Book Notification

Lost Starship Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lost Starship Books

The Lost Starship (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Command (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Destroyer (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Colony (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Patrol (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Planet (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Earth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Artifact (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Star Gate (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Supernova (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Swarm (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Intelligence (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Tech (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Secret (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Barrier (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Nebula (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Relic (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Task Force (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Clone (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Portal (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Cyborg (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Writing science-fiction fantasy thrillers, the Canadian writer Vaughn Heppner is no stranger to creating vast and expansive worlds filled with wonder and escapist fantasy, allowing his readers from all across the world to explore his unique and intricate universes, with his rich and vibrant imagination painting vivid pictures, giving an insight into another world, along with the many colorful characters that inhabit them, ultimately taking the reader on a journey. This is something that he’s become highly adept at over the years, as he’s managed to amass a particularly loyal following, as they eagerly await each of his installment with a keen sense of anticipation. Travelling all across the universe he takes in very real and very human themes, saying something in-depth about the human condition, as each of his novels has an important meaning behind them. This goes some way towards explaining how his novels have come to be so well received by so many worldwide. It has also allowed him to provide a unique and intelligent insight through his work, as he has managed to create a rather idiosyncratic and distinctive vision of an otherwise unseen side of life. His characters are also very well drawn, as they come alive off the page, allowing the reader to feel as if they are really there travelling alongside them. A series that he’s come to be particularly well known for is that of his ongoing ‘Lost Starship’ collection of novels, as it’s provided a long-running series that many have enjoyed over the years. Following the remnants of a dying race, a lone spaceship is set on automatic AI, as it now patrols a once vibrant planet in the aftermath of a deadly space battle that they barely just emerged victorious from. This happened over ten thousand of years ago, though, and here in the present time of the novel, the future of humankind depends on the alien technology if they ever hope to defend themselves from the new threat beyond the stars.

Starting out in 2014 with ‘The Lost Starship’, it has since gone onto the produce over seven books in total and counting, with the seventh book, ‘The Lost Earth’, being published in 2017. Following the ongoing plight the human race in their deadly game of defense against the invaders from beyond, they follow the military dealings and politics of what’s involved in such an ordeal. Due to the epic nature of the saga it has more than enough life in it to continue indefinitely, as there’s no signs that this series is stopping any time soon.

The Lost Starship

Published in 2014 on the 27th of August, this was the first novel to come out in the ongoing ‘Lost Starship’ series of novels, as it would also go by the same name. Setting up the franchise it would manage to bring in all the important elements, setting them up for the readers, giving them something to get involved with straight away. Not just setting up the premise, it would also work at creating both the ongoing style and tone as well, with the overall sense of atmosphere and ambiance of the series as a whole.

In terms of themes and ideas there really is a lot going for this series, as it takes the idea of a threat and looks at how humanity comes together to deal with such a situation. The characters also reflect this too, as they deal with the various politics and military entanglements in a very real and down-to-earth manner, that seems grounded and genuine. Using its locations wisely, it also doesn’t lose itself, as it sets its boundaries straight away, not allowing the narrative to immediately run away with itself and get bogged down with too much space.

Once almost dying out after a deadly battle to defend their planet, a race would leave an AI spaceship on automatic so as to defend their planet from any other threats. This was ten thousand years ago, though, and now a new threat awaits the planet Earth, as they must face up to a new and highly deadly terror that could wipe them out completely. Stepping up is Captain Maddox who, with the help of Star Watch Intelligence, must locate this legendary spaceship and use it to defeat the enemy once and for all. Can he do it? Is the human race ever safe? Where is the lost starship?

The Lost Command

Brought out a little under a year after the first novel, this would continue on directly from the first, providing another installment in the action, as it was initially released on the 20th of January in 2015. This would take the story forwards, ensuring that the progression of the characters was also developed, giving them a sense of direction and purpose in the process. Not only that, but it would also work at world-building too, developing the expanse of space, adding to the scope and breadth of the series overall.

In the hope of creating a new utopia beyond the stars, the human race a hundred and fifty years ago headed out in the hope of making a new life for themselves. This wasn’t to be though, as now Admiral Fletcher must head to defeat the enemy after being sent out by Star Watch, but things don’t go quite as they’d hoped as the Admiral and his men are left almost beaten and stranded in space. It is then that they all must turn to finding Captain Maddox once again and, with his help, utilize the once lost starship that now lies dormant, with Maddox being the only one that was ever able to get it to run. Will they be able to start up the ship? Can they defeat the enemy? What will become of the lost command?

The Lost Starship Series

A great example of a space saga, this really is a series that has everything that a science-fiction fan could ever want or need from such a franchise. Pulling in all the expected elements typical of such a series in this particular genre, it manages to deliver a variety of surprises too, creating much needed drama and tension. With characters that are extremely well drawn and stories and settings that really engage the reader, this is one series that will definitely stand the test of time for many years to come yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lost Starship

Leave a Reply