Book Notification

Logan McRae Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Logan McRae Books

Cold Granite (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying Light (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodshot / Broken Skin (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh House (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Eye (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shatter The Bones (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Close to the Bone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing and the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Cold Dark Ground (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blood Road (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
All That’s Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Logan McRae Short Story Collections

Partners in Crime (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 45% Hangover (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
22 Dead Little Bodies and Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

As one of the most decorated writer of this era, Stuart McBride is an exceptional award winning writer who has the aptitude of delivering stories that ooze of pure brilliance. Born in Dumbarton, Scotland, Stuart MacBride is famously known for his science fiction and crime thriller stories that have won the hearts of many readers throughout the globe. During his early years, Stuart MacBride had to make a living by working as a graphic designer, IT technician and web designer but later on discovered his passion for writing. Half-head was the book that brought MacBride to the spotlight as it was able to garner the interest of many publishing companies.

Ever since he began his career as a writer, Stuart McBride has received three awards and close to 6 nomination. In 2006, MacBride won the Best First Novel at the Barry Award and later on in 2007, he won the CWA Dagger award. Currently residing in the North Eastern side of Scotland, Stuart McBride is not only a writer but he is a reputable potato farmer.

Cold Granite

As the first book in the Logan McRae series, Cold Granite is a hard rock story that is undeniably a good read for every crime thriller fan. Concocted with a good storyline that is complex enough with a rather great character description, Cold Granite is one of the best reads in the Loran McRae series. In this book, we are introduced to one Logan McRae who happens to be a detective in Aberdeen Scotland. After being out for almost a year, Logan McRae finally makes his long awaited comeback in the force but on his first day he is thrown the worst case ever.

Immediately after finding the body of a highly mutilated child, another child goes missing. The storyline in this develops gradually into several possibly related crimes which in turn lead to very protracted and sleepless hours of darkness for the law enforcers. The scene is very fantastic while on the hand the potential character development and the atmosphere are very outstanding. In this novel, MacBride is able to create very appealing book characters, who have been embroidered in encrusted dimensions. Forced to work besides his former lover, MacBride is this time around more that determined to earn the trust and respect of his superiors and co-workers.

Like an ideal crime themed novel, the plot in this novel revolves around the investigations surrounding the death of young children. Any story that surrounds the death of children is usually hard to read but in this particular novel McBride was able to add some suspense to the storylines. All in all the story line in this book is not only creepy but also engaging that is guaranteed to live any reader tongue in cheek. The descriptions portrayed in this book are not only gritty but also very realistic in every aspect while the involvement of Aberdeen in this gruesome storyline is going to leave a huge dent in the town’s image .

Dying Light

As the second book in the Logan McRae series, Dying Light portrays Aberdeen as a slightly warmer neighborhood, which happens to be more or less, the only concern in this gritty but compelling thriller. With the aptitude of bringing an ironic touch to some of the darkest scenes, the author brings forth a rather compelling story revolving around crime and violence that is unquestionably not for the faint hearted. All in all the crime in this second book is not only realistic but also very violent which makes it a favorite among the crime novel readers.

As we meet up with Logan McRae once again in this book, he is in disgrace after being the officer in charge of a raid that resulted to the shooting of a police constable. Hence, now Logan McRae is under investigation and is now working with one D.I Steele who happens to be the officer in charge of the failure and general incompetence squad. Is he going to escape the claws of D.I Steele by being able to solve big cases? Only time is going to tell. The rate and number of crimes in this book is definitely high hence the police officers are always engaged and spoilt for choices when it comes to choosing crimes. While working under the command of D.I Steele, Logan McRae is presented with two main cases.

First of all, there is a person who is stalking prostitutes for a long period of time, then eventually killing them in the long run. Secondly, there is an arsonist who is locking buildings then burning everyone who is inside the building. Finally, a dog’s torso is found in a suit case, very bizarre. By using the good old fashioned style of solving cases, Logan is able to solve one case after the other effectively. Despite the fact that the writer tries to present a serene environment throughout the book, there are some very gruesome scenes especially the one that involved a high flying journalist who apparently is dating Logan McRae’s ex-girlfriend.

Not new to controversy, Logan is once again involved in another gruesome scene that almost leads to his indefinite suspension from the force. Irrespective of everything that is happening in this book, any individual who has read the first book in this series will not go by without noticing that one Jackie Watson is notoriously missing from this novel. Her character does not develop any further which is a shame as she was one of the most prominent and easily noticeable characters in the previous novel.


Regarded as a genius, MacBride has the aptitude of giving the reader a wonderful feeling by creating exceedingly genuine and life like stories. Apart from knowing how to write great stories, MacBride also knows how to create a big asset and in this particular scenario is Logan McRae. In his creation, Stuart MacBride was able to create a main character, who is not only very intelligent but also very witty and vulnerable at the same time All in all, any great story must have a great character for it to be a success and Logan McRae is one of the main reason why this series has been such a huge success.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Logan McRae

2 Responses to “Logan McRae”

  1. shirley mcwaters: 2 years ago

    love the series please write more of him

  2. Jenni macgregor: 2 years ago

    I have read Stuart MacBride books with Logan McRae. Are there anymore books with Logan McRae next year. I really hope there is. Thank you


Leave a Reply