Book Notification

Les Norton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Les Norton Books

You Wouldn't Be Dead For Quids (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Real Thing (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boys from Binjiwunyawunya (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godson (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between the Devlin and the Deep Blue Seas (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Shoes, White Lines and Blackie (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
And De Fun Don't Done (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mele Kalikamaka Mr. Walker (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day of the Gecko (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rider on the Storm and Other Bits and Barrett (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guns 'N' Rose (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mud Crab Boogie (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodoo Goodoo (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wind and the Monkey (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leaving Bondi (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery Bay Blues (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rosa-Marie's Baby (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crime Scene Cessnock (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Les Norton and the Case of the Talking Pie Crust (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
High Noon in Nimbin (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name Les Norton refers to a series of witty novels written by Robert G. Barrett. The books feature a physically intimidating Australian gentleman who simply cannot steer clear of trouble.

+The Story

Les Norton is a likable somewhat brutish man from Australia. His story is told over a series of more than ten novels. The Les Norton series began publication in 1984. The books took the reader to Queensland to meet a red-head who is forced to flee from his home and becomes a bouncer at an illegal casino after a series of events put him in the crosshairs of all the wrong people.

The Les Norton books are definitely a product of their time. This is especially true for the first couple of novels which heavily emphasize some of the ideas and notions of the 1980s and 1990s.

There are elements of sexist, politically incorrect storytelling that have put some people off Robert G. Barrett’s work. Though, you would never find Robert apologizing for the penchant his work has for offending certain audiences.

While the Les Norton series was definitely a product of its time, Robert also knew what he was doing. And the Norton books are his attempt at producing fiction for the average Australian male.

The author believes that Norton is the manifestation of every melodramatic Australian male personality and that might explain why so many Australians are drawn to these books.

Norton was born in Dirranbandi. A fairly large fellow with a strong love for women and alcohol, Norton’s life changed when he was involved in a furious pub fight. The violent nature of the altercation was such that the local police officer encouraged Norton to quickly flee before professional law enforcement agents from Brisbane arrived.

Norton was told that there was a chance he would be scrutinized as a person of interest in a murder. Most people would find the idea of relocating from the only home they have ever known somewhat transformative.

Most people would also find the idea of being a person of interest to the police a little intimidating. But Norton isn’t like most people. Even though he heeded the warning given to him and moved to Sydney, the redhead did little to steer clear of trouble, somehow securing a position as a bouncer at an illegal casino.

Norton spends the rest of the Les Norton series weaving in and out of trouble. He meets new people, creates lasting connections and dips his toes into a few minor crimes, though that last part isn’t always intentional on the part of Norton.

The Les Norton books are difficult to categorize. Some people look at them as mysteries but this classification is only accurate in the loosest of terms. At the center of every novel is something that Norton needs to know, find, and understand.

However, those sorts of mysteries rarely drive the different Norton novels and merely act as checkpoints that the protagonist must strike to reach his target.

Norton isn’t exactly a good guy. Most readers wouldn’t call him a bad guy. But he rarely makes the best decisions. His life revolves around eating, drinking, dancing, and having sex.

And in between all those things, Les Norton will find an opportunity to fight.

It is worth noting that many of the Norton novels do not actually deliver a single cohesive story. Rather, each book brings together a collection of stories featuring Les Norton as he undertakes his latest adventure.

As a result, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to learn that most of these books do not have a particular objective in mind. There is no destination that Norton is running toward, no goal that he wishes to achieve.

Rather, the various adventures and trials that Les Norton undertakes are designed to give insight into his character and personality. The books are not for everyone, and that isn’t just because of the politically incorrect ideas that are espoused.

Robert’s books have a lot of adult content, from sex to strong language and a lot of graphic descriptions. It is likely that if the Les Norton books were movies, they would be assigned an R rating. The series is definitely written with mature audiences in mind, and even then, only a particular section of readers who can relate to the protagonist’s brand of humor.

+The Author
Robert G. Barrett was an Australian author born in 1942. Before writing fiction, Robert worked as a DJ. His friends worked as doormen at a nightclub. They would meet up after work and exchange saucy stories over drinks. It was from those exchanges that many of Les Norton’s adventures where born.

Robert’s entry into publishing wasn’t planned. The author was only fourteen when he left school and began to survive by doing odd jobs in his hometown. It never occurred to him that he would grow up and use his experiences to write a series of popular novels.

+You Wouldn’t Be Dead for Quids
Les Norton is a large redhead from Queensland and he is about to embark on an adventure. Norton’s life was simple enough until a brawl in a pub forced him to leave his hometown.

In order to survive in his new community, Norton took up work as an illegal casino’s bouncer. The work afforded him the opportunity to meet all sorts of characters, from prostitutes to conmen and even killers.

A weaker man would have been consumed by the raw chaos and merciless nature of the job. But Norton takes to his new world with a surprising fervor, indulging in drink and laughter and showing an unhealthy willingness to deploy his fists at the drop of a hat.

+The Real Thing
Les Norton is back. When readers last left him, he was busy breaking skulls, consuming copious amounts of alcohol and charming the ladies against their better judgment.

The Real Thing takes a new approach to exploring the character of the legend that is Les Norton. This book has five stories to tell, stories that provide insight into Sidney’s underbelly, a place of laughter and excitement and surprising violence.

Norton is living life loud and wild and he shows no interest in stopping.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Les Norton

Leave a Reply