Nick Petrie Series

Linda Greenlaw Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jane Bunker Mystery Books

Slipknot (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fisherman's Bend (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shiver Hitch (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bimini Twist (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Hungry Ocean (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lobster Chronicles (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Fishermen Are Liars (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Recipes from a Very Small Island (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Seaworthy (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Maine Summers Cookbook (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lifesaving Lessons (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Steady as She Goes(2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Linda Greenlaw is a bestselling author who specializes mainly in maritime themes. Apart from being a best-selling author, she also happens to be the only lady swordfishing-captain on the East Coast. Greenlaw was featured in the novel, Perfect Storm, together with the 2000 film adaptation of the book. Currently, Greenlaw is the captain of Hannah Boden, a boat that was featured in Swords; Life on the Line on the Discovery Channel. Previously, Linda Greenlaw was the captain of the Seahawk after the captain died aboard the boat. Linda Greenlaw has penned down three best-selling books that lay emphasis on commercial fishing; the Hungry Ocean, which was published in the year 1999, the Lobster Chronicles, which was published in the year 2002, and All Fishermen are Liars, which was published in the same year.

Greenlaw’s books have been featured on the bestsellers list, with the highest ranking being the 2nd spot on the New York Times best-sellers list. The Hungry Ocean has stayed on the bestsellers list for approximately three months. Currently, Greenlaw resides in Maine.

Early Years

Linda Greenlaw was born on22 December 1960to Martha and Jim Greenlaw. Martha’s father used to serve as an information systems manager at Bath Iron Works. Despite the fact that she was born on Isle Au Haut, Martha Greenlaw was raised in Topsham. Linda used to spend her summers, with her family in Isle Au Haut, an exceedingly small village that had a capacity of 70 people. Greenlaw was admitted to Colby College, where she earned a degree in English and government. To survive college, Linda Greenway had to earn some extra cash, and she did it by serving as a deckhand aboard Walter Leeman, a swordfishing boat. She also served as a cook as well. During her free time and on vacation, Linda continued to work on the Walter Leeman even after she graduated from college in the year 1983.

Commercial Fishing

Linda Greenlaw served as the captain of Hannah Boden, when one Andrea Gail was responsible for sinking the Titanic in the Perfect Storm, which was released in the year 1991. Linda Greenlaw’s efforts to inform Andrea Gail about the incoming storm was shown in the book Perfect Storm, which was written by Sebastian Junger. In the movie, Perfect Storm Linda Greenlaw played Mary Elizabeth. Junger termed Linda Greenlaw, as one of the best captains in the entire East Coast. In the year 1997, Linda Greenlaw moved to Isle de Haut, where she decided to settle and even purchased Mattie Belle, a 35-foot lobster boat. On 28th May 2009, Linda Greenlaw was charged for illegally fishing and entering in the Canadian waters.


The Hungry Ocean, Linda Greenlaw’s very first novel, gave a one-month description of a fishing voyage as one that entails treacherous weather, wildly entertaining shipmates, uncooperative fish and mind-bending pressure.

Best Linda Greenlaw Books

A Fisherman’s Tale is one of the best books by Linda Greenlaw. Linda first attained public recognition in the international bestseller, Perfect Storm by the well-established author, Sebastian Junger. Greenlaw was the captain of Andrea Gail’s sister ship, Hannah Bodden. Andrea Gail is the swordfishing ship, which was doomed by a hurricane that occurred in the year, 1991. In the Fisherman’s Tale, Greenlaw narrates her very own story. Apart from the high drama in the book, the book is also highly entertaining and much similar to other well-written non-fiction books. Linda’s childhood was much similar to any person who was born and raised in the coastal town of Maine. The kind of child who develops a high liking for the sea at an exceedingly early age or gets a chance to work one of the family’s lobster’s boat.

However, as it is in Linda’s case, she got an opportunity to work with one of the commercial fishing boats as a deckhand and as a cook as well. When she was at college, she was constantly on the lookout on one of the swordfish harpoon boat. To continue with fishing, Linda promised her parents that she would continue with law school in one year’s time. She continued with fishing, and during her mid-twenties, she earned the status of a captain. When the Perfect Storm was released, Linda Greenlaw had been fishing for more than fifteen years. With that said, this book is the story about a fishing trip to the Grand Banks. There are numerous alternating chapters, which narrate the stories of different crews and trips. Linda narrates to the reader about the time, when she had to hire several drug users as her crew.

We also get to know about the time, when she had managed to rescue a drunkard who had dropped from a wharf. In the following day, she got to learn that the person that she had rescued was to be her cook. We also get to learn about crewmembers who had the habit of watching television for long hours and how to get their attention; she had to throw an ax through the television. The crew used to refer to Greenlaw as Ma, which she used to tolerate because there were instances when she was called worse. Greenlaw loved to be called as a fisherman instead of a fisherwoman. There are instances when the narrative proved to be gruesome. Catching the exceedingly big fish did involve some butchery, and in this book, it is narrated in explicit details from the dicing to the hooking and the slicing.

The author conveys openly the contempt that the fishermen used to feel, when the huge fish got away, or alternatively the sharks that mistakenly got caught in the fishing lines. The author also makes it clear that she did not like the conservationists who have tried to take off the swordfish off the restaurants. The exceedingly notorious ship owner, Bob makes an appearance in this book as the author’s boss. Bob Brown is a hard driven and exceedingly ambitious fisherman. However, in this book, Bob is treated with admiration and affection and it is apparent that Linda wishes to have learned much more from him before he died. With that said, Hungry Ocean is a brilliantly written book. The story is a triumph, one of a woman who is succeeding in one of the male dominated line of work.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Linda Greenlaw

Leave a Reply