Book Notification

Lisa Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gardiner and Renner Books

That Darkness (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unpunished (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perish (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suffer the Children (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let Justice Descend (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Kind of Wicked (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Locard Institute Thriller Books

Publication Order of Theresa MacLean Books

Takeover (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evidence of Murder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trail Of Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defensive Wounds (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blunt Impact (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Innocence (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Close to the Bone (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mystery Tribune / Issue Nº12: Winter 2020(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lisa Black is one of the highly successful novelists from America, who likes to write her books based on the thriller, crime fiction, and mystery genres. She hails from Cleveland, Ohio and used to work as a forensic scientist over there before becoming a writer. As of today, she spends her day time working as an examiner of latent print in Cape Coral, Florida, and utilizes all the free time that she gets in writing her crime fiction books. Author Lisa is particularly popular for developing the character of Theresa MacLean in her mystery novel series of the same name. Theresa has been described as working as a forensic investigator. The other novel series that author Lisa is working on is titled as ‘Gardiner and Renner’ series. As of now, only a single book has been published in this series. Lisa is working on the next installment of the series, which is expected to be released soon. Author Lisa began her writing career in the year 2005 with the publication of her debut novel title ‘Trace Evidence’. She had written this novel under the pseudonym of Evelyn James. Lisa wrote one more book under her pen name before switching over to her original name for writing all her future books. Author Lisa says that she was influenced to start writing her own mystery novel under the influence of the popular books of prominent writers like P.D. James, Ellert Queen, and Lisa Gardner.

Before becoming a novelist, she spent five years working in a morgue. Lisa says that the days that she spent at the morgue in those five years were the happiest days of her life as she used to enjoy her work a lot. Her next job was working as a secretary for a period of 10 years. Following this, author Lisa decided to complete her graduation and eventually earned her Bachelor’s degree from the Cleved State University in the subject of Biology. Then she began working as a forensic scientist at the Coroner’s Office in Cuyahoga County. Lisa used to get assigned to analyzing the gunshot residues on the clothings, hands, DNA, hairs, and blood of the dead bodies, as well as on paint, fibers, glass, etc. As a forensic scientist, author Lisa used to primarily deal all types of trace evidences as well as the crime scenes. Her forensic career was cut short when her husband decided to leave Cleveland and move to Florida.

Consequently, author Lisa had a change of career and began working as a print examiner for the police department of the Cape Coral city in Florida. This job allowed her to work with crime scenes and fingerprints, which she continues to do even today. Other than her writing and examining works, author Lisa has been involved in a number of writers’ conventions. She has appeared on numerous panels and has delivered lectures at a number of such conventions. As a writer of crime fiction books, Lisa got the chance of becoming a member of the MWA, Sisters in Crime, as well as the International Thriller Writers. She is even associated with a number of forensic associations like the AAI and the IABPA. Author Lisa proudly says that she is a Certified Examiner of Latent Print. In her overall career as a forensic scientist, Lisa has been involved in more than 976 hours of the forensic topics’ instructions. She has testified in the court for more than 65 times.

The Theresa MacLean series written by author Lisa Black consists of a total of 7 books, which were published between the years 2008 and 2014. The initial book in this series is titled as ‘Takeover’, which was released by the William Morrow publication in the year 2008. Working as a forensic scientist, Theresa MacLean is called to the crime scene of a brutal murder on a Thursday morning. A man was found dead in front of a house located in the suburbs of Cleveland, with a bashed head. In the next 8 hours, she faces far worse things, which she had not imagined. Her fiance, who was a police detective, gets taken as a hostage in a downtown bank along with 6 other people. A couple of clever criminals had executed a mastermind robbery plan. When Theresa reaches the crime spot, she discovers that the police have called in the best hostage negotiator of the city, Chris Cavanaugh. Even though Chris had the reputation of saving all the hostages that he has dealt with, Theresa was not able to trust him fully to carry out this job safely because of his arrogant attitude. At the time of the negotiation, Theresa’s fiance gets injured and she finds an opportunity to exchange places with him. Surrounded by the armed robbers inside the bank, she uses all her experience, technical skills, and wiles to save the other hostages. However, the simple robbery soon turns into a more complex and deadly game. Everything falls on the shoulders of Theresa MacLean as she is required to decide how many more sacrifices she is willing to make in order to save innocent people’s lives along with her own.

The second book in the Theresa MacLean series was released under the title ‘Evidence of Murder’. This book was published by the William Morrow publishers in the year 2009. At the start of the story, the dead body of Jillian Perry is discovered from the Woods. She is survived by her recently wed husband and a daughter. The autopsy of her dead does not show any any foul not there were any visible signs on her body. Apparently, the death of Jillian Perry appeared to be a suicide. Initially, it appeared that Jillian might have wandered into the woods and then got succumbed to the extremely freezing weather. However, Theresa MacLean was pretty much convinced that there was still something in the case that she was not able to see. She was herself shattered emotionally due to a devastating loss, but she was focussed in paying all her attention to the Jillian Perry murder case. Soon, Theresa comes to know that Jillian’s former boyfriend has arrived to gain the custody of her daughter. Eventually, the stakes of the case keep getting lethally higher with the outcome of every twist. Now, it becomes extremely important for Theresa MacLean to find an evidence that indicate that Jillian was murdered. Otherwise, someone else might end up losing his life at the hands of a brutal killer.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa Black

Leave a Reply