Book Notification

Liz Jensen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Egg Dancing (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ark Baby (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paper Eater (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
War Crimes For The Home (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ninth Life of Louis Drax (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Dirty Little Book Of Stolen Time (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rapture (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Uninvited (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Beacons: Stories for our Not So Distant Future(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Liz Jensen is one of the renowned authors from The United Kingdom, who is famous for writing successful novels based on the historical fiction, literature & fiction, science fiction, and fantasy genres. She has written a number of standalone books in her career, many have of which are widely popular. Some of the well known novels written by author Jensen include Egg Dancing, Ark Baby, Paper Eater, etc. Author Jensen was born in the year 1959 in Oxfordshire. She grew up in a mixed cultural environment as her mother is an Anglo-Moroccan and her father is a Danish immigrant. Before the start of her writing career, author Jensen used to work as a journalist. She was mainly employed in the Far East. Later, she joined the BBC to work as a Radio and TV producer. She has even worked as a sculptor for a short period in France. It was during her time as a sculptor that she attempted to write her first book, which was later released as Egg Dancing in the year 1995. The immense praise and positive response to the novel forced author Jensen to return to London and start working as a full time writer. After three years a lot of thinking and head scratching, she was able to publish the second book of her writing career. It was titled as Ark Baby. Several other stand alone novels followed over the course of the next few years of her career. The 9th book written by her, titled ‘The Ninth Life of Louis Drax’ was used as a basis for a film adaptation. The movie was recently released in the month of September, 2016. In the year 2005, author Jensen was selected as a fellow member of the Royal Literature Society.

A few of the books written by author Jensen have been nominated for several prestigious awards, including the Guardian Fiction Award and the Orange Prize for Best Fiction. Jensen is married to a fellow novelist, essayist, and travel writer named Carsten Jensen. The couple is blessed with two beautiful children. As of today, author Jensen lives along with her loving husband beautiful kids in London. She likes to spend most of her time writing novels and doing the character descriptions for her future novels. Whenever she is not busy with her writing works, she likes to indulge herself in some or the other creative activities. Jensen also likes to enjoy relaxing time along with her family. Author Jensen is known to span science fiction, family drama, black comedy, satire, psychological suspense, and historical fantasy with the help of her critically acclaimed imaginative ability. She is known to have lived in several countries on account of her work assignments prior to the start of her career as an author. A few of the countries that she has traveled to include Taiwan, Hong Kong, The United Kingdom, France, etc. Most of the books written by author Jensen are released in the United Kingdom by the Bloomsbury publishers. The husband of author Jensen, Carsten Jensen, is also an international bestselling author. His book ‘We, The Drowned’ is widely popular. Apart from writing novels, author Jensen keeps herself busy with taking creative writing classes in the UK as well as in her hometown in Copenhagen, Denmark. One of her popular works is used for academic study by Helen Mundler and has been published by the Camden House, New York.

One of the successful books written by author Liz Jensen is titled as ‘The Uninvited’. It was released in the year 2012 by the Bloomsbury publication. The beginning of the book shows that a 7 year old girl shoots her grandmother with a nail gun intentionally. The experts believe that it was merely an accident, but they seem to be wrong. As more and more cases of children killing their family members continue to come up, an anthropologist named Hesketh Lock seems to be busy with a mystery of his own to investigate. He is required to solve a unique scandal related to the timber industry in Taiwan. On the other hand, Hesketh seems to be suffering from Asperger’s Syndrome, due to which he has not been able to make a good relationship. But, his talent in observing behavioral patterns is well known. Back home, many atrocities seem to be taking place, but there does not appear any connection between them and the Asian case being handled by Hesketh Lock. Also, he does not see any connection of the case with the odd behavior of his stepson named Freddy. However, when his contact in Taiwan dies suddenly and more sabotage attacks and child violence cases begin to rise, Hesketh is forced to believe that there might be a possible connection. These incidences seem to defy his rational principles on which he seems to have staked his career, his life, as well as his father-son relationship with Freddy. Author Jensen has written the novel partly as a psychological thriller and partly a a dystopian nightmare, which was highly appreciated by one and all.

One of the other successful books written by author Liz Jensen is titled as ‘Ark Baby’. It was released by the Overlook Books in the year 1998. At the start of the book, author Jensen has described that 5 years have passed since infertility was spread all over the land due to a millennial downpour mysteriously. This crisis of fertility continues to deepen, but the veterinarian Bobby Sullivan seems to be busy with other things in his life. He is busy trying to follow the orders of a husband to kill a monkey called Giselle, which is the cherished baby substitute of the wife of the client. He stops the work in between suddenly and decides to start a veterinary office in a tiny town near the coast. Soon after, he learns that he has not actually escaped from his nightmare. Later, Bobby Sullivan comes to know that the town is being haunted by a Victorian freak named Tobias Phelps. The life of this freak appears ton be linked directly to the evolution of several events the confound Bobby into the modern world. In the end, the novel becomes an explosively funny and wild farce, involving three women, two men, and Queen Victoria’s bestiary. The climax of the book shows that a hundred and fifty years of magic, religion, logic, and science, connect to generate more thrill and suspense in the plot.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Liz Jensen

Leave a Reply