Book Notification

Lincoln Perry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lincoln Perry Books

Tonight I Said Goodbye (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sorrow's Anthem (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Welcome Grave (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Hour (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Lincoln Perry” series written by author Michael Koryta is from the crime fiction genre. It stars Lincoln Perry, who is a private investigator that is based out of Cleveland, Ohio. The character made his debut in Michael Koryta’s debut “Tonight I Said Goodbye”, which was released in the year 2004.

“Tonight I Said Goodbye” was accepted by a publisher when Michael was only twenty years old. He wrote this while still in college, and had two novels published before he had graduated. It went on to win SMP/PWA Contest for Best First P.I. Novel.

“Tonight I Said Goodbye” is the first novel in the “Lincoln Perry” series and was released in the year 2004. Wayne Weston (who is an investigator) is found dead and it looks like a suicide in a nice suburb in Cleveland, while in his home. Both his six year old daughter and wife have gone missing. Wayne’s father insists that private investigators Joe Pritchard and Lincoln Perry take the case on to clear his son’s name and find his daughter in law and granddaughter.

As they start looking into things, they find there is much more to this than meets the eye. Even more than is described in the media reports. They hear rumors of extortion and gambling debts. Not to mention, a group of Russians that have ties to organized crime who do not like being investigated. This is something that they make clear with baseball bats.

Perry and Pritchard get help from Amy Ambrose (a newspaper reporter) and believe that they are making quick progress on the case. They get warned off looking further into things by the FBI and a millionaire tycoon (who made their fortune in real estate). They feel they are close to finding some answers, but another murder makes them change their focus in the case.

Perry goes to a resort town that is located in South Carolina. He finds more than just a single game being played. All of them are deadly ones. The stakes are raised and become quite personal for Perry, and it is obvious walking away from this case will not be an option.

Fans felt that the novel was paced really well, and allowed readers to get to know characters and their personalities. The novel is well written and has some intriguing characters that help make this hard to put down. Readers were hooked from the start and wound up being glad that they chose this author.

“Sorrow’s Anthem” is the second novel in the “Lincoln Perry” series and was released in the year 2006. At the start, it was just about money. Then it turned personal.

This is what Ed Gradduk tells his best buddy, and private investigator, Lincoln Perry. They meet each other after being apart for years; they used to be best friends who walked the same streets together. The two laughed and felt the same pain, until Perry made a big decision that ended their friendship. Ed is on the lam now, and hiding from the police as they want to arrest him for murder and arson. Perry finds Gradduk in an old neighborhood haunt of theirs and finds that he is full of muddy thoughts and drunken memories.

Gradduk is killed by police after a violent confrontation with them. Perry is unable to get over his friend’s death and tries to understand the things that took him down.

“A Welcome Grave” is the third novel in the “Lincoln Perry” series and was released in the year 2007. Perry’s career was on the rise with the Cleveland police, but it ended when he left a prominent city attorney bleeding in the parking lot of his country club. The lawyer, named Alex Jefferson, was having an affair with Perry’s fiance. Perry was taking retribution for it.

Jefferson is now dead, after being the victim of a vicious murder. His widow calls on Perry to do something he knows that he should not do. He cannot turn it down, however. Perry is supposed to find Jefferson’s estranged son, who was partial beneficiary of his estate. It is supposed to be a routine case, just a simple locate, and he will even be paid quite a bit of money. Even the encounter should be simple too. It should just be a short exchanging of information, possibly giving the son an empty condolence before leaving and going home. Instead, he gets loaded into a cop car and taken to a jail in the rural part of the world. Jefferson’s son, on the other hand, is loaded into a body bag.

Jefferson’s fortune, Perry quickly learns, is targeted by someone’s lust for revenge that was not satisfied by blood. A couple of deadly assassins dig into Perry’s life, and bring cops from two states that want to put Perry away in jail.

“The Silent Hour” is the fourth novel in the “Lincoln Perry” series and was released in the year 2009. Whisper Ridge— Home to Dreams— November 6,1992- April 27, 1996. This is what the weird epitaph that is carved next to the door of Whisper Ridge (a multi million dollar piece of majesty). It used to house the start of a special program for murderers out on parole. It was Alexandra Sanabria’s (a dead Mafia don’s daughter) passion. It never got off the ground, though. No one has lived in the home for twelve years now, and the home is an odd monument to dangerous secrets.

Lincoln Perry’s initial involvement with the property and the legacy of it, starts when Parker Harrison wants him to find Alexandra. Parker is a convicted murderer and used to live at Whisper Ridge. She ran off with her husband after the program failed, and no one knows what happened to them.

He immediately does not trust Harrison, something that embarrasses him and takes the request simply at face value. Until he finds out the bones of Alexandra’s husband were found right when Harrison started wanting her found.

The investigation is active yet again and threats from ten years ago are coming back. It confronts Perry with a family mystery. It will challenge his commitment to being a detective and his abilities as one.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lincoln Perry

Leave a Reply