Book Notification

Lost Regiment Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lost Regiment Books

Rally Cry (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Union Forever (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Terrible Swift Sword (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fateful Lightning (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Hymn (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Sound Retreat (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Band of Brothers (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Men of War (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down to the Sea (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

William R. Forstchen is an American historian born on the 11th October 1950 in Millburn, New Jersey. He began writing and publishing back in 1978 while still serving as a key contributor to Boy’s life. He is a professor of History and faculty fellow at the Montreat college situated in Montreat, North Carolina. He holds a Doctorate from his studies under renowned history professor Gunter E. Rothenberg with specialty in military history, the history of technology and the history of the American civil war.

On the writing front, Forstchen has written more than forty books among them the award winning title “we look like men of war” which is a young adult novel centered on the African – American regiment which fought the battle of the crater and is entirely based upon his doctoral dissertation. Forstchen’s efforts on the writing front over the years have equally not gone UN noticed though recently he has made a slight shift towards historical fiction, technological issues and nonfiction.

Looking back in 2002 he started the Gettyburg trilogy together with former speaker of the house “Newt Gingrich”. This trilogy comprised of Gettysburg, grant comes east and the never call retreat. More recently however, they have published two works which are mostly based on the events which lead to Pearl Harbor right after the attack at Pearl Harbor and days of infamy. In addition to the above, he contributed to the writing of three novels focus on the American Revolution starting with the “To try men’s souls” publication in 2009. This was a novel about Washington’s crossing of the Tom Paine and Delaware writing of “the American Crisis”.

About the Series

One of the most notable things about this series is the fact that it is a series to extreme. For instance, none of the books will make sense unless they are read in a chronological order. Although some of the books seems slightly interesting compared to the rest the whole series is very educative and captivating.

Concerning the plot of the book series, the author opted for something quite simple. The book mainly revolves around a union regiment from the United States civil war which was swept through a portal built by an alien race all the way to another planet that is far away from earth. Fortunately for the regiment, there are other humans there, the only unfortunate thing is that there are three other tribes or hordes of alien human eaters as well. Simply put, the whole plot of the eight installments which make up the book are mainly concentrated on round wars between the humans and aliens.

I msut admit that the overall setting of the novel is very neat. The author clearly brings out the arrival of the Lost regiment near Rus which was founded by descendants of Russians who arrived via the “gate of light” a feudal system with a Tsar and boyars. Soon after, the Americans are seen having started to introduce their ideas and their technology centuries ahead of the Rus Tech onto the system. The regiment shortly after has the opportunity to meet a member of the Tugar Horde in the process learning of the sickening truth that the human beings of Rus are constantly Preyed on by the Horde (who eat them alive).

Naturally, the regiment prepares itself to fight. The Rus start a revolt against their lords in the main city after which they then join the Americans. The author provides details of his creation a massive battle with the Tugars taking care and providing view points from both sides. Fortunately horde is defeated and almost wiped out. All happens in the first installment of the series.

The next three installments feature the introduction of both limited political elements and a new horde. The new republic is seen having absorbed the rest of Rus. Contrary to the US reconstruction era, The Americans are forced to accept the involvement in local politics of the remaining Boyars many of whom are dead hand. The author also hints at a human renegade which has been arming the cathas and in turn using them under Merki horder to attack the Roum. The first part of this war is brough out by the author as a masterpiece in terms of planning. The following book installments of the series three and four are seemed slightly limited tactically. Inspite of this, there is still a considerable amount of horde politics that is besides the introduction of Tamuka, a character which we all love and hate. In the series, his crusade against the humans led to the murder of the horder leader who ironically he had taken a vow to guard.

The final four installments of this series expose the fledgling republic to its biggest challenge so far. The Bantag horde on the other hand already larger than others receives a new leader and messiah from a world that is as advanced as our present day. For the first time in the novel, humans are outnumbered technologically by the horde and are faced with tanks, aircrafts of different kinds among other tricks including a whole new art of using them. After a much daring do, the republic manages to lure the horde into a destruction trap and then convinces them to agree to peace.

Having had the privileged to read the book series, I must admit that unlike other world war books, the alien characters featured in the Lost Regiment are fairly imaginative and very properly defined as well. The hordes are surprised when they bump into human forces for the first time ever in real battle. Interestingly, they learn and adapt. I personally have to admit that I did not buy the massive technological advances made over the years of fighting as brought out by the author. I personally found it to be a little too quick, how could a single soul with limited equipment than the regiment convince an entire horde to switch their ways. To me even by a myth of the messiah that is still an almost impossible undertaking.

Overall, the series is well-worth a read hence you should make a point of getting the entire series and reading it in order in order to avoid getting confused by the plot.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lost Regiment

Leave a Reply