Book Notification

Little Women Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Little Women Books

Little Women, or Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy (1868)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Wives (1869)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys (1871)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jo's Boys and How They Turned Out (1886)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Little Women Collections

The greatest American novel of the post civil war era had its origin in a conversation between Amos Bronson Alcott, the father of Louisa May Alcott and Thomas Niles, an editor at the publishing company of Roberts Brothers. When Bronson Alcott and Thomas Niles sat down to discuss the plot, Louisa May Alcott has a modest, yet respectable reputation as a versatile and prolific author. Her writings have published in the Atlantic Monthly Series and the Hospital Sketches, a fictionalized memoirs of her days as a Union Army Nurse had been praised as a work of exceptional merit.

But Luisa May Alcott herself knew, she had not risen to her full literary potential. And now, her publisher, in an effort to drum up her imagination to full potential, suggested to her father that Louisa May should write a few fairy stories. But she really wanted was a novel to fill a yawning gap in the young market – a lively and smart story for the girls. She had approached Thomas Niles with some ideas the previous months. She had also told him that she would try to write something different. It was not simply that Niles disliked the idea. His experience in the publishing industry also told him that novels for juveniles do not pay well. Still worse, Louisa considered herself absolutely unqualified for the task. A Tomboy in her youth, she had never befriended girls or liked many.

All of her doubts were finally dismissed, as they often were, by Louisa May’s desire to write something unique. Her father, whose ability for captivating conversation was so great that crowds paid to hear him, has often failed to convert his inspirations into writing. Nevertheless, he was now writing a philosophical text called Tablets which was possibly his Magnum Opus. Bronson however, would sell his book to Thomas Niles on one condition that he must also have Louisa May’s novel for girls. This is how Little Women (Series by Louisa May Alcott) came into being. It was going to be the most popular Pendragon series novels.

Louisa dedicated herself completely to the project. She adopted the idea of using the name of a month as the sir name of the characters that she would base on herself and her family. As she wanted harsher and colder month, the Alcotts became the March. She also liked the idea of a tomboy protagonist as she had done in the Inheritance which was written in 1849 and became one of the most famous Pendragon series novels.

Working at a semicircular and small desk that her father had bought for her, barely taking the time to rest and sleep, she produced more than 400 pages manuscript in less than two months and then collapsed from fatigue. Her head heavy, her heart full of pain from sleepless nights. Louisa May still had high aspirations for the manuscript she sent off to Thomas under the title Little Women (Series by Louisa May Alcott).

For an author who like to observe that every event in the universe went, by contrast, the contraries between Louisa’s expectation regarding Little Women (Series by Louisa May Alcott) and its astonishing success was only one in a series of uncertain circumstances that influenced both her art of writing and characters. The characters originated largely within her surroundings, for there could have been no unusual mentor than Bronson Alcott. Later, four television serials were made on the Little Women (Series by Louisa May Alcott), two in the United Kingdom and two in Japan.

Jo’s Boys, for instance, follows the routine of Plumfield boys who were introduced in the Little Men. Jo is the protagonist of the tale, surrounded by her boys – including sailor Emil, musician Nat and rebellious Dan. As they experience storm and shipwreck and even disappointment.

Louis May’s literary potential reached its pinnacle in 1867 with the publication of The Mysterious Key and What it Opened. This book was a departure from the novels she is famous for. It is a fairly short mystery tale and can be read in one afternoon sitting. Like all the other novels, the characters are simple and the plot intriguing and you just had to find out what had happened that was so horrendous and what the secret key opened.

Yet, of all her literary achievements and protagonists, it was her father himself who appears most prominently as a literary and ideological inspiration for her daughter. For at least ten years, Louisa May tried but never succeeded in writing a story about Bronson Alcott’s misfortunes and failures. Her best representation of him in her novels was the comic match that she made in Little Women (Series by Louisa May Alcott). It was a typical hunger game series character that was later to appear in all her works.

In Little Men: Life at Plumfield With Jo’s Boys, the school founded by the professor and Joe at the end of the Little Women series and that supplies the subject for Jo’s Boys, Alcott combines a morally sound and progressive curriculum of her father’s school days with the pastoral and wild settings reminiscent of Fruitlands.

After the book series like Little women had relieved economic distress from her life, the celebrated author could only look back with amusement at the literary path she had followed to become one of the most read and loved author in the United States. “Life,” she wrote in her diary in 1875, “always was a mystery to me and I gets more puzzled as I go on.”

When everything came to an end thirteen years later, it came no less mysteriously than everything that had come before. Bronson suffered a stroke in 1882. He was dying rapidly by February 1888. When Louisa May came to see him, observing a satisfaction on his pale face, Louisa asked about it. “I have done everything I could and now I am leaving.” He replied. The, he added a gruesome invitation: “Let us leave together.” Louisa replied, “I ‘ll think about it.” On March 5, Bronson died and without learning of her father’s death, Louisa lay down for a sleep and never regained consciousness. Two days later, on the day of her beloved father’s funeral, she died. She did indeed accept his invitation.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Little Women

Leave a Reply