Book Notification

Lighthouse Inn Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lighthouse Inn Mystery Books

Innkeeping with Murder (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reservations for Murder (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Checks Inn (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Room for Murder (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Booked for Murder (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Key to Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ring for Murder (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honeymoon For Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Lighthouse Inn Mysteries series is a series of well known cozy mystery books written by one of the noteworthy American novelists named Tim Myers. This series is comprised of a total of 7 books which were released between the years 2001 and 2011. In each and every book of this series, author Myers has set the plots and stories based around the events in the life of the chief protagonist named Alex Wintson. He is introduced as the owner of the Hatteras West Inn, located near the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, North Carolina. The design of this inn is made to look like a lighthouse located nearby, which is known as the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. As the series progresses, a number of other important characters join the series and play their parts in carrying forward the mysterious situations described by author Myers. Tim Myers started writing this cozy mystery series in the year 2001 and also published its debut book titled Innkeeping With Murder, in the same year. Even though author Myers has not released any new book in the series for a long time, he still maintains that the series is going on. He is actually working to develop the plot of the series’ next book, which he is expected to finish writing soon and publish in the coming days.

One of the initial and most successful books of the Lighthouse Inn Mysteries series written by author Tim Myers is titled as ‘Innkeeping With Murder’. It was released by the Berkeley publication in the year 2001. At the start of the story, author Myers has shown that the Hatteras West Lighthouse and Inn is tucked away in the Blue Ridge Mountains’ foothills and is owned by the main protagonist, Alex Winston. He keeps a close watch on each and every activity taking place at the cozy getaway and makes sure that his guests do not face any kind of trouble, making them enjoy a relaxing time at his inn. Even the guests seem to have a deep faith in the Alex Winston’s capabilities in taking care of all their needs from basic repairs up to breakfast. But, when one of his guests is discovered dead at his lighthouse’s top, Alex wonders how did he get killed. However, as the accidental deaths begin to take place in a series, Alex Winston suspects that someone is killing the guest one by one and making their deaths look like accidents. The murders make it clear that Alex and is inn are getting targeted for mayhem.

At first, he used to think that these incidents were meant to make him go out of business, but later it becomes quite evident that there is something more in the case the killer is trying to make Alex land in deep trouble. Alex knows that he must solve the mystery behind the murders as soon as possible so as to prevent any more guests from getting killed. And it is only after capturing the main culprit that Alex Winston will be able to safeguard the reputation of his famous inn as well as remain in business. The overall story depicted in the book by author Myers appears to fluffy and light cozy mystery. The way author Myers has described the lighthouse and its location, it appeared very relaxed and comfortable to the readers, who praised author Myers for such a beautiful description. The main strength of the book appears to the characters. They feel like seemingly real. After reading about people like Alex Winston, Elise, and various other villagers, described in the book, the readers tend to feel like meeting them in real life.

One of the other well known book published in the series is titled as ‘Room For Murder’. It was released in the year 2003. The plot described in this book by author Myers deals with marriage of two of the best friends of Alex Winston. When they announce their marriage, Alex feels the need to tie up some loose ends as the ex-boyfriend of the bride turns up dead on the property of his inn. At the beginning of the story, Mor and Emma are introduced as close friends of Alex. They decide to marry each other and choose Alex’s inn as the perfect place to carry out the proceedings of their marriage and reception. When only a few days are left in the marriage, Emma’s former boyfriend is found dead in the parking space of the inn. To make things even more difficult, both Emma and her groom-to-be become the prime suspects. Alex is joined by the housekeeper of his inn, Elise, to find out how the victim died and reached the parking lot. They decide not to let either of Emma or Mor get convicted for the crime that they have not committed. They start from the beginning and look to catch the real killer. Just like the previous books of the series, this book too can be read as a standalone novel. But, if read as a series along with the other books, it becomes even more interesting to read. As the story proceeds, it is seen that the relationship between the characters also grows. A couple of things stand out in the book, which make it an even better read. The first thing is that the author Myers has described the murders in the plot in a very clean way. Very rarely it can be seen that an author describes a riveting murder mystery without making use of any gratuitous sex scenes or profanity. The second thing that makes the book stand out from the rest of the murder mysteries is its set up. Author Myers has selected a very exciting and happening place located in North Carolina. In fact, he has done a great job in describing the small town culture of the Elkton Falls town. It is filled with North Carolina’s southern charm. Myers has used some of the references from the time he used to live there. All these elements helped the book to become successful in all parts of the world where it was released. A number of critics and readers gave positive reviews to it and also appreciated the hard work of author Myers in developing it. The success gave author Myers a huge boost to continue writing many more interesting novels. In the later years, he contributed with a few more books in this mystery series as well as started writing a few other new mystery series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lighthouse Inn Mysteries

Leave a Reply