Book Notification

Loretta Nyhan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Empire Girls (With: Suzanne Hayes) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Good Parts (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Digging In (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Family (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Person (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of I'll Be Seeing You Books

with Suzanne Hayes
I'll Be Seeing You (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home Front Girls (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Heart of Mine (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Loretta Nyhan
Loretta Nyhan was a reader before she became a writer, devouring everything and anything she could get her hands on. Whether it was the backs of cereal boxes or the instruction booklet for putting together the Barbie dream house.

Later this obsession with reading turned into an absolute need to write. After finishing college, she wrote for national trade magazines, and taught writing to college freshmen, before finding the guts to try out fiction.

When she is not writing, Loretta can be found baking, knitting, and doing various things that her high school self would have just found hilarious.

Loretta writes general fiction. She has written stories by herself, as well as with Suzanne Hayes.

“The Witch Collector Part I” is the first novel in the “Witch Collector” series and was released in the year 2013. The day after the funeral for Breeda’s best friend, her parents pack her up, put her into the car, and then drive out of Oregon without once looking back. Breeda does not know why they left with such an urgency or why they are going to Chicago. She does know that it is against the rules to depart without consulting with your Coven Leader. It is actually a crime that is punishable by banishment.

All Breeda’s family has got left now is each other, in a city that feels dark, strange, and unfamiliar. When Breeda comes back home during her first night in Chicago to discover that their apartment has been ransacked and a bloody handprint was left behind, she knows that you cannot outrun the craft.

In this, Nyhan does a great job of exploring some of the darker aspects of witchcraft in an original way by showing that there is more to the dark arts than just nefarious intentions. The novel is also compelling and a page turner, as well as being funny, lyrical, and totally believable.

“The Witch Collector Part II” is the second novel in the “Witch Collector” series and was released in the year 2013. This second part of the story plunges Breeda right into Chicago’s fantastical underworld, which is a world of madness, deception, and betrayal.

Breeda has just started coming into her own budding powers as a powerful witch all by herself. Her parents are still missing, and she doubts the intentions of her boyfriend, who just arrived from Oregon. While the final battle draws closer, who can she trust? There is nobody to turn to, except of course for the new abilities that she has found in the infamous coven for disgraced witches in Chicago. Breeda cannot deny that she is drawn to Miro, who is a darkly mysterious witch from the coven. Might he be touched by the dark, too?

This novel does a great job of wrapping up the story presented in part one. It is quite the ride that readers enjoyed going on.

“All the Good Parts” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. Leona Accorsi (age thirty-nine) is single, broke, back in school, and lives with her sister Carly’s basement. She is just content with being quirky Auntie Lee to Carly’s four kids. That ends after Leona’s doctor informs her that if she wants to have a kid, she should really do it now.

Leona would like to have a baby. She always has, however, the circumstances have just never been right. Now she has a huge decision she must make. Face motherhood all by herself, or risk missing out on the rewards entirely.

She has let her romantic life go pretty stagnant, unfortunately. She hardly knows any single guys. She only has a few prospects. There is the sweet yet troubled guy that tutors her niece, a man that is a partial amputee and Vietnam vet, and his rather intimidating son. There is also a fellow nursing student she has never met in person.

While Leona finds out more about each one, she finds that any one of them could be the right guy for the job. A better question is, has she even become the right woman?

Loretta Nyhan delivers a funny and sweet, ultimately heart-tugging and poignant read. This is a thought-provoking premise, accurate portrayal of the characters, and all of the characters feel entirely real. All of the relationships Leona has with the potential dads are fantastic. Fans find that Loretta really made them think about this story, even after they had set it down, they would begin thinking about what was happening in the story.

“Digging In” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. Paige Moresco found her true love while in the eighth grade, and lost him just two years ago. Since he died, she has just been sleepwalking through life, barely hanging on for the sake of her teen son. Her house is just a wreck, while the grass has gotten overrun with weeds. Paige is close to losing her job. While Paige looks at her neglected lawn, she realizes that she has hit rock bottom. She does something unexpected. She starts digging a hole.

While the hole starts getting bigger, she decides to turn her whole yard into a vegetable garden. The neighbors that live in her tidy gated community are more than just a bit alarmed about this. Paige knows zero about gardening, and she is boldly breaking neighborhood-association bylaws. With the help of her new buddies and a charming local cop, as well as the transformative power of the soil, Paige begins seeing the potential in all of the chaos that is in her life. There is something big starting to take root, both in her garden as well as in herself.

Readers found this one to be an authentic, delightful, and hilarious read. The surprising and unique ways she recovers kept readers turning the pages. The novel is packed full of some wise moments, with a unique take on what it is like to experience grief. These characters are captivating and Loretta has a gift for writing vivid prose, which shines through nicely in this roller coaster ride of a novel.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Loretta Nyhan

Leave a Reply