Book Notification

Livia Blackburne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Midnight Thief Books

Poison Dance (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Thief (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daughter of Dusk (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Queen's Council Books

Rebel Rose (By: Emma Theriault) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Feather and Flame (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Realm of Wonders (By: Alexandra Monir) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sword In Slumber (By: Sara Raasch) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rosemarked Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Clementine and Danny Save the World (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Picture Books

I Dream of Popo (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Livia Blackburne is a young adult fantasy and general fantasy fiction author, even though she has been known to branch out.

The author was born in Taiwan, grew up in Albuquerque, and spent much of her twenties living in Boston. It was while she was living in Boston when she got her Biochemical Sciences bachelor’s degree from Harvard

Livia Blackburne would then go to MIT where she got her doctorate in cognitive neuroscience.

She got started writing Midnight Thief her debut novel while she was still in high school. Back then, it was the only way she could think of getting out of having to attend mandatory camping.

During this time, she wrote 60 pages and as would be expected they were horrible. It would take a dozen years before she finished writing her novel and she often used it as a therapy when she was doing her doctoral research.

The work was published in 2014 and went on to become a huge bestseller. She has said that the most significant influence on her writing and reading was Tamora Pierce.

Growing up, Livia Blackburne was a voracious reader that was always hiding books from her parents. She was often found reading them when she should have been taking care of her many other responsibilities.

During her high school years, she did a lot of writing but could not find any time to write or read fiction in college. As a twenty-six-year-old, she had a quarter-life crisis and realized she had to make time for her dream or she would never achieve it.

One thing led to another and it was not long before the book was published. For the most part, she used fiction writing as an outlet for the many stresses that she had when she was doing her doctorate degree.

Livia believes that her psychology and neuroscience background makes it possible to have great perspectives when she is writing. For instance, some readers have praised her novels for having some very well-rounded villains.

While they usually engage in the despicable, it is clear why they would consider themselves heroes and how they came to be that way.

Livia Blackburne’s road to publication was just as interesting as that of many authors. The author finished writing Midnight Thief at the tail end of 2011` and decided that she would rather self-publish as opposed to going with traditional publishers.

She had been reading a lot about the publishing industry and the many changes therein. She learned everything she could so that she could finally control her own destiny.

Livia got a lot of support from her critique group but many asked her to send out a few queries to editors and agents. Livia sent out her queries to agents in batches of ten and then would sit down to adjust her writing based on the feedback.

She preferred to send in many batches as she did not care much if she failed. It was not long before someone offered to represent her.

What got her interested in traditional publishing, in the end, was that she had several conversations with agents who believed her manuscript was very strong.
Working with an editor at a publishing house, she was sure that she could have a very strong work. While she could have self-published or hired an editor freelance as well, she was at the time unwilling to spend the time or money to get a good one.

“Midnight Thief” by Livia Blackburne is a brilliant mystery novel that introduces Kyra. Living on the tough streets of Forge has taught her how to stretch the little money she has.

When that is not enough, she also has the uncanny ability to bypass guards and scale walls so that she can take whatever she needs.

However, Kyra is soon offered a lucrative job by the leader of the Assassins Guild but she hesitates. She knows how to take care of herself and is not too sure she is ready to play by his rules.

But he is a darkly attractive man that is very persistent and Kyra finds it hard to resist his pull. Tristam of Brancel is a young man on a mission.

Following the brutal murder of Demon Riders his best friend, Tristam vows that he is going to take out the clan of deranged warriors that killed him.
However, the more he investigates the more he finds his efforts neutralized by a talented thief who can sneak past Palace defenses at will.

When Tristam and Kyra are thrown together by fate, they discover that their best chance at vengeance and survival might be teaming up despite being bitter enemies.

With their loyalties severely tested, they discover a dark secret about her past which threatens to change both their lives.
It is an arresting story that has a captivating world full of intrigues and danger.

Livia Blackburne’s novel “Daughter of Dusk” is a brilliant novel that continues to follow Kyra. When she learned the truth regarding her bloodline, she felt like she was some kind of monster.

While she has made a shaky alliance with the Palace, Kyra still needs to hide her identity if she is not to be hunted and killed like many of her Demon Rider relatives.

James the imprisoned assassin and Tristam are among the few people who know about her bloodline. But then Tristam tells her about his own bloodline and Kyra is no longer so sure that he can be trusted.

Since James’s fate may be decided at the Palace, Kyra fears he may just sacrifice her to save his own life.

With tensions rising within the council in Forge coupled with rising Demon Rider attacks in the surrounding villages, Kyra knows she needs to do something to save her city.

But she is walking a very dangerous line. She is not so sure that her Makvani blood will be enough to save her life or just kill her.

It is a spellbinding story that follows Tristam and Kyra as they grapple with vengeful opponents, shocking deceit, and changing allegiances.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Livia Blackburne

Leave a Reply