Book Notification

Lindsey Hutchinson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Black Country Books

The Workhouse Children (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wives' Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Sisters (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan Girl (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl on the Doorstep (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen Women (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Five Shilling Children (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children from Gin Barrel Lane (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Minnie's Orphans (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hat Girl From Silver Street (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Winter Baby for Gin Barrel Lane (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Runaway Children (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heartbreak for the Hat Girl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ragged Orphan (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Penny (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pick-Pocket Orphans (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lindsey Hutchinson is a Sagas fiction author that was born and raised in Wednesbury in England.

The author is married and her two children have left the coop to get married and have grandchildren for her. She currently makes her home in the countryside of Shropshire where she lives with her husband and their owl and dog.

She had always loved storytelling as a child but it was when she was typing up manuscripts for her mother that this love was rekindled.

Hutchinson published “The Workhouse Children,” her debut work in 2016, and has since then become quite the prolific author. Lindsey now has more than a dozen novels in several series and single-standing novels.

When she is not writing her novels, she loves to engage in photography as a hobby. She also likes to travel and has vacationed in many countries that include Thailand, Egypt, Israel, Turkey, India, Greece, China, and Russia.

As a full-time author, Lindsey Hutchinson usually writes from her house in the easy chair.

She prefers to pen her stories using longhand and a fountain pen. She loves to write in longhand as it makes it easier to glance back at what she has written earlier if she needs to.
Once she is done with the drafting she will then type it up thoroughly before submitting it to her beta readers.

As for books she loves reading and influences, she cites the likes of Dan Brown, Mary Wood, John Lyman, and Linda la Plante or anything to do with ancient Rome or ancient Egypt.

Lindsey Hutchinson’s novel “The Workhouse Children” is set in Bilston in 1901, where Henrietta Selby who is grandmother to Cara Flowers just passed on. The only silver lining is that she has been left with money and a house.

But her grandma has also tasked her with looking for any destitute relatives and taking care of them. This is bizarre for Cara who grew up believing she did not have any other family.

She had been brought up by her grandmother who never spoke of her parents. It does seem that Elizabeth her mother had married someone her family found inappropriate and this had caused her to be estranged.
The family advisor tells her to check the workhouse in Bilston and she is shocked at the conditions there. She soon learns that she has Charlie a thirteen-year-old brother and Daisy a sister that had been sold as a servant.

It does seem the foremen at the working house are running the place as cheaply as possible so that they can use the extra money to improve their own living conditions.

Cara is furious and becomes determined to destroy the workhouse and all that it stands for, but Joseph Purcell the local magistrate does not like her plans.

Lindsey Hutchinson’s novel “The Wives’ Revenge” is a gritty story of justice for the downtrodden and triumph over hardship.

At the opening of the story, Violet Clancy is feeling justice had been doen to her stepfather who is known for his violent outbursts.

Casting her eyes on the pitiless and bleak countryside of Wednesbury she realizes that she could help right many wrongs in her community.

She makes the decision to join The Wednesbury Wives, which is a small group of women who fight for justice for the abused. They also work to make life better for those stricken by poverty who cannot help themselves.

But even in the toughest lives, there is some sliver of light and it is not long before romance and laughter find the wives in the small close-knit town.

The big question is will their friendships stand the test of time when some of their methods are questioned and most of their good deeds are called into doubt?

Lindsey Hutchinson’s novel “The Lost Sisters,” tells the story of Peg Meriweather and Orpha Buchanan who could not have had more different starts in life.

As an infant, Peg had been dumped on a doorstep with just some tatty clothes and a scruffy blanket while Orpha grew up in riches and wealth.

However, from the very first day what they had was a mother that wished them gone given how much she despised them.

Hortense Buchanan should never have been a mother since she bullies her children just like she was when she was a child. In fact, she would prefer to have finery and money over her own children.
When Orpha her daughter runs away from home she celebrates and does not care for her safety. Peg and Orpha are brought together by circumstances and it is not long before they become very close.
As they make a success of their lives in the bustle and hustle of Birmingham, Hortense realizes that she hates for her daughter to become a success when she could not achieve anything in life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lindsey Hutchinson

Leave a Reply