Book Notification

Liz Lucas Cozy Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Liz Lucas Mystery Books

Murder in Cottage #6 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder and Brandy Boy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death Card (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Bed & Breakfast (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blue Butterfly (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Big T Lodge (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Calistoga (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in San Francsico (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murdered by Superstition (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murdered by Prejudice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murdered by Success (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Forest (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murdered for Millions (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Largely writing from her own experience, American author Dianne Harman really is a gifted writer when it comes to writing cozy mystery novels. Definitely knowing the genre both inside and out, she takes her own unique perspective and uses it to shape the genre into something new and interesting. Witty and fun, she really understands what it is that her readers want with each book and how to keep them returning for each subsequent installment. This has proven to be a highly successful formula when it comes to her many series as well, with their ongoing mysteries and well defined characters. One particularly iconic character of hers is that of Liz Lucas of the much loved ‘Liz Lucas Cozy Mystery’ series of novels. Following the character in her home in north of San Francisco along the coastline, the series largely takes place in a woodland spa called the Red Cedar Spa. Solving mysteries, she becomes somewhat of an amateur sleuth as the series progresses, with a different mystery each installment. There are also a number of other characters who get involved too, including her private investigator boyfriend Jake and her two dogs.

Producing a total of eight books in the series so far, with more set to come in the future, there’s plenty of room to continue growing indefinitely. Beginning in 2015, it started with the novel ‘Murder in Cottage #6’ and went on from there, with plenty more being released in quick succession. There’s also a number of omnibus editions too, with books one through to three being collated in the collection ‘Liz Lucas Cozy Mysteries #1’, along with books one to six gathered in the ‘Liz Lucas Cozy Mysteries Super Series’ collection. All of this marks it as one of her largest series to date, as it looks set to grow and grow on into the foreseeable future

Murder in Cottage #6

First arriving on the 18th of March in 2015, this was the original book to come out in the long-running ‘Liz Lucas Mystery’ series. Setting up the overall premise it would establish the leading protagonist of Liz Lucas herself for the very first time and how she operates. Getting to the heart of her character, it provides a clear sense of who she is, along with providing her with her very first mystery to solve.

Working as a cozy mystery novel, this really works in differentiating itself from the rest of Harman’s back catalog of work. Knowing the character, Harman really manages to convey a true sense of her conviction, setting her apart as a strong and independent individual. With the action itself taking part in North San Francisco this time as well, she really brings the spa to life too, establishing it as almost a character in of itself. For any readers looking for a casual read it’s ideal, allowing them to pick it up quickly and easily, whilst also providing an arc for future novels too.

Feeling herself to have been given a new lease on life at the age of 52, Liz Lucas is all set with her new and successful spa business located within the forest area found along the coast of North San Francisco. Disturbing her newfound sense of peace though, a body is discovered in cottage #6 there, as a guest is found to have been murdered. This then leaves her to undertake finding the killer herself, as she hopes to restore the reputation of her business and ensure justice prevails. Accompanied by a colorful cast of characters, including her two dogs Winston and Brandy Boy, she aims separate the suspects from the culprit. Was it Tiffany the glass collector, or the mayor who is the dead woman’s husband? Why did they kill them and will they strike again? Will they find out who really committed the murder in cottage #6?

Murder and Brandy Boy

Following on from the previous title in the ‘Liz Lucas Cozy Mystery’ series of books, this continues with the second mystery. Initially brought out on the 18th of May in 2015, it was released only a few months after the first, carrying on in much the same vein as before. It would also develop the character of Liz Lucas herself, along with that of the supporting cast of characters as well.

Coming a long way since the first novel, many of the characters have evolved here, whilst also remaining true to the core principals of the series. Solving mysteries is first and foremost what this is about, but that doesn’t mean that it can’t take things forwards and develop them. The Red Cedar Spa has also become the main central point for much of the action too, with it becoming just as familiar in the readers minds as it is with the characters themselves. Whilst each mystery works as a stand-alone, again there are plenty of elements and factors for returning fans as well, with it providing something for everyone.

Hiring an intern this time, Liz Lucas brings him in to help her organize the Red Cedar Spa and make it a success with his family meals. That’s when tragedy strikes though, and he crashes a car off a cliff just before his graduation, leading them all to question whether or not it was murder or suicide. With a whole host of suspects once again, ranging this time from Brent on his football scholarship, to Nerdy Birdie the computer genius at the high-school, she must locate the real killer. Not just that, but Brandy Boy, the canine mascot for the spa now, is soon to become a nationwide hero all of his very own. Who really committed the crime though? Can Liz find them and bring them to justice before it’s too late? What happened with the murder and Brandy Boy?

The Liz Lucas Cozy Mystery Series

Clearly a master of her craft, Dianne Harman really has a proper handle on what she is doing here, as she is definitely within her element with this series. Using her now trademark humor and wit, she deftly handles the mystery and intrigue, whilst simultaneously developing the characters throughout. The mysteries themselves are also very well paced, maintaining a sense of tension and down-to-earth realism continually throughout. It is also the secondary characters that highlight the story, not just that of Liz Lucas herself, as not one of them is wasted, with each of them being integral. As a strong collection of stories, these really manage to make the most of their premise overall, something that will continue for a long time yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Liz Lucas Cozy Mystery

Leave a Reply