Book Notification

Liz Trenow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Telegram (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgotten Seamstress (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Poppy Factory / All the Things We Lost (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silk Weaver / The Hidden Thread (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Love and War / The Lost Soldiers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under a Wartime Sky / Our Last Letter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets of the Lake (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Searching for My Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Sister (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Perfect Treat(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Liz Trenow
For almost three hundred years, Liz Trenow’s family have been silk weavers, and she grew up in a house that was right next to a silk mill which would provide the inspiration for “The Last Telegram”, and which is still in operation to this day.

Liz, rather than also become a weaver, worked for several years as a journalist for regional and national newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news.

She is a USA Today and New York Times bestselling writer of historical fiction and her books have been published around the world, having been translated into various languages.

Liz’s inspiration for “The Poppy Factory” came after she attended the Remembrance Sunday event in her home town, which also happens to be a garrison town. Along with being rather moving, it also got her thinking about the origins of the poppy as a symbol of remembrance, and visiting the real life Poppy Factory confirmed for her that it’d be a fascinating topic to set a First World War/Afghan novel around.

Her favorite part about being a writer are those moments when she can really picture herself in a scene and hear her characters, so much so that it almost seems to write itself. It’s a feeling she calls flying.

“The Last Telegram” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. We all make mistakes, some that we can fix. However what happens when we’re unable to?

Lily Verner made a horrible decision, decades prior, while Nazi planes were dominating the sky. She has tried to forget, however now one unexpected event pulls her right back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk that she helped to weave at the family mill, the relentless pressure from the worsening war, and the sort of heartbreaking loss which stops time entirely.

In an evocative story of consequences and love, Lily confronts at long last the disastrous choice which has haunted her all of these years. This reveals a surprising truth about how the tales we weave about our lives are threaded through with forgiveness, truth, and guilt.

“The Forgotten Seamstress” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2013. A stunner of a novel set during the Edwardian era about this seamstress that works in Buckingham Palace.

The year is 1914. Maria is a shy teen and is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. While there, she is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and soon becomes captivated by his intensity and glamour. However theirs is a doomed love affair and before too long her life winds up taking a tragic turn.

Maria, torn between integrity and passion, she makes a decision that comes with devastating consequences. Could a beautiful quilt, one found many years later finally reveal the truth about what happened to her?

“The Poppy Factory” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2014. In 1918: Rose Barker, while victory bells are sounding across London, welcomes Alfie, her darling husband, back home. However Alfie was injured by a shell during the war’s last days, and struggles with horrifying nightmares, and even though Rose tries desperately to comfort him, nothing she does really seems to help that much.

In 2014. Many years later, Jess (Rose’s great-granddaughter) returns from Afghanistan, where she had been serving as a front-line medic. Constantly being reminded of those she was not able to save, Jess’ relationship is falling apart, and her life’s falling apart.

However right when Jess hits her lowest point, she gets an unexpected gift: the diaries of her great-grandma Rose. And while turning the pages, she learns about a story of enduring love, and hope, that’s going to change her life forever.

“The Silk Weaver” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. A breathtaking novel about the heartbreak of forbidden love and the intricate craft of silk.

When Anna Butterfield’s mom dies, she gets sent to live with her uncle, who is a silk merchant in Victorian London, in order to make a good match and provide for her dad and sister.

While there, she meets Henry, who is a French immigrant and apprentice that hopes to become a master weaver. However Henri, who was born into a lower class, gets embroiled in the silk riots which break out while weavers are protesting for a fairer wage.

Anna, caught in the middle of her family and her star-crossed romance, is forced to decide between what it really means to be a woman in the time of a revolution.

“In Love and War” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. A remarkable novel about three women that have had their lives ripped apart by war.

British Ruby, during the summer of 1919, mourns Bertie, her beloved husband, who has been missing since 1916. His grief stricken parents ask one final task of her: travel to the Belgian battlefields to locate Bertie’s grave, and with it the peace which is going to come with knowing his final resting place.

Martha has risked everything in order to travel to Belgium. A German, she knows she’ll be met without any understanding or sympathy. However her son lies somewhere in Belgian soil, and her husband’s dying wish was for his grandpa’s bravery medal to be passed on to his son. It’s a promise Martha will do whatever she must to keep.

Alice, who’s an American, knows in her heart that Sam, her brother, is still alive, however after he signed up using a fake name, no news has been heard from him ever since he showed up in Belgium. Leaving behind her fiance and life back in Washington, she sets off for Europe, making a promise to herself that she’ll not rest until she finds her brother.

When the lives of these three women collide, they start questioning whether that which unites them all could be much greater than their differences. While their unlikely friendship starts to blossom, their tale reveals their untiring determination to learn what happened to those men that they love, no matter how painful the truth may be.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Liz Trenow

Leave a Reply