Book Notification

Liz Talbot Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Liz Talbot Mystery Books

Lowcountry Boil (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bombshell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boneyard (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bordello (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Book Club (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bonfire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bookshop (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boomerang (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boondoggle (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boughs of Holly (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Postcards From Stella Maris (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Getaway (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Liz Talbot Mysteries are a series of mystery romance novels by Agatha Award-winning novelist Susan Boyer. The first novel in the Liz Talbot mysteries that was also the author’s debut novel was “Lowcountry Boil” that was first published in 2012, garnering much fan popularity and critical acclaim. So good was the novel, that it went on to win a Macavity nomination, a Daphne du Maurier for Excellence in Suspense/Mystery, and an Agatha for Best First Novel. With the first novel becoming so successful, Boyer went on to publish more titles at about a novel a year to stand at six titles in the series in less than six years since the publication of the first. The Liz Talbot Mystery series are set in a small town where nobody is ever a stranger to their neighbors, full of crazy relatives, southern food, and beaches, which are elements that Boyer loves a lot. Having grown up solving puzzles and wanting to be a Nancy Drew it is not surprising that the author would shift to writing detective mysteries featuring a female detective. Liz Talbot the lead character in the series is a Southern Carolina Belle with a love for puzzle and mysteries. Even as Boyer has never been a private investigator, she has done a lot of reading on the subject and the Liz Talbot Mystery series of novels is particularly inspired by Steven Kerry Brown’s “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Private Investigating” that she read after she left her banking job to focus on a writing career. Of course, some of the tidbits in the novels are derived from the many questions she asked of PIs and countless Google searches.

The lead character in the series Liz Talbot is a lover of all kinds of puzzles and mysteries, southern food, champagne, Pinot Noir, all manner of Southern food, and strong coffee. She is also obsessive with her use of hand sanitizer and loves to sing karaoke. She is about 35 years old and very much fit as she runs a few miles on the beach every evening and swims naked in the Atlantic every dawn. Liz Talbot is a very spontaneous person and never sugar coats anything. If any unpleasantness happens while she is doing her work, she will say and deal with it on the spot without giving undue regard to any of the consequences of her actions. Liz packs a Sig 9 in a holster underneath her jacket or in her purse. She also often works alongside her Golden Retriever who often rides in her hybrid Escape’s backseat. Despite the high octane nature of her work, Liz loves to have fun and often times loves to wear cute dresses and shoes even while on the job. Over the course of the series, Nate Andrews moves from being Liz’s love interest to being a major character in the series. Getting married in the fifth novel, the two become fully-fledged partners and work together to solve a range of mysteries in their Stella Maris island hometown.

The Liz Talbot Mystery series of novels are set in Stella Maris a real life island located just north of Isle of Palms, South Carolina. Stella Maris is a quintessential southern town located on an idyllic island. The city is close enough to the bigger city of Charleston, which makes it easy for the lead protagonist to work her cases from the city. The setting of most of the novel’s mysteries in the bigger town of Charleston makes it more believable; given that having too many murders in such a small town would have made the novels be a little bit unrealistic. The series of novels even while having the same lead character and settings may be read as standalones given their different storylines. Nevertheless, the lives of Nate Andrews, Liz Talbot and their friends and family in Stella Maris and Charleston continue to develop over the course of the novels. However, it is important to note that other than the stories of the lead Liz Talbot and Nate, the other stories lend color and texture and act more as subplots to the main plot lines. There is no major story arc for the novel, and Liz Talbot does not change much over the course of the series apart from getting married to Nate Andrews.

”Lowcountry Boil”, the first novel in the series introduces Liz Talbot a private investigator, and southern belle who takes names and blesses hearts. Never one to be taken off guard she walks around with a Kate Spade handbag, which not only contains her makeup stash, but also a Sig 9 that she is ready to use at any time. Rhett her golden retriever is a constant companion who rides in the backseat of her hybrid Escape car. Liz is forced to go back home to South Carolina when her grandmother falls victim to a vicious killer on her island home of Stella Maris. Given her private investigator training, she believes that she is perfectly qualified to investigate the case but her brother, the small town’s chief refuses to let her become part of the investigation. She is forced to open her own investigation, but things get complicated when her best friend that had long been considered dead turns up. Things get even more interesting when even more people turn up murdered in her hometown. Liz now needs to put her charm and wits to use to deconstruct clues and chase a psychopathic killer who will do anything to harm her family.

“Lowcountry Bombshell”, the second novel in the Liz Talbot Mystery series that is just as exhilarating as the first in the series. When Liz meets Calista McQueen, she is convinced that she is seeing a ghost as she is an exact replica of Marilyn Monroe, born half a century before. What is even more eerie is that up to this point, most of her life has mirrored that of her dapple ganger. With socialite’s death coming up, Calista is afraid that her days on the planet may be numbered. It is not long before a swarm of suspicious characters is looming around Calista making her death ever more likely. Some of these characters include an obsessed ex-husband, a peculiar housekeeper, a private yoga instructor, a control freak psychoanalyst, her fake aunt, and her certifiable mother. It is now up to Liz to find just who may have a motive for murder, but with so many suspects and a sexy partner engaging in a campaign of repeat seduction, she just has too much on her plate. But with her own life and that of Calista in danger, she needs to pull herself together and uncover a diabolical murder plot.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Liz Talbot Mystery

Leave a Reply