Book Notification

Lewis Barnavelt Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lewis Barnavelt Books

The House with a Clock in Its Walls (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Figure in the Shadows (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Letter, the Witch and the Ring (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vengeance of the Witch-Finder (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost in the Mirror (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doom of the Haunted Opera (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Specter from the Magician's Museum (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beast Under the Wizard's Bridge (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tower at the End of the World (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whistle, the Grave, and the Ghost (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House Where Nobody Lived (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sign of the Sinister Sorcerer (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lewis Barnavelt Series

Lewis Barnavelt is an award-winning adventure series by John Bellairs. The series is centered on Lewis Barnavelt, a young boy parents perish in a grisly car accident.

Bellairs started Lewis Barnavelt series in 1973 when the first book in the series was published. Two follow up sequels quickly followed up in 1975 and 1976. The series remained dormant for the next 13 years as the author focused on his other character Johnny Dixon. The series was on the verge of a comeback when the author died in 1991. Brad Strickland was given the go-ahead to write the other two books that Bellairs had begun writing before his death.

When the series was translated into French, the published changed Lewis and Rose Rita’s names to Kevin and Emily respectively to give the novels a more American feel to the French readers.

The House with a Clock in Its Walls

In the first book in the Lewis Barnavelt series, we meet Lewis Barnavelt, a young man who lost his parents. He travels to live with his uncle Jonathan in Michigan. Understandably, Lewis is scared as he doesn’t know much about his uncle. He is glad to discover that his uncle is among the kindest people even though he is scared about the uncle’s physique in the beginning. Uncle Jonathan is a magician. The next-door neighbor, Mrs. Zimmerman, also turns out to be a witch and Uncle Jonathan’s partner in crime. Lewis enjoys watching his uncle and Mrs. Zimmerman in action, but over time, he is tempted to try the tricks as well.

Lewis and his uncle live in a huge mansion and life; there is nothing but enjoyable. The only odd thing is a loud clock sound that echoes throughout the house. No one knows where the clock is located until Lewis decides to experiment with magic. The former owners of the uncle’s mansion had built a timepiece into the wall. This clock was unique in that it could obliterate humankind, and Lewis’s action triggers a series of events that could wipe out the human race. The Barnavelt are the only ones who can save humanity, and they have to work quickly before time elapses. Will Uncle Jonathan and Lewis be able to do all that is required to save the world and silence the timepiece for good?

Lewis, just like any teenager, struggles with self-confidence. He is willing to do whatever it takes to keep his relationship with Tarby. It does not matter that Tarby doesn’t value Lewis as a friend. It is because of this unhealthy relationship that Lewis tries his hand in magic and ends up putting many people in trouble.

The House with a Clock in Its Walls story is both spooky and thrilling. The book comes with clear illustrations making it perfect for children and young adults. The flow is just right, and the good thing is that it is not as long, so children can enjoy reading it in a single sitting. Want to get your child an exciting book with quirky characters and a magic theme, this book is ideal. You can be sure that young minds will stay engaged from beginning to end.

The Figure in the Shadows

The Figure in the Shadows is the sequel to The House with a Clock on its Walls. In this book, Lewis has made a new friend, Rose Rita. Rose is not your average girl, and it would be better to say that she is more of a tomboy. While Lewis scrams at the sight of bullies, Rose is brave and stands up for herself. The two forms an odd pair, but Lewis and Rose have loads of fun together. Lewis now has a confidant who he can engage in stories surrounding the world of magic. It is during one of their adventures at home that they come across a civil-era luck charm in an old trunk.

Lewis gets his grandfather’s coin for a gift, and he is convinced that this is a magic talisman. He believes that with this lucky coin, everything including getting back at Woody, the bully is possible. Lewis starts to wear the coin around his neck, and immediately, strange things begin to happen. The peculiar happenings start with a mysterious letter that is delivered in the dead of night. Lewis also begins to feel that there is a shadowy figure that is following him wherever he goes. To top it all, Lewis is sure that when he takes revenge on Woody, there is another being inside of him. That being is prompting him to go further and utterly destroy the bully. Lewis realizes that while his lucky charm comes with a lot of good, it has turned him into a puppet. Lewis needs all the helps he can get to stop his grandfather’s coin from controlling him.

This book comes with more magic and sorcery. The story is set in the winter. This means that there is loads of snow and exchanging of presents towards the end. The anti-bullying theme is prominent, and in a world where children are bullied almost daily, this message is ideal. The magic and paranormal events are entertaining, and the adventures the two friends engage in are sure to keep the target audience captivated to the end. There are both moments of terror and suspense in the story. Still, these are interleaved with a growing friendship and understanding between Lewis and his newfound friend, and Uncle Jonathan and Mrs. Zimmermann. Despite the bullying and other unpleasant happenings on the outside, Lewis gets all the love and care at home.

The Figure in the Shadows is a quick and creepy piece that the young ones will enjoy. Aside from the magic, the story covers real-life issues that most teenagers struggle with. From bullying to low self-esteem, you will read it all and so much more. This means that the book is both entertaining and educational. Just like the predecessor, the book is short. It comes with illustrations that make it easy for the readers to identify will all the characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lewis Barnavelt

Leave a Reply