Book Notification

Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain Books

The Germanicus Mosaic (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Pattern of Blood (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Forum (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chariots of Calyx (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legatus Mystery (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghosts of Glevum (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enemies of the Empire (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Roman Ransom (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Coin for the Ferryman (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Pompeia's Wedding (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Requiem for a Slave (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vestal Vanishes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whispering of Spies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Omens (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fateful Day (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ides of June (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Freedom (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prisoner of Privilege (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dreadful Destiny (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rewards of Treachery (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain series is a famous book series of historical fiction, mystery, crime, and Roman novels written by a popular English author named Rosemary Aitken under the pseudonym of Rosemary Rowe. It is comprised of a total of 17 books, which were released between the years 1999 and 2017. All the books of this series are set during the ancient Roman Britain. Each of the books features the chief protagonist in the role of Libertus, who lived in Roman Britain during the ancient times. Libertus is described by author Rowe as being an expert in solving patterns and puzzles, and a hard working mosaicist. He likes to solve the mysteries that take place in and around Britain. Libertus makes himself available on hire for his clients so that he can take on their problems and come with solutions for them. He charges a small amount from the clients as a fee for his service. The series begins in the 2nd century AD and shows Libertus as a pavement maker and a Freedman. His part time work is solving crime and takes a great pride in being able to help people solve their problems. The first case is brought to him by an influential patron, who asks Libertus to help him solve a politically sensitive case of murder. As the case involves his own patron, Libertus is not able to refuse. After a while into the investigation of the case, Libertus comes up with a possible suspect. But, when he too is murdered, the reality looks very elusive to him. However, he does not lose hope and continues to work hard and finally becomes successful in catching the main culprit. As the series progresses further, Libertus gets involved in the investigation of another mysterious case. While walking down the lane, he witnesses the attack on Quintus Ulpius, but the stabling is not fatal. As Quintus Ulpius is a wealthy decurion, Libertus’s wealthy patron, Marcus, commands him to carry out an investigation of the attack and find out who wished to see Quintus Ulpius dead. After a short while, Quintus Ulpius is found dead. Later, blood stains are found on the toga of an enemy of Quintus and Marcus becomes sure that he is the culprit. And so, he orders Libertus to close the case. But, Libertus appears to think otherwise. He takes another close look into the events of the case and discovers there is someone else who killed Quintus. Such a beginning to series proved very beneficial to both author Rowe’s career and this series. Following the grand success of the first few books, she went on to write several more stories over the course of the next few years. And all the other books were also able to attract a large number of readers from across the world.

An initial book written by author Rosemary Rowe in the Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain book series is entitled ‘Murder in the Forum’. This book was released by the Headline Book publication in the year 2004. The lead characters depicted in the novel include Perennix Felix, Marcus Septimus, Libertus, etc. The plot’s setting is done by Rosemary Rowe in Glevum, a city in ancient Britain ruled by the Romans. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Perennis Felix announces his arrival in the city of Glevum with a slave’s capricious execution. Perennis Felix is among the Roman Emperor’s favorites and has made many enemies among his own people because of his uncalled-for actions. In spite of having numerous enemies all around him, no one dares to ask him questions or demand a reason for his actions. Hence, whichever city he visits in Britain, a grand feast gets universally approved in the respect of his honor and for self preservation. Among the reluctant and unhappy citizens at the grand celebration are Libertus and his respected patron named Marcus Septimus. The festivities and enjoyment come to a halt all of a sudden after Perennis Felix chokes on one of the dishes and eventually dies. His death is witnessed by the whole gathering, many of whom become happy from the inside to see him dead. But, they are not able to express their happiness on the outside because of the fear from the Emperor. The ever so vigilant Libertus notices that a couple of guests have mysteriously disappeared after the death of Perennis Felix. He suspects that the reason behind the accidental death of Felix is something infinitely sinister. And only after investigating the matter will he be able to find out the one who is actually responsible for it. Therefore, Libertus does not waste much time and goes on the trail of the murderer to catch him as soon as possible.

Another very popular book of this series is called ‘The Chariots of Calyx’. It was also published by Headline publishers in 2004, after its first publication in 2002. Author Rowe has mentioned the chief characters in this particular novel as Libertus, Caius Monnius, Fortunatus, Marcus Septimus, etc. This book takes place in Londinium in Roman Britain. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Libertus visits Londinium after receiving an invitation from the Governor of Rome. The governor feels the need to call Libertus after he hears the news of the brutal killing of Caius Monnius. Caius was the chief corn-officer of the city and his murder surely raises many questions for the city’s governing bodies. Libertus seems to be reeling from a huge shock. While coming to Londinium, he had caught the sight of his lovely wife, who he had lost around 20 years ago to slavery. Then he loses her again and becomes very much depressed about his loss for the second time. As a result of the desperation and sadness from within, Libertus does not seem interested in unraveling the murderer for the first time ever. But, he doesn’t have the option of saying no to the Roman Governor, and so, he begins the investigation into Caius Monnius’ brutal murder. When Libertus talks to the mother of Caius Monnius, he learns that a popular charioteer named Fortunatus might be knowing the truth behind his murder. According to Caius’ mother, Fortunatus was having an extramarital affair with Caius’ wife, and the two have something role to play in the killing of her son. Later, another dead body of a high-ranked person is discovered, which makes Libertus believe that the case is much more complex and sinister than he had expected. This novel too became very successful, popular and received positive reviews from many reviewers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain

Leave a Reply