Nick Petrie Series

Lisa Jewell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Family Upstairs Books

The Family Upstairs (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Family Remains (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Ralph's Party Books

Ralph's Party (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
After the Party (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Thirtynothing (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One-Hit Wonder (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Roommates Wanted / 31 Dream Street (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Friend of the Family (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vince & Joy (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Truth About Melody Browne (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Making of Us (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Before I Met You (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The House We Grew Up In (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Third Wife (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girls / The Girls in the Garden (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
I Found You (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Then She Was Gone (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Watching You (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Invisible Girl (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Night She Disappeared (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
None of This Is True (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tart Noir(2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Born on July 19, 1968, Lisa Jewell is a British author, widely known for her entertaining fiction novels. Jewell’s most popular books including Thirty Nothing, Ralph’s Party and After Party, a sequel to Ralph’s party.

Recently, author Lisa Jewell published two novels, the Girls, and the House We Grew In. After completing her high school education at St. Michael’s Grammar School, Lisa Jewell joined Barnet College where she took an art foundation course. Later on, Lisa Jewell joined Epsom School of Art and Design, where she received a diploma in fashion illustration.

In the year 2008, Lisa Jewell received the Melissa Nathan Award for her book, 31 Street. Currently, Lisa Jewell is one of the most popular authors in the United Kingdom. Lisa Jewell Best Books I Found You In I Found You, author Lisa J introduces the readers to Alice.Alice lives in the British Seaside, in a small house with a number of stray animals, which she picked throughout the years and her children. For quite a long time, Alice’s love for stray animals continues to grow.

When the book begins, Alice sees a stray man sitting on a bench next to her house. Due to her inquisitive nature, Alice wants why the man was sitting on the bench, while it was straining. However, Alice knows that she should stay out of it.

In the past, Alice suffered from some of the decisions that she made. As time continues to pass by, the more her urge to know why the man is seating on the bench while it is raining. After a brief talk with the man, Alice comes to learn that the man has no idea who he is, how he got there and where he comes from.

After a lengthy conversation with the strange man, Alice decides to invite the man into her house. Apart from Alice, author Jewell introduces the readers to another character, Lily Monrose. Lily Monroe is a twenty-one-year-old, who apart from being new to the country is also a newlywed.

As dinner continues to get cold, Lisa can only help but wonder what was keeping his husband. After waiting for a while, Lisa decides to call the local police, who inform her that she needs to wait because her husband has not gone for such a long time.

Nonetheless, Lily clearly knows that something is wrong considering the fact that her husband has never come home late from work. Alice clearly knows what time her husband reports home from work such that she could even predict the exact moment that he could walk in.

When Alice eventually manages to get the police to take her seriously, the information that they give her shakes her to the core. Kirsty and Gray are teenagers who when on their annual vacation meet with a teenage boy, who begins to show interest in Kirsty.

Apart from the fact that Kirsty is young, Gray feels that there is something off about the boy. Gray could not immediately figure out what it was, but there was something about the boy that really makes him quite uncomfortable.

From the look of things, Kirsty loves this young man and their parents, on the other hand, believe that Gray is overreacting. Lisa Jewell has done a fantastic job of developing characters that are quite unforgettable. The animals in the narrative were equally entertaining, just like the humans.

Despite the fact that I Found You has several violent scenes, author Lisa Jewell does not go overboard with her descriptions. She gives more than enough details to the make the readers to hold their breath. The House We Grew Up In Both deeply moving and witty, The House We Grew Up In is author Lisa Jewell’s latest narrative of a family deeply fractured.

The Birds is a family lives a life that many families could only admire in the Cotswold. The Bird’s family cottage is filled with children’s drawing and brick-a-brack. Father Colin is quite thoughtful while Beth and Meg, her two girls and Rhys and Rory, the twin boys are kind, clever and muddy. At the center of the bohemian world is mother Lorelei, whose love for beautiful things and beauty hides her obsession which turns everything in her life into an unfathomable mess.

The House We Grew Up In begins in the year 2011 when a now fully grown up Meg enters the house she grew up in. Meg’s mother Lorelei passed away recently due to starvation. Thus, Meg is back in town to sort things out.

The once picturesque house is now impenetrable, filled with useless baubles, piles of hoarding and towers of newspapers. As she enters the house, Meg begins to recall her childhood days and how their house used to be one of the best in Cotswold. Meg also recalls one Easter Sunday where the extended Birds clan came together for Easter Egg hunts.

While engaged in Easter activities, Rhys is found hanging from his room’s rafters. Rhys’s apparent suicide sinks everyone; Meg leaves her family and forms a new one with Bill; Rory, on the other hand, decides to run off to a commune before ending up in a Thai prison, Lorelei manages to force Bill out so that Vicky, her new lover can move into the house.

In the novel, In the House, We Grew Up in, author Lisa Jewell’s tackles so many difficult topics and manages to put a face to them. Infidelity, hoarding, same-sex relationship, and denial all wind in the main character’s family. Author Lisa Jewell narrates all these issues in multiple perspectives, in real time and flashbacks.

Many at times telling this issues in multiple perspectives does not normally work but in, In the House We Grew Up In it did. Jewell shows the readers that people react and interpret differently to similar events. With that said, the writing was done brilliantly, while the characters were well crafted.

The readers will feel the tension between each of these characters and the strong bonds which come from families. Overall, The House We Grew Up In is a moving and highly entertaining book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa Jewell

Leave a Reply