Book Notification

Lisa Shearin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Raine Benares Books

Magic Lost, Trouble Found (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Armed & Magical (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Demons (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bewitched & Betrayed (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Con & Conjure (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Spell Breaks Loose (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Bells, Magic Spells (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure & Treason (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruins and Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of SPI Files Books

The Grendel Affair (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon Conspiracy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brimstone Deception (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghoul Vendetta (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Myth Manifestation (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Phoenix Illusion (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Solstice Countdown (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gorgon Agenda (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Aurora Donati Books

The Entity Game (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Lisa Shearin is a very well-known author in the fantasy genre. She has been writing as a side-job for many years, and is most well-known for her series of six comedic fantasy novels known as the Raine Benares series. She is married, has dogs that enjoy using her lap as a pillow, and currently resides in North Carolina. In her spare time, Lisa Shearin loves to sing, write, read, and fence.

The Early and Personal Life of Lisa Shearin

One of the strongest passions that Lisa Shearin has is her pets. She loves animals, especially dogs. She has a strong inkling towards greyhounds. She loves being able to spoil them in retirement since they were worked so hard during their careers. Giving them all of the spoils that she can offer, brings her and her husband, great joy.

She and her husband live on a farm. They enjoy farm life out in North Carolina, letting the dogs run free, and watching the splendor of nature all around them. Lisa Shearin is a proofreader and editor for a freelance advertising agency, and worked corporate gigs before this. She has done everything from writing numerous types of advertising and marketing materials to editing a magazine.

Lisa Shearin is also an avid collector of both new, and vintage, fountain pens. She collects them wherever her travels take her, and she proudly displays her collection at her home.

The Raine Benares Sextet – Book One

The first book in the series is called Magic Lost, Trouble Found. It revolves around a young girl named Raine Benares, who has some basic sorcery seeking skills, but nothing out of the ordinary. That all changes when she comes across an amulet that her friend and current employee, Quentin Rand, steals from a local necromancer’s home. She notices that trouble follows this amulet, but refuses to allow Quentin to deal with all of the trouble that follows the amulet on his own.

There is an extensive list of characters to get to know in this series, but Lisa Shearin takes a lot of time explaining the differences between the characters and the races. She also takes a lot of time to help you become engulfed in the environment that she creates. The world each of these characters reside in comes to life as you spend more time in it with them. You will soon be able to feel the same feelings as the characters during their evolution, and begin to realize when each character is slightly off from normal.

The rest of the book follows her journey of trying to keep Quentin Rand out of trouble, and figuring out how to help. She realizes that this amulet increases her overall seeking powers, allowing her to find nearly anyone or anything that has gone missing, and it eventually leads her into a psychic connection with a rock, that goes by the name of Saghred. She struggles with this connection, and trying to help Quentin, and balance her life throughout the entire story. She also finds herself attracted to two men, Mychael, and Tam.

The Raine Benares Sextet – Book Two

The second book in the series is called Armed & Magical. It picks up almost exactly where book one left off, and continues the struggle that poor Raine Benares is going through. She is still stuck in her psychic connection with Saghred the rock, and trying to keep control over the power that goes along with being in this connection. There are many people out there who would love to take over the power that this rock wields due to its millennia of existence, and she must keep both herself, and Saghred, safe during her move to Mid in her attempt to sort out her life.

The plot of this book keeps up with the pace of book one, which was quick in its own right. It keeps you guessing as you read on, and leaves you wondering just what is going to happen to this young girl next. Just when you think she may catch a break, another type of trouble comes into focus, and Raine and her friends all end up having to make precarious decisions that risk their life and freedom if they make the wrong decision.

You will see even more of the sarcastic side of Raine come out in this book, along with the power struggles and the same chaos that you have come to expect from this series. You will witness the struggle to remain free of the dark forces that Raine has come to expect as life goes along, and you will also see her doing her best to try and keep her friends protected. You will see Raine spending more time with both of the men who have caught her attention, but don’t expect her to be making up her mind any time soon. Raine takes the role she has assumed seriously, and remains loyal to the cause.

Life After Raine Benares

Since writing the first two books, Lisa Shearin has gone on to finish the sextet and brought the series full circle. In order to find out how much power Raine had in the end, and which man she chose, you will have to go through and read the full series. She plans to continue writing in her spare time in the future, and is not sure if she will only stay within the fantasy genre or not. While she loves making all aspects of her fantasy stories come to life, she also knows how in-depth that planning is.

If you enjoy reading fantasy stories that are vividly brought to life, then you are very likely to enjoy the books written by Lisa Shearin. She is able to provide a well thought out world that each of the characters makes work with their dilemmas. She is also able to bring the politics of her fantastical characters into focus in a meaningful and organized manner. If these avenues of reading are something that appeal to you, then give a book by Lisa Shearin a try today.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lisa Shearin

Leave a Reply