Book Notification

Leslye Walton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price Guide to the Occult (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Tyranny of Petticoats(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Leslye Walton is an American published author.

She was born in the United States in the Pacific Northwest area. She thinks that it might be partly due to this that she has developed such a unique kinship and sense of relating to the sunny yellow flower, the daffodil. This is because she also feels that she is only able to achieve her true beauty after a bout of cold and a stint in the rain.

Ironically, the first book that this author wrote was also inspired by her sulking for a while in the rain. Walton was in the middle of a cold rain storm when she was thinking about love and the sense of logic or the lack of it found in it.

She now resides in Seattle, Washington. She is also an author full time after having pursued and having gotten her MA in the field of writing. She writes a lot but when she is not doing that, she is able to teach students in middle school how to write and read and even be kind. She tries to teach them the value of being kind, even when it’s a day where they do not feel particularly in the mood to be so.

She also likes to spend time doing one of her favorite things, which is getting some chocolate cupcakes and eating them all up. She also likes to spend some time with her dogs. She has two chihuahuas named Doc Holliday and Mr. Darcy.

When writing her books, she puts effort into outlining. She says that she begins her writing projects by trying to explore the characters and the setting. Since the majority of her stories come to Walton through characters, she likes to spend some time getting to know them before putting down the story onto the page. She says that even for minor characters, she likes to do intensive character mapping.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is the first novel to come out from Leslye Walton. The book earned her a finalist status for the William C. Morris Debut Award. The novel has earned the Pacific Northwest Book Award, PEN Center USA Literary Award, a finalist after being nominated for the Andre Norton Award, and made the short list when it comes to the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize.

The novel made the Kids’ Indie Next List in Spring 2014 at the top and Publishers Weekly, Boston Globe, School Library Journal, Bustle, Amazon, and Hudson Booksellers all named it one of 2014’s best books. If you’re looking for something new to enjoy, be sure to check out the debut novel from this author!

A generational saga filled with themes of the pain and the passion of love combine with lyrical writing and magical realism in a story that goes into all of the angst of the main character. Ava Lavender may have appeared to inherited something that the Roux family has been dealing with some time now, the tendency towards foolish love.

Things do not bode well for Ava, who does not want to pick up where the legacy of her family left off. She’s a typical girl in so many ways, but in a lot of other ways is not. What sets her apart? Well, for one thing, she was born having wings just like a bird. She also has a unique personality. When she decides that she wants to discover more about why she has such a disposition and acknowledges that she wants to fit in more with people her age, Ava chooses to go out into the world.

She’s just sixteen years old and is not prepared for what she might find in the outside world. She is not ready for these new discoveries and is naive on top of it. She doesn’t yet know that maybe not everyone possesses good intentions and may have motives that are far darker. When she runs into a guy named Nathaniel Sorrows, a pious person, he thinks that she is an angel.

Nathaniel continues to mistake her for an angel and starts to become obsessed with Ava. This only keeps growing until one night, the night of a summer solstice. It is that night where rain starts coming down from the sky, feathers filling up the air. Ava’s journey out into the world and the saga of her family begin culminating that night.

Want to find out what happens in this modern day myth meets fairy tale? Pick up this novel and find out what it might mean to be human.

The Price Guide to the Occult is the second published novel to come out from author Leslye Walton. This is a story set in the Pacific Northwest, a tale of murder and magic.

The main character in this book is named Rona Blackburn. She came to Anathema Island over a century in the past, and had a lot to offer. Her skills in the supernatural may have been of help to her neighbors, had they have been friendlier. But these were paranoid and distrusting times, and no one there was predisposed to be friendly.

So the fearful eight settlers that originally had civilized the island decided that they were going to try and burn this woman, who they deemed a witch, and make her leave her home while it is on fire. She in turn decided to curse them. Now it is a hundred or so years later, and Nor Blackburn wants to live a regular life as a teenage girl.

She’s hopeful that she can just have an average existence. Even though she does technically have super powers, they aren’t that amazing. She also has a lack of a romantic life, which means that the matriarch of the family’s curse may not affect her. When a book comes her way that promises to cast a spell for a certain price, Nor is concerned.

She feels that something is coming on. Will she be stuck in the eye of the storm? Does she have any hope that she can find herself and love, even as the Price Guide and her mother threaten to get in the way of what she really wants? Read this fascinating and magical book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Leslye Walton

Leave a Reply