Book Notification

Lisa Brackmann Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ellie McEnroe Books

Rock Paper Tiger (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hour of the Rat (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Day (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Michelle Mason Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Black Swan Rising (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Making Story: Twenty-One Writers on How They Plot(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder-a-Go-Go's(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crossing Borders(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lisa Brackmann is a New York Times bestselling author of mystery and thriller novels. She is particularly famous for writing the Ellie McEnroe book series and the standalone books Go-Between and Getaway. Brackmann’s first book featured in the Top 100 books of the year, a list compiled by Amazon. Her subsequent books were nominated for Anthony and Left Coast Crime awards. The works of author Brackmann have appeared in Travel & Leisure, Los Angeles Review, The Wall Street Journal, and CNET. Brackmann resides in San Diego. She has a great fondness for cats and keeps a few of them in her house. The other thing that she likes very much is music. Brackmann is associated with a band, which she returned to after a gap of 17 long years. Brackmann says that she has been writing for a very long time. Her first attempt at writing a novel was when she was five years old. But, when that did not work out, she got involved in academic studies and aspired to become an astronaut.

When she reached high school, Brackmann’s goal had shifted to joining politics. Brackmann was fully focussed on obtaining a degree in foreign policy. She wished to join the Foreign Service. However, as soon as she enrolled herself in college, she experienced self-realization that she needs to express herself creatively. So, Brackmann took the decision of studying film with the intention of becoming an established screenwriter in Hollywood. But, with an unexpected turn of events, Brackmann ended up in China. The surrounding was so unfamiliar and alien to her that she didn’t think she is going to last for long. However, she chose to accept the unfamiliar surroundings and challenged herself to survive despite all the odds. Brackmann didn’t make many attempts at understanding the language or customs of that place. But, when she returned home, she realized that she has gone through a lot of changes with respect to culture.

The profoundly unsettling experience enabled Brackmann to take a step forward in achieving her dream of becoming a screenwriter. After spending several years in college, she stayed in Los Angles and Venice Beach. Brackmann also joined a band and tried her hand at writing teleplays/screenplays. Even though she received very little success, Brackmann felt that she had the opportunity to learn, have fun, make friends, and enjoy. Somewhere along that journey, Brackmann realized that she had an interest in writing novels more than screenplays. Subsequently, she wrote a couple of long books for practice and fun, and then moved on to write her first novel. Soon after, she found an awesome agent in the form of Nathan Bransford, who helped her find a publisher for her first book. Following the exit of Nathan Bransford, Brackmann met a new agent named Katherine Fausset, who helped in the publishing of her later books. Brackmann takes great pride in knowing that she is a native of southern California. Currently, she divides her time between Beijing, China, and Venice, California. Brackmann is currently busy with the development of the next novel of her career. She hopes to keep entertaining the readers for as long as she can and achieve a lot more success than she has achieved so far.

The Ellie McEnroe series written by author Lisa Brackmann is comprised of a total of 3 books released between 2010 and 2015. Each and every book of this series features the chief protagonist in the role of Ellie McEnroe. She is depicted as a veteran of the Iraq war and currently lives in China as an expat. Ellie always tries to stay away from trouble in the foreign land, but she ends up landing in trouble every now and then. Brackmann has mentioned the lead characters in this series other than Ellie McEnroe in the roles of Lao Zhang, Zhang Jianli, Sidney Cao, Marsh Brody, Guwei, Meimei, Tiantian, etc. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘Rock Paper Tiger’. It was released in 2010 by the Soho Press. The story opens by showing that Ellie McEnroe makes several friends in China after her husband leaves her.

When one of her new friends disappears, she is interrogated by security organizations for information. Later, she is contacted by a group through an online channel that is known for role-playing games. The group claims to be friends of the missing friend of Ellie, Lao Zhang, and asks for assistance in finding her. As she has no idea about what to do next, she decides to keep playing. Ellie to lose herself amidst the online gamers and performance artist in the alien world of China. When she comes across a Muslim fugitive and gets involved in conspiracies, Ellie wonders who she should trust among the dealers, operatives, artists, and collectors to get out safely and also rescue her friend.

The second installment of this mystery series is entitled ‘Hour of the Rat’. It was published by Soho Crime in 2013. The setting takes place in Beijing, China and features the primary characters as Zhang Jianli and Ellie McEnroe. Initially, it is mentioned that Ellie McEnroe gets accustomed to living in Beijing. She appears to be doing great by taking up the job as a representative of the Chinese artist. Her latest job requires her to represent one such controversial artist named Zhang Jianli. Later, Zhang goes missing and her sudden disappearance attracts the authorities in China. Things become a lot more complicated when Ellie decides to help an old buddy from the Army in searching for his disappeared brother. Soon after, she finds herself trapped in a sinister conspiracy that involves eco-terrorists, a controversial biotech company, and an obsessed billionaire. In her attempt to get out of the conspiracy, Ellie McEnroe is taken on a wild pursuit through the most surreal and beautiful places of China. This book appears to be a cool travel narrative with a mystery. Author Brackmann has done a tremendous job in providing in-depth details of the plot to make it look more authentic. The plot looks awesome and is filled with exciting twists & turns. All the characters are quite engaging and help to build an intriguing mystery. This novel found a lot of takers from different parts of the world, helping author Brackmann more successful.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa Brackmann

Leave a Reply