Book Notification

Lee Jackson (American) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of After Dunkirk Books

After Dunkirk (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eagles Over Britain (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turning the Storm (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Giant Awakens (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riding the Tempest (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driving the Tide (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Cauldron (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storming the Reich (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Reluctant Assassin Books

The Reluctant Assassin / The Atcho Conspiracy / Curse the Moon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rasputin's Legacy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vortex: Berlin (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fahrenheit Kuwait (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Target: New York (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lee Jackson is an American author of historical thriller fiction best known for his Cold War series revolving around the Cold War. Having lived in Germany, Morocco, Costa Rica, and United States, and having been deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq for a combined 38 months, Lee has been close and personal with different cultures. He’s a Boston University and West Point graduate and lives in Texas with his wife. The first book in his Cold War series was published in five countries and followed the story of Atcho, a counter-revolutionary leader Cuba turned spy in the United States. The odds the man faces seem overwhelming as he must decide between saving the world from nuclear doomsday or save his daughter.

Curse the Moon

Curse the Moon is the first book in the Cold War series by Lee Jackson. We are introduced to Atcho, a man known by many names. His main goal is to find the whereabouts of his daughter who was abducted by a Russian General Govorov. All Atcho wants is find her and escape to the United States where a student at West Point University during his college years. His best friend Juan convinces him to attend a secret meeting with some members of the CIA who wanted their help to rebel against Castro, and probably they will help him find his daughter.

In a complex twist of events, just as Atcho learns of his daughter’s release, he finds himself entangled in the midst of the Cuban Revolution, where events are true and based on facts. He guides the revolutionaries through the Bay of Pigs battle, but things don’t go as planned, and he is then arrested and spends the next fourteen years in prison. He is then transferred to Isle of Pines prison where he spends another five years. He goes from training men and planning for revolution to training and planning men on how to escape from the prison. Though he doesn’t avoid, all his efforts are never in vain as year later; one of the prisoners he helped escape prison is responsible for his release.

When he reunites with his beloved daughter, he soon finds himself working for the man who had previously kidnapped her and for the Soviet Union to keep his daughter alive. Curse the Moon is a fast-paced action-packed story that’s deeply moving. It’s a story about a man’s desperate struggles to reunite with his daughter in the middle of social, political and personal change. The story grips the reader right from the first page to the last. The mystery and intrigue added into this action-packed story by the ever-threatening Govorov into Atcho’s life ensure that the pages turn themselves. However there is more to this story than just exhilarating personal stories with political backdrops. It’s a remarkable novel with deeply rooted plotlines that portrays a very emotional story that will have huge impact on the reader. The book blends both the history of a man and a country in a beautiful and gripping manner.

Reading this novel, you’ll note that Lee Jackson did his homework well and researched his main character well and all the places he travels. The author places all the battles in Cuba in correct places and also showcases the divided nature of the Cuban people who let Castro unleash his tyrannical ways without resisting him at all. It’s also clear that this was more than just dictatorship; it was about competition between the USA and Russia. The mole in the story is a puppet for both sides, and the depiction of West Point is well done especially with all its changes in the 1970s. Lee Jackson writes in a similar style of Ken Follett or Robert Ludlum. The moon can be your friend, or your enemy and Atcho is able to distinguish that.

Rasputin’s Legacy

Rasputin’s Legacy is the second novel in Lee Jackson’s Cold War series. Our main character with the exciting name Atcho has done a great service to the US and Russia relationships during the Regan period that took place in the first book in the series. To Lee Jackson’s credit, Rasputin’s Legacy is not one of those novels that you have to read the book in chronological order in order to understand them. What you need to know about the events in the previous book is illustrated in a concise style to help you get a better understanding. Because of his service to the two countries in the first book, when a man alleges to be a descendant of both czars of Rasputin and Russia, a mystic to the last of the czars, Atcho is requested to stop the man immediately. Why would he be hired to kill him? Well because in the series debut novel, Atcho had killed the man, or so he thought. Besides the KGB and the CIA cannot act openly, and so things have to be done covertly. And to mention, the man happens to be in possession of a nuclear bomb.

With some backdrop of the cold war, Atcho and his team, some willing but not everyone tries to make their way in order to prevent takeover of Russia. Stay till the end because not everyone is who they seem to be in this narrative. Lee Jackson’s writing is clean, and the characters are well-drawn. Atcho’s enemy is a Soviet general who’s determined to do whatever it takes to gain control of the USSR nuclear weapons. At the back of the hero’s mind; the country that requires saving is the same country that helped enslave Cuba, his beloved motherland country. Out of the darkness surrounding the killings of mystic Russian and Rasputin royal family emerges an adversary that survived World War II. It incited the Cold War and fuelled their effects in the contemporary world on a global scale. Will Atcho set aside his personal feelings and help not only one country but also the rest of the world from nuclear holocaust? If you enjoy reading historical thriller fiction books, Lee Jackson’s novels are recommended reads.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lee Jackson (American)

One Response to “Lee Jackson (American)”

  1. Name (required): 2 months ago

    Mr. Jackson,
    Thank you for your informative historical fiction which is so obviously well researched. Having been a terrible student of history, I find your work very educational and inspiring. Thank you kindly for being such a great researcher and wonderful writer. My dad was a USMC pilot, WW2, Korea and Vietnam. He lived in McAllen, TX.and never talked about the wars. School was all about memorizing dates. Thank you again for helping me become less ignorant and for the pride you have instilled in me regarding all the brave veterans and resistance fighters. WOW!


Leave a Reply