Book Notification

Lesley Kagen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Whistling in the Dark Books

Whistling in the Dark (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Graces (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Land of a Hundred Wonders (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tomorrow River (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mare's Nest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Resurrection of Tess Blessing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mutual Admiration Society (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Now and Then (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Undertaking of Tessla (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lesley Kagen is a historical fiction and mystery author that was born and raised in Milwaukee. She grew up in blue-collar neighborhoods that had a lot of resemblance to the settings in The Mutual Admiration Society and Whistling in the Dark.
After she graduated from high school, she went to Marquette University, where she met the boyfriend that she would follow to New York City following her freshman year.

When she went to New York, she was expecting a grand adventure but ended up so intimidateD that she spent much of her time running from the grocery store to the apartment she live in that was above a 24-hour record store selling soul music.
When she finally broke up with her boyfriend, she went back to Milwaukee to attend the University of Wisconsin majoring in television and radio. For some reason, she had made up her mind that this was her true calling.

Soon after graduating, Lesley was fortunate enough to get a job working as a morning drive DJ at WZMF, an underground radio station.

Along with that gig, she used to meet all manner of talented musicians, MC’d concerts, and even interviewed the likes of John Lennon, Jimi Hendrix, and Frank Zappa.

Kagen moved to Los Angeles in 1976 which began a twelve-year period of voicing, producing, and writing thousands of commercials for one of the coolest and largest record chains in Southern California.
She was all over the ad space and soon got a commercial acting agent who got her all manner of television and radio advertising spots.

Lesley Kagen also secured several small roles in movies, situational comedies, and even a guest spot on Shirley and Laverne. It was in Malibu that she met her husband who is a native of Milwaukee too.

While they both loved living in sunny California, once they had their kids, they decided to return to their roots in the midwest. The couple opened one of the first pioneer Japanese restaurants, even as Lesley continued working in commercials.
While she has been writing since when she was little, she believes her first in was due to praying a lot. She was the winner of the all-school St Sebastien poetry contest, which convinced her that she could write.

Kagen would then take a hiatus and it was not until her children left home that she would take another stab at writing. She published “Whistling in the Dark” her debut novel in 2007.

When Lesley Kagen is not writing her novels there is nothing she loves better than spending time with her family.

She sometimes takes time to hike on Lake Michigan and in the woods with Gracie her amazing puppy, committing acts of kindness, riding her bike all over town, meditating, reading, bird watching, and going to the movies with friends.
She is also a very good baker and cook. Like most people, she has had devastating lows and breathtaking highs in her life but she has leaned on her stellar therapists, her family, and prayer to get through it all.

She is now thankful that she gets to work on her dream and get paid for it.

“Whistling in the Dark” by Lesley Kagen introduces Salley O’Malley who believes she knows a lot more than people would give her credit for.

The work is set in 1959 and Sally could not be missing her father more after he died in a tragic road accident. The accident happened while her father was in the company of Troo her little sister and her uncle.

Just before he died, Sally had made some promises to her father most important of which was the promise of taking care of her little sister. Being the very earnest person that she is, she intends to follow through with her promises.
Meanwhile, someone has been molesting and murdering little girls on Vliet street. This is the same street where Sally makes her home following her mother’s hasty marriage to Hall her new man.

Sally believes she has an inkling of the bad man who has been causing havoc in the town and hopes to use that information to protect herself and her sister.

But it is going to be a difficult quest given that her mother is in the hospital and has left Troo and Sally all alone.

Lesley Kagen’s novel “Good Graces” is set a year after the events of “Whistling in the Dark.” The neighborhood is on edge as there is one of the nastiest heat waves in history beating down on the residents.
Sally who is still traumatized by the sudden death of her father and a near escape from a molester and murderer has been hit the most.

Outwardly, Sally and Troo her sister seem secure even though Sally is no longer so confident in her judgment and has somewhat lost her faith.

Things get even worse when there is a string of home burglaries in the neighborhood. There is also the mysterious disappearance of some orphans, several home burglaries and a nemesis escapes from reform school.
Sally is also having to deal with an increasingly rebellious Troo but since she promised to keep her sister safe, she intends to be faithful to her vow, even if it puts her life in danger.

However, when things come to a head, will Sally have the discernment and courage to make the right choices? Maybe the false assumption she has will lead her and her loved ones into a dangerous situation once again.

“The Mutual Admiration Society” by Lesley Kagen is the story of Therese Finley, an eleven-year-old girl that may be in over her head even though she does not know it.

After she heard a scream and saw a mysterious man carrying a body in the cemetery behind the house illuminated by the weak light of the streetlights, she decides to become an investigator too.
She had assumed the reins of the president of the Mutual Admiration Society which fights crime, following the tragic drowning of her father that had left her in deep sadness.

Tessie has been showering Birdie her younger sister with loving care even as she tries to remain in the good graces of her hard-edged mother.

With Charlie Garfield, her crime partner Birdie and Tessie will have to dodge the gossip of her blue-collar neighborhood.

With heartbreaking grief and heartwarming humor, it is a magical story that showcases the marvelous storytelling talents of the author.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lesley Kagen

Leave a Reply