Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Lockwood & Co. Books In Order

Publication Order of Lockwood & Co Books

The Screaming Staircase (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Whispering Skull (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dagger in the Desk (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hollow Boy (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Creeping Shadow (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Empty Grave (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Lockwood & Co. series is a popular novel series based on the paranormal, thriller, and fantasy genres. It was written by one of the most prolific authors from The United Kingdom, named Jonathan Stroud. This series is comprised of a total of 5 novels and 1 novella, which were released between the years 2013 and 2017. The 5th book has an expected release scheduled in the year 2017. The series deals with 3 young operatives from the Psychic Detentio Agency, who battle against a ghostly epidemic in London. The central characters described by author Stroud in the series include Lucy Carlyle, Anthony Lockwood, George Cubbins, Suzie Martin, Annie Ward, Inspector Barnes, Hugo Blake, and Sir John Wiliam Fairfax. Anthony Lockwood is introduced as the leader of the group, Lockwood & Co, who is very dashing and a little reckless. Quite often he is referred to as Lockwood. His talent is in sighting things, which seems to be better than that of George’s and Lucy’s. But, Lockwood’s hearing talent is considered very poor. He is well known for his thorough and quick approach towards the hauntings and feels very proud for having better abilities. George Cubbins is introduced as Lockwood’s deputy. He appears to be rather slovenly and portly, and is very cynical. His focus lies more on research works and preparation, unlike that of Lockwood and Lucy.

George likes to have long waiting times in between the assignments. Lucy is the one with whom he does not get along well, but with Lockwood he shares a very good bonding. As far as his appearance is concerned, George is chubby, small in height, and smart. The third most important member of the group is Lucy Carlyle. She is the newest one to join and is just 15 years old. Author Stroud has narrated the stories of the books through the viewpoint of Lucy. Lucy is known to get into fights very quickly. A stationmaster’s daughter from the northern regions of England, Lucy had initially joined an agency in her hometown. But, because of a disastrous case that resulted in the deaths of a few fellow agents, she left her family and job to start a new life in London. Lucy is known to have a very good hearing talent and empathy through the sense of touch. Suzie is depicted as the Mrs. Hope’s daughter. She comes across the group members in the absence of her mother and begins to investigate a case with them. Suzie seems very skeptical of the fact that the Lockwood & Co. is very young. The agency meets Annie Ward at the series’ beginning and when she returns again as a ghost after her death, the agency begins to investigate her murder mystery. Inspector Barnes is shown as a DEPRAC investigator, who cooperates with George and Lockwood in the investigations in spite of having a slack disgust with them. A wealthy industrialist named Sir Fairfax is also mentioned in the series, who is the owner of the Combe Carey Hall. After realizing that it is haunted by a ghost, he asks the agency to investigate and solve the mystery. With his financial support, the members of the agency go on to save their company from a huge debt. Hugo Blake is described as the 22 year old boyfriend of Annie Ward.

The first book to be released in the Lockwood & Co. series by Jonathan Stroud is titled ‘The Screaming Staircase’. It was released by the Doubleday publication in 2013. The central theme of this book describes Lockwood’s agency helping the living ones when they get haunted by the returning dead ones. Author Stroud has mentioned in the beginning that England has been affected by the horrifying ghostly epidemic for over 50 years. To deal with such a haunting situation, a number of agencies for psychic investigations have come up and tried their level best, but none of them seem to have succeeded. Meanwhile, Lucy Carlyle moves to London as a talented and young agent and hopes to work for a notable career. But, she goes on to join a small and ramshackle agency run by the Anthony Lockwood. Lucy finds Anthony as a charismatic leader, even though she does not seem too happy with the agency. After one of their investigations goes terribly bad, they get a last chance to prove their worth. But, to do so, they have to spend a whole night in a highly haunted house in England and come out alive from there. The book is set in a city full of terrifying ghosts, suspense, humorous people, and stalked by the specters.

The sequel to the debut novel of the series was released under the title of ‘The Whispering Skull’. The Disney Hyperion published it in the year 2014. At the start of this book, author Stroud has depicted that Lockwood’s agency has not made any progress since its members survived at London’s haunted house and solve the mystery of the ghost living in it. Any investigation that Lockwood’s takes up gets swooped in by Quill Kipps and his Fitts agents’ team. In an angry mood, Anthony goes on to challenge Quill for a contest. They agree to the bet that the next time their teams will compete for a job, the one that loses will have to admit the defeat in the national newspaper. Soon, things begin when Mrs. Saunders hires the Lockwood & Co for a new job. She asks the agency members to be present at the time of Edmund Bickerstaff’s excavation. This Victorian doctor was known to have tried to talk to the dead people during his time. Mrs. Saunders wants Edmund’s coffin to be sealed in silver so as to prevent any type of supernatural trouble from taking place. Everything seems to have been going well until the curiosity of George gets him attracted to a horrible phantom. Back at home in Portland Row, Anthony accuses George for committing too many mistakes carelessly. Even Lucy seems to get distracted by some urgent whispers arising from a ghost jar. After a little while, Anthony’s team is asked to come to the DEPRAC headquarters by Inspector Barnes. When they reach there, Anthony got very much annoyed to find Quill Kipps already present there. Inspector Barnes informs them that the coffin of Edmund Bickerstaff was raided by someone and an unusual glass object that was buried with his corpse was stolen. Barnes believes that the glass is very dangerous and asks Quill and Anthony to find it as soon as possible. With this mission, the competition between these two also starts. And from the word go, they begin to outplay each other.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lockwood & Co.