Book Notification

Lorna Dounaeva Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of May Queen Killers Books

The Perfect Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of McBride Vendetta Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl in the Woods (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrong Twin (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Family (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Family Trap (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wife's Mistake (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Housemate (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lorna Dounaeva
Lorna Dounaeva started out as a politics graduate and worked for the British Home Office for a number of years before she turned to crime fiction. She loves films and books with strong female characters and her influences include “Sleeping with the Enemy”, “American Psycho”, and “Single White Female”.

Lorna was named after the novel, called “Lorna Doone”, and as you may expect, she loves reading. Her favorite genres are psychological thrillers, especially authors like Nicci French, Rachel Abbott, Mark Edwards, and Julia Crouch. She also enjoys women’s fiction like Jane Green, Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella, and Lisa Jewell. With just a bit of historical fiction like The Bronte sisters, Jane Austen, and more recently Victoria Hislop.

She is a quirky author that once challenged a Flamenco troupe to a dance off. She lives with her husband and three kids that keep her busy removing mints from USB sockets and wiping off food off the ceiling.

Lorna wanted to be a writer from the time she was little, about five years old. She used to create her own little books when she was a child, then when she was older she returned to it much more seriously. That said, watching interesting movies and reading great books definitely helps her get inspired. She loves writing stories that she would enjoy reading herself.

Going out and doing something else does wonders for writer’s block. Taking a break or going for a walk. Anything which does not involve actually writing. She has most of her best ideas while she does something totally unrelated.

“Fry” is the first novel in the “McBride Vendetta” series and was released in 2013. She acts like she is your new best friend, yet is she actually a deadly foe?

When Isabel almost runs over the mysterious Alicia, she’s guilt ridden. She helps Alicia get a job at the supermarket where she also works and before long, Alicia acts like her new best friend. Then some fires begin breaking out all over the town and she suspects that Alicia knows more about them than she is letting on, however it is Isabel that the cops want to question.

In order to survive, she has to question her own innocence, her sanity, and the very fabric of her own morality.

“Angel Dust” is the second novel in the “McBride Vendetta” series and was released in 2018. It is every parents absolute worst nightmare.

When Lauren, Isabel’s daughter, gets snatched outside of her school, she suspects that Jody McBride is the one behind the abduction. But the detective that’s in charge of this case only seems interested in picking her statement apart, and investigating various members of her family.

Can Isabel possibly persuade the cops to actually take her seriously, or will she need to take things into her own hands? In order to save her daughter, she has to take a stark look at her relationships, and even consider just how well she actually knows her daughter.

“The Perfect Girl” is the first novel in the “May Queen Killers” series and was released in 2015. She was successful, beautiful, and popular. The one that they all wanted to be.

When Jock, a reclusive writer, falls for Sapphire, a vivacious Tea Shop owner, he’s amazed that she appears to feel the same about him. He looks on with pride as Sapphire gets crowned the May Queen at the town’s celebrations for May Day, however his joy becomes heartbreak once she runs out into the crowd, never to be seen again.

While the days go by, he gets increasingly desperate. Everybody he speaks to seems to love Sapphire, too. Nobody’s got a bad word to say about her. So why would she run off like that, and what’s keeping her from returning?

“The Girl in the Woods” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2020. She finally got the family she always wanted. So why did she feel like somebody had stepped on her grave?

Noel and Suzannah are desperate to have a child so when they get the opportunity to adopt a young girl named Orchid, they jump on the chance. They’ve been warned that it’ll take some time for Orchid to settle into their little family, yet the problems they encounter seem rather out of ordinary. Mirrors are smashed, rooms have been flooded, and Orchid’s owning up to absolutely none of it.

And then things take a more sinister turn and Suzannah gets truly frightened. Who’s this child that they have allowed into their lives and are they going to be able to actually tame her?

This is written in a clear voice, with some excellent characters, and keeps you wondering what will happen next.

“The Wrong Twin” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2021. Two twins, with a horrifying secret.

When Mel’s marriage breaks down, she moves back to her hometown so she can live with Abbie, her twin. Mel only needs some space in order to recover from a painful separation and prepare to start a new phase of her life. However there is something wrong with Abbie; where she once was gregarious and outgoing, she is now secretive, sullen, and hostile.

Mel, even more disturbing, is getting followed by some sinister guy that she has never seen before. She does not know what the guy wants, but is pretty sure it is nothing good.

And Mel has cause to be worried. Because she is inexorably pulled into a vortex of unimaginable horror, while gradually discovering the terrifying truth about Abbie’s secret life. And the horrible cost which must be paid. By the wrong twin.

Readers found this to be a gripping read and they didn’t see the final truth about Abbie even coming, it was such a surprise. The conclusion of the book is quite the jaw dropper, too, chilling, brilliant, and very unexpected. Mystery, terror, and twists are on board with this thrill ride of a novel. This is a solid psychological suspenseful thriller with a good story line, with characters that were very interesting and easy to relate to.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lorna Dounaeva

Leave a Reply