Book Notification

Leo J. Maloney Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dan Morgan Books

Termination Orders (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Assassin (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Skies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelve Hours (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arch Enemy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Duty and Honor (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rogue Commander (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Territory (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Threat Level Alpha (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
War of Shadows (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Cover (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Morgan Files (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dolan Sisters Books

The Dolan Sisters' Adventure in India (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Alex Morgan Thriller Books

Leo J. Maloney is an American Novelist that once served as a Black Ops Contractor. After enduring and surviving numerous missions around the world, Leo finally left the army and began using his experiences as a source of inspiration for his writing career.

Leo J. Maloney is best known for the Dan Morgan books


Leo J. Maloney is a child of Massachusetts. That is where he was born and that is where he grew up. Leo’s education also took place in Massachusetts where he eventually graduated from Northeastern University.

Leo’s life changed in 1966. He joined the army with the intention of simply serving his country the best way he knew how. Then, during basic training, a secret government organization saw fit to take Leo and make him a Black Ops Contractor. His life was never the same after that.

Leo spent three decades in the Back Ops arena. While operating in that world, it was important for Leo to keep his work a secret; this meant running numerous cover businesses that allowed Leo to experiment with a number of careers. Leo has operated a classic car brokerage firm, a detective agency and even a promotions company to mention but a few.

The author even went into independent films at one point. Leo J. Maloney was luckier than most. As an independent contractor, he only ever went on assignments he had selected and which met his particular criteria. Leo wasn’t required to engage in any operations he didn’t like or agree with.

By the time Leo left the army, he had an overabundance of stories in his head looking to explode onto the page, which is why the author decided to give publishing a shot.

The decision to use his experiences for writing and publishing purposes changed his life in many ways. For one thing, the author finally decided to have a few frank discussions with his family about his life as a Black Ops operative.

Before Leo told them, none of them had any idea what he did. Leo’s family took great interest in his work and the things he had seen in the army; more importantly, they pushed him to express his experiences using the written word.

Leo knew he wasn’t at liberty to divulge the details of his work as a Black Ops operator. So he created a stand in by the names of Dan Morgan, a fictional Black Ops operative through whose life and fictional tale Leo began to delve into his history.

Leo J. Maloney wrote Dan Morgan to be a cut above the rest, the sort of operative that only came into play when there were no other options. The reason the Dan Morgan books have been so popular is because Leo tends to infuse them with characters based on real people that he actually knew.

Because Leo lived Dan Morgan’s life, he knows what a Black Ops operative can and cannot do. As such, he is able to ground his story by eliminating the sorts of outlandish concepts that make so many of his peers a thorn in the sides of readers. Leo never writes anything that seems too ridiculous and illogical to happen

Leo was inspired by Ian Flemming when he was a child. In fact, he read everything Ian Flemming ever wrote. And Leo was very careful about not making Dan Morgan James Bond. The author abhorred the idea of making Dan a super-hero capable of near impossible feats. He has always endeavored to make the Black Ops agent as realistic as possible; highly capable but not invulnerable.

It is worth noting that Leo J. Maloney’s departure from the Army did not lead him to retirement. Instead, he became a police officer and a detective before finally settling into the position of private investigator in Massachusetts. Leo still makes use of his Private Investigator’s license.

+Termination Orders

Dan Morgan was once a highly competent CIA operative. Now he has settled into his new life. Dan never thought his history with the CIA would ever emerge to threaten all he had built.

But then his former Black Ops Partner, a gentleman that should be dead, asks him for help. Dan expected a routine extraction mission. He didn’t expect to end up on the run with all his contacts dead and no lifeline to cling to.

As danger encroaches upon his family, Morgan must unravel a conspiracy with global implications.

This is the first book in the Dan Morgan series. The book introduces Dan Morgan as a former CIA agent with the Alias of ‘Cobra’. Since leaving the CIA, Dan has become a family man. He wants nothing to do with the violence and turmoil of his former life.

However, Dan’s resolve is tested when his former Black Ops partner is reportedly killed. Dan eventually decides to go back into the field to better understand the circumstances surrounding his friend’s death.

Dan’s meddling doesn’t go unnoticed and he soon draws the ire of some very powerful people. This book is very action-heavy. And that might explain why it is so short. Leo J. Maloney emphasizes the action and explosions over character development.

Despite the small page count, this book actually takes a few chapters to get going.

+Silent Assassin

The world is in danger and only Dan Morgan can save it. The source of the danger is a rogue terrorist with access to weapons of mass destruction. In order to find this terrorist, Dan Morgan must first locate a ruthless KGB officer that has taken to selling guns on an international scale.

Dan’s orders are clear, he must terminate every threat he encounters without prejudice until he locates the weapons in question. To achieve his goal, Dan must enter a precarious world of deceit and mayhem.

The second Dan Morgan novel finds the ex-CIA operative undertaking an assignment from a non-governmental agency to do what the CIA is either unwilling or incapable of doing.

There is a plot to kill people in massive numbers and Dan Morgan will do everything possible to put a stop to it, even if its costs him his life. Because this book is so short, it tends to move at a very rapid pace.

The novel’s strongest aspect is Leo J. Maloney’s writing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Leo J. Maloney

Leave a Reply