Book Notification

Lords of the Underworld Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lords of the Underworld Books

The Darkest Fire (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Night (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Kiss (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Pleasure (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Prison (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Whisper (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Angel (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Passion (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Lie (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Secret (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Surrender (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Seduction (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Craving (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Touch (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Torment (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Promise (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Warrior (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Captive (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Assassin (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest King (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Destiny (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lords Of The Underworld Non-Fiction Books

The Darkest Facts (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

A fantasy series of novels from American writer Gena Showalter, this collection of stories focuses on the world of demons carried by men following their escape from Pandora’s Box. With over fifteen novels so far, this popular franchise encapsulate their struggle against an ongoing evil. Spawning a spin-off series titled ‘Angels of the Dark’, it’s still continuing to this day.

Pandora’s Box in ancient times was opened by a group of twelve immortal warriors. Seeking to obtain the power held inside, they steal it before opening and unleashing the evil within. This darkness is now harbored inside each of them, as they each carry it around cursed by a specific vice. Pain, violence, disease and death are just some of the crosses that they have to bear during their eternity walking the earth. Now a nemesis so powerful it may see their destruction has returned, so it is time that they must embark upon a quest to obtain a relic of sacred origin that might just be their savior.

Lords of the Underworld: The Darkest Night

Originally published on the 1st of January, 2008, ‘The Darkest Night’ was to be the book that Showalter would begin her ‘Lords of the Underworld’ series with. Although there is a prequel novella titled ‘The Darkest Fire’ brought out about the same time providing back-story, this was to be the first full book that would fully introduce the world within. Setting the darkened tone with romantic elements, it builds up the tension for these cursed immortals fated to carry their demons.

Having now set in motion the events whereby the group of warriors have been cursed with demons by the opening of Pandora’s Box, they now walk the earth tormented by their suffering. As it continues to haunt for generations, there is rumor of a method to end it all and prevent the voices inside tormenting any further. With inhuman powers as well, they are able to undertake their quest to find the relic that can help save them. It seems that there are other methods for quietening the torment as well though; passion. Giving into their desire may help to calm their souls as they discover romance. Being an immortal in torment may seem like hell, but it appears there might be ways to help silence it.

In this story is the protagonist Ashlyn Darrow who has recently been hearing voices that are growing in their intensity. Haunting her from the long distant past, they have tormented her for all her life making it a nightmare. Then she hears of the rumor that it can be ended with the help of a group of men residing in Budapest who are said to hold powers of the supernatural. With their assistance she hopes to end this living hell once and escape from her eternally waking nightmare. She didn’t account for one thing though and that is the passion she feels when she finally meets the most dangerous member of this clan; Maddox.

Not able to contain their emotions for each other, they soon embrace their passions for one another embarking on a fiery relationship. This isn’t to last though, as each touch means they’re one step closer to their demise, as the clock is ticking. It could also mean that they are soon to have their love tested, or worse. Will they be able to stop it in time curing the curse that binds them? Can their love survive through all the hardship? What will become of them in the darkest night?

Lords of the Underworld: The Darkest Kiss

Following on from her first installment, Showalter initially published this book on January the 1st, 2008, too. With the events of the previous novel behind everyone, this moves onto a new couple and the torment that they must endure to be together. Using similar themes to the last one, it expands upon them providing further insight in this darkened underworld inhabited by immortals tortured and the demons that torture them.

The Goddess of Anarchy Anya is well known as she is feared, having tempted a number of men with her seductive prowess and her own immortality during her many centuries on the earth. One thing that’s eluded her though is her own pleasure, as she’s remained numb to the world. Nobody has proven to be her equal throughout the years, leaving her unable to love or be loved. That is until the mysterious figure of Lucien steps into her life, as he embodies death in physical form. Doomed for all eternity, he is a true warrior who must collect souls and take them into the great beyond. Feeling a strong sense of passion for this mysterious figure, Anya soon realizes she must have him at any cost. Willing to pay whatever price is necessary, she is ready to put it all on the line to be with him, risking everything in the process.

It is then that the Lord of the Underworld himself is given an order by the gods that Anya must be taken. Now their passionate affair returns once more to one of anguish and torment, as she goes into a pursuit despite her attraction for Lucien. With forces overseeing them that seem beyond their control and impossible to conquer, they realize that they must defeat them if they ever want to be free to follow their desires for one another. They may be too late though, leaving them devoured by their devotion to one another as their passion becomes too much to take. Will they ever get to be together free from their torment and the external forces beyond their control? Can they escape those in pursuit who aim to claim not just their love for one another, but the very essence of their being? What will become of Anya and Lucien and can true love ever really an option?

The Lords of the Underworld Series

With an eager legion of fans behind it, this series looks set to continue as it has plenty of life left in it yet. There have also been Manga graphic novel adaptations of these books as well, along with merchandise based on the series too. As Showalter has previously stated, there will be more books set to arrive soon, so this popular line of novels will carry on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lords of the Underworld

Leave a Reply