Book Notification

Library Lover Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Library Lover's Mystery Books

Books Can Be Deceiving (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Due or Die (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Book, Line and Sinker (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Read It and Weep (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Borrowed Time (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unlikely Meeting (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Likely Story (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Better Late Than Never (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Stacks (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hitting the Books (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Word to the Wise (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
One for the Books (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Research (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plot and the Pendulum (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal First Edition (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Merry Little Murder Plot (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The ‘Library Lover’s Mystery’ series is one that has been running for some time now, having been penned by American author Jenn McKinley. Focusing on the goings-on both in and around the ‘Briar Creek Public Library’, this popular line of mystery novels set in Connecticut features the various exploits that happen there. Overseen by the lead library director Lindsey Norris, each book features a new mystery, as it immerses itself further into the lives of the characters that reside there.

With over four books so far and more expected to follow shortly, this series has the potential to carry on into the foreseeable future. McKinley has created a world with relatable characters, each with their own back-stories that can be further explored as the series progresses. Not only does it offer arcs though, but the mysteries themselves mean that it’s instantly accessible too. Overall it’s a well regarded series with the potential to carry on for as long as McKinley sees fit.

Library Lover Mystery: Books Can be Deceiving

The first in the ‘Library Lover Mystery’ series, originally published on the 5th of July, 2011, Jenn McKinley used this book to set-up the novels as a whole. Providing both the location and the characters, she sets the overall tone of the books. Creating the world within, she gives them their first mystery to contend with as well, offering the basis for much of the stories to come.

After a New York editor visits the town of Briar Creek, quite a buzz is stirred creating a lot of commotion about the place. This is especially the case in the Briar Creek Public Library where the new chief library director Lindsey is getting into the routine of things as she’s starting to get used to everything and how it all works there. Beth, a friend of Lindseys is hoping to sell her newly written children’s book to the editor in the hopes of getting it published. This is more difficult than it first appears though, as Beth’s boyfriend inadvertently acts as obstacle to the deal, as he himself is a well-regarded author who’s already been published. Everyone goes to confront him about his behavior only to find him dead, at which they subsequently find that they all have a murder case and their first mystery investigation on their hands.

Faced with suspicion, Beth must deal with being the chief suspect in his murder case, due to having a strong motive for his death. Despite this, it is clearly not her as she’s incapable of committing such a crime according to all those close to her. Regardless of this it would seem that she is going to go to trial and potentially have the book thrown at her if she doesn’t deal with it soon. It is, therefore, up to her friend Lindsey to take up the case and contest her best friend’s innocence by attempting to find out the identity of the real killer. She needs to be quick about it though, otherwise it could end up being to late leaving her friend paying the ultimate price of her freedom for a crime she didn’t commit. It seems that their first mystery is going to be one of great importance for the Briar’s Creek Library gang. Will Lindsey be able to solve the case in time getting her best friend off the hook in the process? Can she discover who the killer really is, or will it be too late and could they strike again? What will become of the library mystery lovers as they contend with their first case realizing that books can be deceiving?

Library Lover Mystery: Due or Die

Another day, another mystery for the gang at Briar’s Creek Public Library, in what is the second installment of the series. First published in 2012 on the 6th of March, it was to be the follow up from Jenn McKinley. Further establishing the world they live in, it sets up the characters enhancing the series even more.

Settled into her new role as director of Briar’s Creek Public Library, Lindsey is enjoying all the responsibility of the position. The difficult reference questions are enough trouble for Lindsey Norris as it appears she has plenty of excitement in her life, or so it seems. That all changes when a murder takes place and she’s soon faced with a new case to contend with, as she gets the group together to find out the real culprit once again. This question needs to be answered quickly though, as the clock is ticking and it could lead to the killer striking again if they don’t solve the case soon. Not looking to get in the way of the official investigation, she seeks to subtly question those regulars who show up at her library, as she aims to get to the bottom of it all. Not wanting to draw attention to herself, she looks to keeping her investigation extremely low-key.

During all this she also finds time to deal with a small puppy that has been dropped off and abandoned in one of the book drop-off points in the library. She doesn’t want to adopt it for herself yet though, due to not knowing where it came from, despite an affection for it. Adding to this are her creeping feelings for Mike Sullivan the local harbor worker, as she attempts to hide her emotions from as does he. This leads to an arc that can be seen developing further yet in the subsequent books to follow, providing a potential romantic love interest. Will she find the killer before it’s too late, or will they find her first? Can she manage it without being detected and what of the puppy that’s developed an attachment to her? What will become of Lindsey Norris as she asks the pertinent question as whether it’s due or die?

The Library Lover Mystery Series

Having gone on for some time now, these stories have continued to delight readers with their cozy tales of murder and intrigue. With the ability to easily continue indefinitely, it appears they’ll continue into the future. As McKinley herself has stated this, it seems they wont be stopping anytime soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Library Lover Mysteries

Leave a Reply