Book Notification

Leesa Cross-Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Whiskey & Ribbons (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Close to Okay (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Half-Blown Rose (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodbye Earl (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Great Barrier Reef Is Dying but so Are We (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Every Kiss a War (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
So We Can Glow: Stories (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Shorts, Volume One(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Leesa Cross-Smith
Leesa Cross-Smith is an American author of romance, fiction, and chick-lit books best known for her short story collection dubbed Every Kiss a War. This book was nominated for Pen Open Book Award in 2014. It was a finalist in the Iowa Short Fiction Award and the Flannery O’Connor Short Fiction Award. Her other book Whiskey &Ribbons emerged the top in the Independent Publisher Book Awards. Aside from writing, the Kentucky writer enjoys being a homemaker.
Whiskey & Ribbons

Whiskey & Ribbons tells the story of police that dies unexpectedly, and the effect that this death has on his family. Evi is nine months pregnant and anticipating the arrival of her precious baby when her husband Eamon dies in the line of duty. Understandably, Evi suffers the most when this tragedy strikes. The young woman confronts a life where she will have to parent her child alone. Fortunately, Eamon’s family takes good care of Evi, and she goes ahead to give birth to a son.

The story starts with a snowed-in weekend, where Evi and her best Dalton are stuck in the house. There is no hiding the feelings that these two have had for each other for the longest time. Dalton has been quite a gentleman, helping Evi get over the death of his brother. Over time, the two have developed feelings for each other, and the snowy weekends happens to be the time that things escalate very fast.

This book is told in three voices. First, there is the voice of present-day Evi, a mother raising a six-month-old boy with the help of her brother in law. The second voice tells the story of Eamon as he prepares for fatherhood as he always worries about the dangers that are a part of his job. Dalton is the third voice. His story involves the struggles he goes through as he tries to make sense of his life and look for his biological father. The author shifts between the past and the present and delivers the characters’ emotions in waves.

This is a story of what happens after a devastating loss. It is a story of hope amidst grief, brotherhood, and motherhood. Above all, this novel shows that healing is possible after the death of a loved one, but this could mean different things to different people. The author is effective in laying grief bare, making it easy for people who have no idea how pain feels like to identify with the characters. The beauty of this story is that Evi can rise above the heartbreak and get a chance to love and enjoy life again. Just like Evi, Dalton mourns the loss of a brother, and he steps up to fill his shoes where necessary.

Whiskey & Ribbons is a beautiful story perfect for anyway who have endured a devastating loss. It is refreshing to see the main character rise above her situation and goa head to have a fulfilling life. Going by the narration, it is easy to tell that the author is quite talented, and the relentless pace turns this into a book you will not want to put down—simply a perfect blend of grief and romance.

Every Kiss a War
Every Kiss a War is a collection of short stories made up of love, delicate and cruel women, and rambling men who show nothing of their gentle sides. In a mystic and sensual way, the author tells ferocious and raw stories about relationships, hurt, lovemaking, and everything in between. You can expect to hear about the good, the quiet, and bad times that define human relationships. It is safe to say that this here is an emotional war zone, and the sentiments are quite intense.

All the twenty-seven stories are power and inspirational. The language here is beautiful, with every sentence reading like poetry. Given the fact that these stories are short, you can read each slowly and let the words sink in. The outstanding thing about the stories is that they are all sexy. All the senses we use to love are well represented, making it a perfect read if you are looking for something that will leave you feeling all warm inside. The characters in these relationships are well developed, and their emotions are unrestrained and in full display. This only makes it easy for the reader to identify with.
While most of the tales talk about ordinary occurrences, it is the author’s writing that makes them so outstanding. While stories come with varying intensities, the beauty in which they are told is uniform from the first story to the last one. It is hard to believe that all the stories are fictitious. You will remember the kisses that felt like tiny wars because it is highly likely that this has happened to you. The bleeding and heavy heart we all experience during a heartbreak will also not come as a surprise. Every story is gentle, smart, and real. In order to get the best of each story, it is best to read each at a time and understand it. This is not a book that you enjoy in one sitting, but the good thing is that every moment you spend on it will be well worth it.
If you are looking for a loaded book that will break your heart and then help heal it, Every Kiss a War is an ideal choice. Share the author’s love for romance, music, baseball, and drinking. The stories are based on how couples communicate and miscommunicate and the effects this has on relationships. This little book is a delight if you want something pleasant for when you are spiraling from a crush. It will be easy to fall in love with every character in these stories and hope that everything ends well for them. Aside from their strengths, the author allows you to see their weaknesses and know them intimately. A must-read for you if you like something with depth and a little bit of humor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Leesa Cross-Smith

Leave a Reply