Book Notification

Lexa Hillyer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Spindle Fire Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Rio: The Junior Novel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Proof of Forever (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frozen Beauty (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Acquainted with the Cold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rio Books

Blu and Friends (By: Catherine Hapka) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Learning to Fly (By: Catherine Hapka) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Movie Storybook (By: Jodi Huelin) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Greetings From Rio! (By: Benjamin Harper) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rio: The Junior Novel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Birds of a Feather (By: Susan Korman) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Big Blue Family (By: Catherine Hapka) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Untamed Talent (By: Cari Meister) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lexa Hillyer is widely known for her novel, Spindle Fire, which was recently released. Hillyer is also widely known for her novel, Proof of Forever, which was published by Harper Collins. As a budding author, Lexa Hillyer has so far managed to make a name for herself in the literary world since she is the recipient of the Book of the Year Award, during the Melissa Lanitis Prize Awards. Hillyer’s work was featured during the 2012 Best New Poets. She is also the recipient of several awards in poetry. After completing her high school education, Lexa Hillyer, then joined Vassar College, where she earned her BA in English and later on an MFA in poetry from the renowned Stonecoast University, which is located in Southern Maine. Hillyer has served as an editor for some of the biggest publishing houses in the industry such as Penguin and Harper Collins. She later on went and co-founded her very own, publishing company, Glasstown Entertainment. Currently, Lexa Hillyer resides in Brooklyn together with her husband and their young daughter.

Proof of Forever

Proof of Forever is Lexa’s debut novel. It has been beautifully written such that it immediately captures the attention of the reader from the very first moment to last. This book is the story about four girls, who are former best friends. The first characters that Lexa Hillyer introduces the readers to are, Zoe. Zoe is a nerd who loves anything that is associated with Dr. Who. Tali is the other character, who is not only obsessed with money, is also obsessed with boys as well popularity. Lucy, on the other hand, is the golden girl, who appears to have a perfect boyfriend, perfect life, and perfect family as well. Many years ago, Joy disappeared from the lives of these girls. However, during the school reunion, she still manages to bring them together. This mix of characters presents the readers with a chance of selecting at least one character with whom one can relate to. Among this character, Tali was the worst. She was not only selfish, but she was also shallow as well.

As the novel begins, these four girls are sent back through time, to their last summer camp. To restore the timeline, they must accurately recreate the summer. Once they arrive at the camp, they soon realize that they will function much better as friends that working as individuals. In her very first novel, the author, Lexa Hillyer employs the levity and simplicity of a time travel device to contrast the past and the present of the lives of her four protagonists. Along the way, Hillyer adds doses of humor to some of the exceedingly heavier moments of this story. With that said, as the readers are metaphorically transported by the author, Lexa Hillyer in time, it is normal to expect a full on contemporary. Furthermore, the readers are going to be pleasantly surprised by the time travel aspect. The author, Lexa Hillyer has done an excellent job of ensuring the book remains as realistic as possible.

Nonetheless, the readers are going to find this book somehow slow paced considering the plot. The slow pace still does not take anything away from the novel. It is exceedingly interesting to watch the four protagonists create their summer. With that said, Proof of Forever is an excellent book that has been filled with magical realism. The author, Lexa Hillyer has managed to pen down a thoughtful and emotional story that is not only light, but a fun read as well. Hillyer takes the readers on a sentimental and heartfelt journey with the four main characters. Hillyer draws the readers in with exceedingly beautiful passages that many at times are heart wrenching, breath-taking and achingly beautiful. Since the story has been told from each of the girl’s perspectives, the readers are presented with a chance of knowing each of these characters, as well as their fears and secrets.

Spindle Fire

Spindle Fire is another entertaining read by Lexa Hillyer. When Aurora was born, the very last of the exceedingly powerful faeries who used to real earth pays the kingdom a visit. The members of the kingdom, hand over gifts of grace and beauty in exchange for tithing her sense of tough and voice as well. The Queen and King accept these gifts, but it does not take long before the Faerie Queen decides to intervene and instead asks for the child youth. The King and Queen refused to give the Queen Faerie, the child’s youth. As a result, the Queen Faerie is agitated and decides to place a death curse on the child for her sixteenth birthday. Aurora’s sister’s involuntary sacrifice, in turn, offers the kingdom some hope. As preparations are conducted for Aurora’s wedding, plans are also conducted to send her sister, Isabella away, since she is viewed as being troublesome.

Isabella, who unlike many is a free spirit, decides to elope with the love of her life Gil, who used to work at the castle. Upon hearing that her sister has run away, Aurora decides to pack her bags and go to look for Isabella. With that said, Isabella and Aurora are the main characters in Spindle Fire. Due to the fact that Isabella went blind so that her sister could live, the two communicate by a series of taps on their hands. Throughout the years, the two had to perfect their communication. They can easily finish each other’s thoughts. Because these two characters are step sisters, Aurora is treated as royal, since she is the daughter of the Queen and King. On the other hand, Isabella receives less royal treatment and is also viewed by the King’s advisor as well as the court as being troublesome. Due to the fact that this story is narrated from an alternating point of view chapters, the readers get to know these two girls as well as their traits as well.

Acquitted with the Cold

Acquitted with the Cold, is not only restless, but it is also exhilarating and full of poetry as well. This narrative displays the preoccupation of the urban setting and the natural world. In this book, the author introduces the readers to a new voice of poetry. The author’s ambitions and gifts are exceedingly fierce.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lexa Hillyer

Leave a Reply