Book Notification

Lisa Gregory Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Turner's Rainbows Saga Books

as Candace Camp
The Rainbow Season (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rainbow Promise (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lisa Gregory is the pen name used by the noteworthy and successful American author named Candace Pauline Camp. Under this pseudonym, she has written a few of her most successful novels and series. Author Lisa was born on May 23, 1949 in Amarillo, Texas, U.S.A as the youngest child among the 3 siblings. As a child, she used to make up stories very often with whatever object she had around her to play with. She says that there has never been a time when she has not tried to create a story out of the things around her. The first time that she began writing her stories was when she was about 10 years old. From then on, she has continuously used the art of writing as a form of stress buster and relaxation. Author Lisa says that she was always a very shy girl and did not like to talk much or express her feelings. But, when she used to take the pen in her hand, she would express all that she had in her mind and heart in the written form.

While continuing with her hobby of writing and making up stories, author Lisa attended the college at Texas University in Austin and then the Texas State University. Eventually, she became a teacher and worked for the Eureka Springs in Arkansas. Later, author Lisa Gregory moved to North Carolina and worked in a bank. It was at that time that she discovered her love for romance stories and began writing her first romance novel. During the same time, she also began practicing law at a law school in North Carolina. While she was still studying law, author Lisa finished writing her first romance novel and went on to publish it in the year 1978. She says that it was the rigorous training that she went through during the law school that taught her the required discipline to complete her first romance novel. Later, she gave up her practice of law in order to devote all her time towards writing exciting romance novels and series. She got married in the year 1980 and is blessed with a daughter who is also an author like Lisa but likes to writer only young adult novels. Along with teaching her the tricks and trades of writing interesting and successful novels, author Lisa also encourages her daughter pursue her love for acting.

One of the successful novel series written by author Lisa Gregory is titled ‘Turner’s Rainbows Saga’. This series consists of a total of two novels published between the years 1979 and 1989. The first novel of this series was published under the title ‘The Rainbow Season’. It was released in the year 1979 by the Warner Books Inc publishing house. The plot of the first novel of the Turner’s Rainbow Saga series is set in Texas, United States and revolves around the happenings in the lives of the main characters, Luke Turner and Sarah McGowan. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Luke Turner is depicted as an outcast. He is often referred to as ‘bad blood’ by everyone around him. During the time period of his boyhood, Luke Turner had to spend his days in a tarpaper shack and went on to spend his nights in the prison cell after growing up. On the other hand, Sarah McGowan is shown as having her roots deep into the soil of Texas, Austin. She seems to be having a secret love for the husband of her sister. But, Sarah McGowan thinks of it as a shameful act and regrets to have done that even in the first place.

The shame and regret of her secret love towards her husband’s sister does not let Sarah live a happy life. Shortly after, Sarah McGowan and Luke Turner get thrown together into an unwanted and unlikely marriage because of their love and pride for the land of their hometown in Texas. This is followed by an unexpected storm in the form of spring flood that explodes their long pending passion for each other and consumes them together. The story of Luke and Sarah begins after the release of Luke from prison. A life full of abuses and dislikes had forced Luke Turner into a world of crimes and eventually he landed in a prison cell. After coming out of the prison and leaving his hateful and cynical attitude of the abusive past, he gets hired by Sarah McGowan’s father, who gives him one more chance to live a peaceful life. Luke had always wanted this chance but did not get because of the abusive people around him. Soon after Sarah McGowan’s parents get killed, she and Luke decide to get married in order to make things easy for themselves. By doing so, they inherit the farm of Sarah’s parents.

The second novel of the Turner’s Rainbows Saga series was published in the year 1989 by the Warner Books publishing house. It was titled ‘The Rainbow Promise’. The plot of this novel is once again set in Texas, Austin, United States and revolves around the happenings in the lives of the primary characters James Banks and Julia Dobson. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Julia Dobson is introduced as a beautiful woman who has the experience of love and heartbreak. She is depicted as the sister of Luke Turner and moves back to live with him in his house located in the frontier town where had spent her childhood along with Luke Turner. After returning back, Julia finds her brother to be living a happy life along with his wife Sarah, a life that he had never experienced prior to his marriage with Sarah. As Luke appeared to have been redeemed from his wild past, Julia still considered her unlucky to have been born as a Turner. She was about to marry the handsome son of Dr. Banks named James, but felt like a rag doll from the tarpaper shack and not worthy of marrying James. But, she could not avoid him for long. Julia always believed that James could not marry as she was a lowborn woman. However, she gets washed over every time she looks into his eyes. After realizing the fact that such a lover can only be found once in a lifetime, Julia Dobson decides not to let him go.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa Gregory

Leave a Reply