Book Notification

Lina Rather Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Our Lady of Endless Worlds Books

Sisters of the Vast Black (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sisters of the Forsaken Stars (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Season of Monstrous Conceptions (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Katharine Duckett Short Story Collections

In Our Own Worlds #2 (With: Seanan McGuire,Kai Ashante Wilson,Katharine Duckett) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Shimmer 2017: The Collected Stories(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flash Fiction Online April 2018(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon Publishing 2019 Debut Sampler(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Lina Rather

The American author Lina Rather is a proficient writer in the field of science-fiction and fantasy. Her strength lies in the creation of rich, engaging characters and driven protagonists that add depth to her narratives. Her stories deliver on entertainment, immersing readers in otherworldly journeys painted by her impressive imagination. Lina elevates any tale she spins, enthralling fans of the genre with her knack for storytelling.

Lina’s storytelling expertise doesn’t stop at entertaining readers. She masters the art of crafting compelling narratives that are part and parcel of her gifts as a writer. Her stories are not only engaging but also brim with elements that will hold you spellbound. The vibrancy with which Lina presents her narratives attests to her passion for the genre.

She is highly regarded and admired within the literary community. This reverence comes from her way of weaving intricate plotlines and visualization-inducing details that stem from her ability to create unforgettable characters.

Through all this, Lina Rather has etched her mark in the genre, delighting sci-fi and fantasy enthusiasts with her visionary storytelling. The next time you’re in the mood for some innovative, fantasy-infused escapades, look no further than picking up a work penned by Lina.

Early and Personal Life

Lina Rather, a much-admired speculative fiction writer, comes from the Great Lakes State of Michigan, but currently lives in Washington, D.C. Growing up immersing herself in her love of literature, Lina naturally developed an affinity for creative pursuits including reading, which subsequently sparked her interest in writing. This enthusiasm allowed her to transform the seeds of imagination into compelling narratives, articulating a world of her own.

Lina’s life, however, isn’t just about writing magnificent pieces of speculative fiction. She has a passion for diving into historical texts, adding layers to her understanding of the world we inhabit and surely enhancing her own stories, too. The past offers its treasures, serving as a source of inspiration for many, including Lina, fueling the drive to piece together enthralling narratives.

In addition, Lina has a taste for the culinary arts, frequently opting to create intricate recipes. Lastly, her interest in collecting intriguing stones signifies her curiosity and fascination with the natural world, pouring this vibrancy back into their craft.

Writing Career

Lina Rather has a well-regarded career as a writer, having showcased her talent in both short fiction and book writing. Her short writings have graced the likes of Shimmer, Lightspeed, and Fireside Fiction, attracting a broad readership.

She has also penned books, like ‘Sisters of the Vast Black,’ which won the Golden Crown Literary Society Goldie award, as well as being shortlisted to receive a Theordore Sturgeon Memorial award.

She continued to captivate her audience with her series—starting with ‘Sisters of the Vast Black’ in 2019, succeeded by ‘Sisters of the Forsaken Stars’ in 2022. Add to the list her following novel, ‘A Season of Monstrous Conceptions,’ which was released in 2023.

Lina also contributed to the series ‘In Our Own Worlds,’ cementing her status as a successful and dedicated writer with more fantastic tales in the works.

Sisters of the Vast Black

This science-fiction novella first saw publication on October 29, 2019, through This book marks the start of the ‘Our Lady of Endless Worlds’ series.

In the past, sisters and brothers from Old Earth were sent to the expansive colonies in space, equipped only with crucifixes and unwavering faith. Today, the Order of Saint Rita’s sisters undertake a mercy mission across galaxies on their sentient ship, Our Lady of Impossible Constellations.

A distress signal from a new colony reveals a threat to their charges and the galactic diaspora, not from the unknown breadth of space, but from the emerging Central Governance and the Church itself.

‘Sisters of the Vast Black’ is a fascinating start to the ‘Our Lady of Endless Worlds’ series. The blend of spirituality and science fiction created a unique narrative, and the mission across galaxies was intriguing from start to finish.

Sisters of the Forsaken Stars

The sci-fi novella ‘Sisters of the Forsaken Stars’ constitutes the second book in the ‘Our Lady of Endless Worlds’ series. The publication date was February 22, 2022, and it was again released through This book continues the story where the first book left off.

A short while ago, colonies and space stations of Earth broke away from its oppressive grip. Now, decades later, conflicts are surfacing in the Four Systems as Old Earth tries to retake its lost territories.

Witnessing and resisting Central Governance’s horrors on the distant planet Phyosonga III, the beneficent Order of Saint Rita have been on the run, all while striving to fulfill their purpose. Even with their low profile, tales of their resistance are spreading, fueled by a burgeoning anti-Earth religious movement seeking a revolution, forcing the Order to determine their role in reshaping the galaxy.

Marking the second novel in the ‘Our Lady of Endless Worlds’ series, this tale was filled with gripping conflict and resistance, and was compelling leaving a mark. The characters’ commitment to their purpose, despite their circumstances, was particularly admirable.

This captivating narrative is recommended for anyone seeking an immersive and thought-provoking read.

A Season of Monstrous Conceptions

‘A Season of Monstrous Conceptions’ is a horror fantasy novella penned by Lina Rather. It made its debut in the literature world on Halloween, October 31, 2023. The novella was also published by

In 17th-century London, unique children with abnormal traits are being born. Sarah Davis, who was herself born distinctively and now hopes to lead an independent life, is intimately acquainted with such peculiarities. She serves as an apprentice in the illicit Worshipful Company of Midwives, where she learns to tap into healing powers from another world to assist the women in her care.

Hired by Lady Wren for her pregnancy and admired by Lord Christopher Wren who has an obsession with the supernatural, Sarah gets embroiled in a mystic and intricate plot driven by people seeking power by exploiting the magic of the Other World, putting the earth itself in danger.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lina Rather

Leave a Reply