Book Notification

Lord Francis Powerscourt Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lord Francis Powerscourt Books

Goodnight, Sweet Prince (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Jubilee (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of an Old Master (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Chancellor (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Called to the Bar (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Nevskii Prospekt (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Holy Mountain (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Pilgrim (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Wine Merchant (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in a Scarlet Coat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Jesus Hospital (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of an Elgin Marble (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to the Ballets Russes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to Lynchester Close (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Lord Francis Powerscourt series of novels is a line of mystery novels that take place around the turn of the twentieth century. The novels are about an aristocrat travels around the world to solve various criminal mysteries.

The series was created by David Dickinson. A native of Dublin, Dickinson is a graduate of Cambridge with a degree in Classics and was a former editor of news programs with the BBC. He was the series editor of Monarchy, a program about the current state of the British royal family and the potentials for its future.

Much of his experience in learning about history and classic literature has been put into the many books that he has written that feature Lord Francis Powerscourt. He has written more than ten different novels featuring this character.

The series of books from Dickinson has made for one of the most appealing lines in the world. This comes as many different characters in the books are unique and appealing. The characters and the settings are especially reflective of the time periods that they are set in. The stories also take place in many spots around the world as Powerscourt continues to go all around the world to find clues and secrets as a means of solving a number of different cases.

Who Is the Character?

Lord Francis Powerscourt is a descendent of Irish aristocracy. He has struggled with many personal tragedies throughout his career, starting with the deaths of his parents as a child and the drowning deaths of his first wife and son. While he eventually remarried and has had more children with his wife Lady Lucy Hamilton, he has many of his past events on his mind throughout many of his cases.

As a student at Eton and then Cambridge, he worked in the field of army intelligence in many colonies around the world. This led to him discovering how powerful his skills of detection and observation are. This led to him becoming a detective.

Francis is especially charming and knowledgeable of the many things that he sees all around him. He works hard to find clues and hints to all of the many cases that he works. His ability to find things and create links has especially helped him succeed and be one step ahead of various criminals.

The stories start around the late part of the nineteenth century and have expanded into the early twentieth century. Many of his stories entail him working alongside Lord Johnny Fitzgerald, a life-long friend of Powerscourt. Fitzgerald has been a trusted ally of Fitzgerald in terms of the strong work that he has done.

Praise For the Series

The Lord Francis Powerscourt series has been praised for being unique and true to history. The series is especially heralded as one that features many impressive topics and concepts relating to British and Irish history. Dickinson’s wit and his ability to create a cast of diverse and unique figures have especially helped him to become one of the top names in recent mystery literature. There is plenty of humor around the series as well as Powerscourt goes around to find all sorts of secrets and to get the most out of the many people around the world that he meets.

The book series has been a strong one in today’s field. Dickinson has sold thousands of copies of his many books and has developed a devoted following with many fans looking forward to the many things that he has to offer.

Noteworthy Books in the Series

Goodnight Sweet Prince: The first book in the Lord Francis Powerscourt series in the 2007 novel Goodnight Sweet Prince. A prince who is said to have died of influenza is being investigated by Francis as a means of finding the truth. It turns out that this prince might not have been a victim of influenza. In addition, there are many people around the world who hated him and could have wanted to kill him, thus leading to plenty of discoveries and many added surprises that are hard to predict.

Death of An Old Master: The 2005 book Death of An Old Master is a story about a prominent art critic who is found dead after being killed with a piano wire. Many of the man’s papers have also disappeared, thus leading to the belief that someone is out there trying to take on his identity or to use his knowledge. One of the biggest surprises is that some of the man’s papers are ones that prove that there are many paintings on display at prominent museums that were nothing but forgeries. This leads to a need to find the killer before any of these papers could potentially be exposed and revealed to the world.

Death on the Nevskii Prospekt: The sixth book in the series was released in 2007. This book takes place in St. Petersburg not long before the Russian Revolution. Powerscourt travels here as a British diplomat was killed around Nevskii Prospekt. It appears that he knew of a particular secret and that he was willing to do anything to hide it. However, with the revolution coming along and ready to take over Russia, Francis has to hurry and solve the mystery before he is caught up in the dangerous and threatening changes about to take place in Russia.

Death of an Elgin Marble: Lord Francis Powercourt’s thirteenth book was released in 2014. This book occurs as an ancient Greek statue that was on display in a British museum was stolen and replaced with a cheap fake copy. Soon, an employee of the museum is killed before he can be questioned by the police about the case. There is a great mystery in this book over what the employee might have known and even if it was some kind of inside job. This leads into some serious concerns over how anyone could have wanted to try and take the original statue for their own use.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lord Francis Powerscourt

Leave a Reply