Book Notification

Liz Evans / Patricia Grey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of PI Grace Smith Books

Who Killed Marilyn Monroe? (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
JFK Is Missing! (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barking! (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sick as a Parrot (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cue the Easter Bunny (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coldest Case (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caught in the Act (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blindsided (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heir Apparent (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Mess With Mrs In Between! (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DS Bailey Books

as Patricia Grey
Taboo (As:Patricia Grey) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Junction Cut (As:Patricia Grey) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Balaclava Row (As:Patricia Grey) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Hope Station (As:Patricia Grey) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cutter's Wharf (As:Patricia Grey) (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Liz Evans/ Patricia Grey
Author Liz Evans has worked in all kinds of companies from Japanese banks to plastic moulding manufacturers to BBC Radio and film production.

She was born in Highgate, and attended school in Barnet and lives in Hertfordshire.

She writes the “Grace Smith” series, and publishes it under her own name. This series began publication in the year 1997, when “Who Killed Marilyn Monroe?” was released. She publishes stand alone novels under the name Patricia Grey. Evans’ debut novel, “Junction Cut” was published in the year 1994 under the “Patricia Grey” name.

“Who Killed Marilyn Monroe?” is the first novel in the “Grace Smith” series, which was released in the year 1997. Marilyn Monroe has just been killed. Grace Smith, an ex cop turned private investigator, is the one hired to find and catch the killer. There is no all expenses paid trips off to California in this case, Marilyn Monroe was someone’s donkey, but since Grace is much too broke to turn down this bizarre request.

While the case progresses, Grace finds that she is being pulled further into the mystery that surrounds a young prostitute being killed. She was killed the exact same night as Marilyn. Pitting her wits against a twisted criminal mind on top of trying to keep a step ahead of the cops proves to be challenging her. While the tale of betrayal and greed unfolds, she quickly realizes that her own life is being put in danger.

This is a great way to start off a series, as Grace is an excellent character, and this is an enjoyable mystery with some humorous writing. Liz Evans has put this tale together nicely, and it makes for a fascinating story. The characters have been developed with some loving care and it makes you care for them as well as the story being told.

“JFK is Missing!” is the second novel in the “Grace Smith” series, which was released in the year 1998. PI Grace Smith returns, walking the streets of a seedy town on the southern coast of England, in Seatoun.

Client Henry Summerstone asked her to find someone missing, but he really has no idea of where she works, what she looks like, or even what her name is. He has been blind for years. Matter of fact, he is not totally sure that she is truly missing. He is offering cash, which is something that is hard for Grace to turn down.

She quickly gets a lead on the girl, several it turns out, but instead of any of them leading her on to Miss X, Grace winds up caught in family feuds, government fraud, and simple cold blooded murder.

The book is amusing, as the two cases are brilliantly written, it will leave you guessing and push you to the edge of your seat until the end.

“Don’t Mess with Mrs. In-Between” is the third novel in the “Grace Smith” series, which was released in the year 2000. Barbra Delaney walks into Grace Smith’s office, and while staring her in the eye, tells her that she is going to leave all her money to Grace when she dies. Grace thinks she could be hallucinating. This is, after all, the stuff that daydreams are made of, after all.

Then Barbra gives Grace pictures of three total strangers, and has her locate their addresses and names so she can will all her dear dead husband’s goods to them. Grace finds all the lucky legatees, she finds that the trio has reasons of their own for not wanting Grace digging into their lives. A series of violent events culminates in a horrible death. It looks like somebody is not stopping at nothing, not even killing, to stop Grace finding out the whole truth.

This is another excellent book from this author. Evans’ humor is just perfect, and she writes up some excellent plots. She comes up with some excellent characters, too.

“Barking!” is the fourth novel in the “Grace Smith” series, which was released in the year 2001. Stuart Robbins, a mild mannered and shy accountant, is having some nightmares where he remembers committing a brutal murder. He wants to know if this actually happened. Grace is unwilling to take the case on due to the fact that murders usually mean that there is typically someone ready to kill, and she would much rather pass on that.

However, with these killings comes a difference, seeing as they took place almost thirty years before Stuart was even born. Stuart becomes “Joe” in his dreams, and has some vivid memories of living as a hop farmer’s son, which is something that Stuart swears he knows nothing about.

Despite any of her skepticism, Grace has not ever been able to resist the pull of an unlimited expense account, and takes the case. Then, she finds that her client is far from what she first thought he was.

Evans has written another funny mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Readers found this to be an interesting mystery that had a nice side order of humor. The twists and turns keep you guessing, and the finale is something you will not see coming. These characters are well made and likable.

“Sick as a Parrot” is the fifth novel in the “Grace Smith” series, which was released in the year 2004. Hanna Contil was adopted when she was born, and she tries to trace her family. She finds a mom who, twenty years ago, was convicted of murder. Hanna is convinced that her mom is innocent, and hires Grace Smith to prove it.

Grace finds the story of Janet Hepuburn’s messy murder. Janet taught at St. Martin’s Comprehensive, but there are many that want her to stop her digging. Possibly on Grace’s side is Betterman177 (a mysterious emailer who sends her some clues about the goings on at St. Martin’s twenty years ago) and a cop with a shady past.

To add to this, Grace has been tricked into taking care of a psychotic parrot as well as Terry Rosco, who is the most chauvinistic police officer in Seatoun. He is also trying to move into the spare room of Grace’s. There is, of course, someone trying to kill her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Liz Evans / Patricia Grey

Leave a Reply