Book Notification

Lish McBride Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Firebug Books

Publication Order of Necromancer Books

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Necromancer (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Necromancing the Stone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heads Will Roll (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freaks & Other Family: Two Stories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of An Uncanny Romance Books

Rough Around the Hedges (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Curses (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little Too Familiar (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red in Tooth and Claw (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Lish McBride
Lish McBride is a young adult writer best known for her first novel, Hold Me Closer, Necromancer. This book was voted the best book by the American Library Association and was also a finalist for the YALSA award. McBride spent most of her younger days in the Pacific Northwest. She later moved to New Orleans for her university education and graduated with an MFA in fiction. Currently, the talented author lives in Seattle with her cats, Chihuahua, and family. She enjoys intelligent conversations, reading novels and the occasional comic, and watching zombie movies.

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer comes first in the Necromancer series. The book introduces Samhain Corvus LaCroix, otherwise known as Sam. Life seems normal for Sam even though he has never really fit in. As a college dropout, Sam feels that he is doing okay with his job at the fast-food joint. At least he can afford to pay his rent and doesn’t live with his mum. His free time is spent slacking, and he is generally happy to have friends and family around him. This is until a prank draws him to Douglas, a guy he would describe as creepy. His chance meeting with this man turns his life upside down, and soon enough, Sam doesn’t recognize who he is anymore.

Douglas is a necromancer, which means that he can raise the dead. He charges for this service, but he thinks that a partner would be good for business. Sam discovers that he is just like Douglas, and he can summon spirits whenever he wants. Even before he can get over this new discovery, Sam is once again confronted by Douglas, who wants to join forces with him. Failure to do so would mean that he would have to face death or worse. Can Sam turn down Douglas’s offer without having to suffer any consequence? How about his special powers? How can he master his powers and make the best out of them?

Douglas only offers Sam a week to decide whether to team up with him or not, even though it all sounded like a threat. During this one-week period, Sam will need enough friends if he is to overcome the nightmare that has become his life. It is impossible for one person to deal with an unexpected attack in an alley, a head that follows him everywhere, and the discovery about having superpowers. While most of this story is about bringing the dead to life, it is quite hilarious. There will be many moments of laughter as you follow smart-mouthed Sam, his little sister, and his friends through their bizarre adventures.
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer is ideal for those moments you want to enjoy a super funny, entertaining, and fast-paced story. You will immediately love the protagonist and a good number of the support characters and get emotionally invested in them. There are a few unexpected twists, and the tension will rise to exhilarating levels. The battle scene at the end is epic, and the author leaves you yearning for the next installment. If you are a dark comedy fan, you will love this book. The witches, necromancers, werewolves, fey, and evil gnomes add a lot of character to the story, not to mention the perfect balance between mystery, action, and romance.

Firebug comes first in the Firebug series. The book features Ava, a firebug who can start fires with her mind. While Ava loves everything about her special abilities, she is stuck in a contract with a magical mafia named Coterie. Her job involves doing the dirty job for her employer, and as a hitman, things get nastier than the day. She cannot also forget that her boss, Venus, is responsible for her mother’s death. While she hates every part of her job, Ava has a hard time standing up for herself. The mafia can be brutal, and anyone who doesn’t follow instructions is punished. However, when Venus orders Ava to kill a friend of her family, she rebels. She knows that saying no to Coterie comes with severe consequences, but she will not be responsible for this death.

To get some time to think about their next steps, Ava and her friends embark on a journey. The idea is to ensure that deaths remain at a minimum and stay one step ahead of the Coterie. Ava and her friends know that they must find other allies if they are to make a stand against the mafia, but this will take some time and good planning. The action kicks off from page one, making it feel like you are starting the story from the middle. Everything unfolds fast, and you will barely get a moment to catch a breath before another surprise is thrown your way. You will also love the great friendship between Ava, Lock, and Ezra.
Ava is a lovable character despite her flaws. She is sarcastic, snarky, and realistic, and the love she has for her loved ones is immense. However, she doesn’t always speak her mind, and this often gets her into trouble. The supporting characters are just as intriguing. From the steady Lock, who is comfortable staying in the background when necessary, to the persistent Ezra, these characters are sure to stick to your mind. The slew, bunch, peck, and bushel also add a lot to this story. This book also comes with a good number of snort-worth lines and an extremely dark side that makes it even more exciting.
Firebug is a funny, intriguing, and highly entertaining read. Ava is the perfect heroine, and the action here will keep you glued to the pages. The paranormal world created is interesting, and it is exciting meeting all the creatures and humans with unique abilities. It is refreshing that the book doesn’t end with a cliffhanger. However, do not be surprised if the ending sends you searching for the next installment in the series. If you want a quick and dirty read, this book is perfect.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lish McBride

Leave a Reply