Book Notification

Linda Wiken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dinner Club Mystery Books

Toasting Up Trouble (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roux the Day (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marinating in Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of An Ashton Corners Book Club Mystery Books

as Erika Chase
A Killer Read (As:Erika Chase) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Read and Buried (As:Erika Chase) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cover Story (As:Erika Chase) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Book Fair and Foul (As:Erika Chase) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Law and Author (As:Erika Chase) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ladies Killing Circle Books

Menopause Is Murder (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fit to Die (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bone Dance (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Boomers Go Bad (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going Out With a Bang (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Castle Bookshop Mystery Books

as Essie Lang
Trouble on the Books (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Page (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Chapter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fit to Die(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bone Dance(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Boomers Go Bad(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going Out With a Bang(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Treasures(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whole She-Bang(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whole She-Bang 2(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Coming from Canada, the mystery novelist Linda Wiken is well known for her unique and in-depth stories filled with action and intrigue. Combining character and wit she is able to keep her readers guessing constantly throughout, not letting up until the very last page. Working in the media as a journalist and as a radio producer, she has more than enough experience from which to draw from as a writer.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up with a clear love of literature and the written word, Linda Wiken always had a strong passion for both reading and writing. Looking to focus herself on her craft, she would constantly be found with her head in a book, allowing her to build up her style. Over the years she would develop this into a full blown career, making a name for herself as a full-time writer largely of mystery novels.

Working in the Ottawa Police Department for over fifteen years as a volunteer, she also has vast array of experience too. This, along with her extensive education, has given her much of what she requires for giving her material extra weight. Knowing and understanding her subject matter, it clearly shows the extensive background research that she’s done.

She has also worked in the media prior to becoming a full-time writer as well, with a past in journalism, specifically as a copywriter and radio producer. This has provided her with experience in crafting a story for a mass-market, making it palatable for the everyday consumer. It has also given her material and ideas for her work too, giving her an insight into how the world operates day-to-day.

Living in Ottawa in Ontario, she lives with her two Siamese cats where she’s lived for over thirty years. Regularly writing she continues to put out work at a consistent pace, as she’s always on the lookout for her next big idea. This will continue on into the foreseeable future for quite some time to come, as she doesn’t seem to be stopping anytime soon.

Writing Career

Bringing out her first book in 2016, she made a considerable impact with the novel ‘Toasting up Trouble’. It would also be the first in her ‘Dinner Club Mystery’ series of novels too, setting up the franchise as a whole. Establishing both her style and her tone, she managed to create a brand for herself that would come to be recognized in the years to follow.

The series of ‘Dinner Club Mystery’ novels itself is a strong one and an exemplary example of the mystery genre as a whole. Showing a clear passion and love for the leading characters and leading protagonists it really manages to carry itself through. Whilst it follows many of the templates set by the formula, it also manages to branch off by itself too, giving it a very conclusive feel.

Gaining a lot of awards and recognition for her work, she is widely regarded as one of the foremost writers currently working within her field. Known for her accuracy she gives her work a very grounded feel, allowing it to really speak to the reader on a more personal level. This then lets them submerge themselves even deeper into her world, taking them on a journey throughout getting them involved.

Shortlisted for the ‘Arthur Ellis Award’ along with the ‘Best Short Story’ from the ‘Crime Writers of Canada’, she is appreciated by both the critics and the general public alike. Writing in various magazines too, she has created a strong brand for herself with her many followers too, prior to becoming a full-time writer. This has allowed her to find her voice and ensure that it is unique and idiosyncratic, letting her stand out from the crowd.

Still writing to this very day, she continue to write from her home in Canada, maintaining a strong presence both online and off. Serving as a choir member in her local community too, she has an active life outside of her writing too, which serves her well. Giving a warm feel to her material, she is able to provide a ‘cozy’ feel to her stories which really brings them to life for the reader.

Roux the Day

Brought out by ‘Berkley Books’ in 2017, this was originally released on the 7th of March, setting up the second title in the ongoing ‘Dinner Club Mystery’ series of novels. Following on from the last it provides further backstory for the main characters, as well as developing the world overall. It also manages to deliver a concise and imaginative finely tuned self-contained mystery story for the reader too.

All set to plan an event, Jennifer ‘J.J.’ Tanner is looking to really make it a big deal when commissioned to organize a cruise ship event. That’s when the television personality Miranda Myers is found dead overboard after Tanner was organizing for her and Connor Mac the radio DJ. Suspected of murder now, Tanner must clear her name after being romantically linked to Connor who was in turn linked to Miranda. Can she find the real killer? Will she clear her name? Who will roux the day?

Marinating in Murder

Bringing out the third title in the ongoing ‘Dinner Club Mystery’ franchise, this was once again brought out through the ‘Berkley Books’ publishing house. Providing another mystery story complete with an investigation of Tanner to solve once more, it follows on in a similar vein to the previous two novels. Published on the 6th of March in 2018, this would also work at progressing the world overall, along with the arcs of the characters too.

All set to have a picnic with none other than the Culinary Capers Dinner Club, Alison Malkovich finds more than she bargained for when opening her SUV for picnic supplies. Instead discovering a dead body, she quickly realizes it’s the body of her ex-husband, as she then has to go about clearing her name. Suspended from the police force she is prevented from investigating herself, something which doesn’t stop Tanner and the rest of the Dinner Club, as they work together to prove her innocence. Can they find who really did it though? Will they kill again? Who is marinating in murder?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Linda Wiken

One Response to “Linda Wiken”

  1. Rhonda: 2 years ago

    I just finished reading the Dinner Club Mystery books. Loved them. Are you not going to continue with this series??? It would be awesome if you would carry on with everyone from Half Moon and especially with J.J. Tanner and Ty Devine!!!


Leave a Reply