Book Notification

Lina Chern Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

About Lina Chern

Lina Chern is an American mystery novelist who has been published in several notable publications. Born and raised in the Chicago area, she has a knack for creating captivating characters and crafting suspenseful stories. Her debut novel, Play the Fool, was released in 2020.

She is a talented, experienced writer, and her gift for making her stories entertaining and intriguing has earned her a loyal readership. Her characters are skillfully crafted, full of nuance and depth, and her protagonists are often dynamic and engaging. Chern also has a remarkable ability to craft compelling narratives that draw the reader into the story.

Chern is highly regarded among mystery readers and writers alike. Her skill and experience in the genre has allowed her to create stories that are both suspenseful and entertaining. Chern’s writing is timeless and her stories continue to delight readers of all ages. With her gift for creating characters, suspenseful plots, and engaging narratives, she continues to be a favorite among mystery readers and writers.

She has a unique ability to create stories that are both compelling and engaging. She knows how to craft characters that draw the reader in and make them feel a part of the story. Her characters are realistic and often have a strong personality, allowing readers to connect and relate to them.

Her stories also feature captivating stories with intricate plotlines that keep readers on the edge of their seats. Her use of suspenseful techniques and surprise twists keep readers coming back for more. Chern also has an eye for detail, which makes her stories feel realistic and relatable.

In addition to creating compelling stories, Chern has a gift for crafting characters that readers can relate to and root for. She has a knack for making her protagonists dynamic and likable, making readers eager to see how the story unfolds. Chern’s stories are well-crafted, entertaining, and suspenseful, which is why she continues to be a favorite among mystery readers and writers.

Early and Personal Life

Lina Chern grew up surrounded by books and stories, and has always had a passion for reading and writing. As a young girl, she was often found curled up in a corner of the house with a good book, and her love of literature only grew over time.

In her late teens, Lina began to put her ideas on paper, crafting stories that were inspired by her own life and the people around her. After many years of hard work and dedication, she finally published her debut novel, Play the Fool. It was a great success and quickly gained her recognition in the literary world.

Today, Lina is represented by Joanna MacKenzie of Nelson Literary Agency, and continues to write stories that her fans adore from her home in Chicago with her family. Through her books, she has been able to share her unique perspective on life and connect with readers all over the world. Lina’s work has been instrumental in bringing joy and inspiration to many, and she is a true testament to the power of storytelling.

Writing Career

Lina Chern is a highly-accomplished writer, having had her work appear in many acclaimed publications. She is represented by the Nelson Literary Agency and recently released her debut mystery novel, Play the Fool, in 2023.

Prior to this, Chern’s work had been featured in The Marlboro Review, Mystery Weekly, The Bellingham Review, Rhino, Black Fox Literary Magazine, The Collagist, and The Coil. This impressive list of publications is testament to her skill and commitment as a writer.

Chern is set to continue her writing career, with more stories and novels to come. Her past work has already made a huge impression and her future works are sure to do the same.

Play the Fool

Lina Chern’s stand-alone mystery novel, ‘Play the Fool,’ was published on March 28, 2023, by Bantam. This was Chern’s first novel and was highly anticipated before its release. It was widely praised by critics and readers alike, and continues to find readers around the world.

Katie True had been struggling since her return to the suburbs after a failed attempt at living in Chicago. She found solace in her tarot deck and a newfound friend, Marley, who worked with her at the mall. Encouraged by Marley, Katie began practicing soothsaying, when one day a mysterious customer entered her shop. Katie was surprised to find an image of Marley with a gunshot wound to the head on his phone.

Stunned, Katie realized her tarot cards could not foresee this tragedy, and she was determined to solve the mystery of Marley’s death. She put her quick wit and gut instinct to work, but found herself in the middle of a dangerous threat. Knowing her only way out was to uncover the truth, Katie used her street smarts and inner Strength card to solve the murder.

The book is full of intrigue and suspense as the reader is taken through a journey along with Katie. Her newfound friend Marley, and the mysterious customer, bring excitement and unexpected plot twists to the story. Those who pick up this book will find an enjoyable and captivating read that keeps them guessing until the very end.

Sparkle Shot

On December 4, 2016, the crime thriller novella short-story ‘Sparkle Shot’ was released to the public. Published by Fahrenheit Press, it quickly became a fan favorite, gaining high praise and reviews from readers. An early release from Lina, ‘Sparkle Shot’ is sure to leave readers feeling on the edge of their seat.

Mara, a shy scientist, was expecting a breakfast date with her friend Karma, only to be disappointed when she failed to show. However, it soon became apparent that her roommate, a stripper, had a very good reason for not attending: she had witnessed a murder. Fearing for her friend’s safety, Mara set off on a rescue mission.

Along the way she encountered a perfume-selling wannabe cowboy, a handsome and enigmatic cop, and even managed to search for the perfect breakfast cocktail. Her journey to save her friend ended up being full of unexpected twists and turns.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lina Chern

Leave a Reply