue writing to make a career in the newspaper business. The girl motivated Lawrence to keep writing the way he used o write letters to her and some of her girlfriends during his Marine service. Shortly after, Lawrence was set up for an interview with the local newspaper’s chief editor, who saw that he had everything in him to become a successful reporter. He was hired immediately and his first story was printed on page 1 of the newspaper.

Lawrence carried his good work at reporting to NYT, where he succeeded in achieving the tag of one of the most prolific reporters. Once, he held the record of having 4 bylines on a single, which is still an unbroken record. The advice that Lawrence likes to give to the younger generation to be what they are and not take things for granted. Overall, he is quite satisfied with all his professional adventures and looks forward to creating many more interesting stories of mystery and suspense in the coming years.

A popular series written by author Lawrence De Maria is known as the Jake Scarne Thriller series. It is comprised of 6 books in total released between 2011 and 2015. Each novel of this series features the chief protagonist in the role of Jake Scarne. Jake is depicted as a former police officer turned private investigator. Other essential characters mentioned by Lawrence in the books include Sebastian Quimper, Cassie Mulloy, Maura Dallas, and a few others. Lawrence has set the stories in different exotic locations such as Paris, Florida, India, New York, Chicago, the Bahamas, Tuscany, Belgium, London, etc. An excellent novel of this series is entitled ‘Madman’s Thirst’. It was released by the St. Austin’s Press in 2012. This novel opens by showing that Jake Scarne is haunted by the previous case he worked on. He reduces his burden by taking up cases that are less challenging, both mentally and physically. But, when Jake’s best friend asks for his help, he cannot refuse.

As Jake seeks professional and personal atonement, he sets himself in the chase of a person responsible for rape & murder of a young girl. The local authorities think that it is a random case, but Jake seems to have a different point of view. However, he doesn’t have the liberty to reveal the information’s source, which makes him untrustworthy in front of the police. As Jake looks to find the one person who knows what really happened, he faces a threat from the killer, who doesn’t want his identity revealed.

Another exciting installment penned by Lawrence in the series is called ‘Killerfest’. It was also published by St Austin’s Press in 2013. Initially, it is shown that an author gets murdered for writing insulting things about Islam in her novel. When the killers declare Sebastian Quimper as their next target, Jake Scarne is hired to protect him during the upcoming Killerfest function. The event that is organized in New York is expected to be attended by over a thousand publishers, agents, and authors. Jake realizes that it is going to be a tough task protecting Sebastian Quimper at Killerfest as is the featured speaker. Later, it is learned that there is more at stake than just the life of Sebastian. A big merger is going to be announced at the event that is related to book sales in multi-million dollars. Jake knows that he cannot take things lightly and begins his own investigation to find the culprit before he gets his hands on Sebastian. The subsequent investigation brings a devastating conclusion, but Jake manages to save Sebastian from the madman in the end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lawrence De Maria

Leave a Reply