Book Notification

Lisa de Nikolits Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hungry Mirror (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
West of Wawa (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Glittering Chaos (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witchdoctor's Bones (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between The Cracks She Fell (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nearly Girl (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Fury Like That (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rotten Peaches (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Occult Persuasion and the Anarchist's Solution (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rage Room (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything You Dream Is Real (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Whole She-Bang 3(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Laid Plans(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Grave Diagnosis(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Canadian Crime(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Spirit of 13(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lisa De Nikolits
Lisa De Nikolits is a science-fiction author best known for her bizarre occult stories. Born and raised in South Africa, the author relocated to Canada and became a citizen in 2003. Her knowledge of the African continent is outstanding, and she manages to bring all its untamed beauty to life. The talented author has also lived in other countries, including Australia, Britain, and the US and all these experiences have helped shape her into an all-rounded author. Nikolits has a background in Philosophy and English Literature, and she enjoys incorporating her knowledge into her writing. To date, Nikolits has 14 distinct works to her name. These comprise of novels and short stories.

The Nearly Girl
The Nearly Girl introduces Amelia Fisher, a talented, twisted, and kind young girl. Amelia is working to carve out a normal life for herself despite her odd family. Having a father who is an anti-social poetic genius and a mother who dedicates all her efforts to bodybuilding, it is no wonder that Amelia is out of touch with her family. For Megan and Harry, it was a case of love at first sight. However, it soon becomes clear that even such love cannot be perfect. Harry is a bit unhinged, and while Megan hoped for a change, not even a daughter out of their relationship changes anything.

Harry, Amelia’s father, refuses to be confined within a traditional family setup and mostly concentrates on his work. To make matter’s worse, Amelia starts behaving just like her father from a young age. With little else but her parent’s support, Megan turns to bodybuilding, and it seems like she is always chasing a goal that seems elusive. While Amelia’s grandparents Ed and Ethel are nurturing, they have their limits, so Amelia spends most of her time alone. An eccentric group seeing an unorthodox therapist is about to change all this. Amelia’s rather boring life is going to undergo an immense change, and this young girl’s life will forever be transformed.

First, a chance discovery has Amelia and a Mike, a fellow therapy attendee spending a lot of time together. Amelia is in love with Mike, and when their crazed doctor put their lives in danger, Amelia’s psychosis saves their lives. She will also have numerous interactions with her odd friends, and for the first time, Amelia has a chance to view life from a different angle. This book has everything from sex in the office to restraining orders. It is the story of an unusual family made of people dealing with all kinds of demons. The tension escalates as the story progresses and this combined with the flawless narration keeps you turning the pages.

The Nearly Girl is a funny story with many laugh-out-loud moments. This story comes with original characters, some humour, and loads of warmth. The pace remains steady throughout, and it is amazing how the author introduces twists when you least expect them. Dr Carroll and her madcap ground bring a unique twist to the story, and her approach to solving problems will leave you in stitches. It is fun following this group and reading about all the crazy ideas they come up with. In a world filled with overly-serious stories, this book is like a breath of fresh air. It is unusual, gonzo, and quite offbeat. It is only 300 pages long so you can enjoy it all in a sitting or two.

The Witchdoctor’s Bones
The Witchdoctor’s Bones tells the story of sixteen strangers and their experiences exploring Africa. At the start of this novel, sixteen of these tourists are in a hotel lobby in Cape town South Africa waiting for their tour guide to arrive. Jono, a Zimbabwean philosopher and historian, will be taking this group from Cape Town to the Namib desert through the untamed African terrain. Throughout their journey, they will be learning ancient secrets used by the Bushmen, including the use of superstition and witchcraft. Jono will also be explaining the reason behind the Nazi’s evil.

As the group, made of different people ranging from teenagers to retirees go through the wilderness, they will have to face their individual challenges on their own. Nothing from their first world existence would have prepared them for the challenges of the third world. The author also reveals that not all of these tourists came to Africa for fun. Some are here to kill, and they will do everything possible to accomplish their mission. Who will fall victim to their evil plans?

Join this odd group on their adventures and see how they manage to survive the harsh Namib desert and the rest of Africa’s wilderness. The group is unpredictable, bizarre, but mostly fun-loving. Some individual will engage in loathsome activities and quickly bury the consequences of shifting sands. However, there are those who come out clean despite the numerous tests on their moral character. There is also illicit love, misfired love and everything in between.

It is outstanding how the author seamlessly weaves folklore and history in this story. Somehow, she manages to bring the cast to life and ensure that their existence goes beyond this book. The characters will keep you entertained, and you will be glad you picked this book when the psychological thriller starts to unfold. Throughout the 12-day tour, the author explores the best of Africa’s destinations. The land is untamed, scenic, and simply every explorer’s dream.
The witchdoctor’s Bones is an exciting, mysterious, and dangerous story. Beyond the intriguing mystery, the author explores the dark side of humans while also showing just how healing true love can be. The eclectic characters will draw you in from the start, and despite their flaws, you cannot help but get emotionally invested. It is also possible that you will get hungry while reading this book. All the exotic dishes described here will entice you and do no good if you are reading on an empty stomach. Imagine how crazy a bus-load of sixteen strangers can get for a more than two weeks’ holiday? Well, this book is all that, and then some.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa de Nikolits

Leave a Reply