Book Notification

Lou Allin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Belle Palmer Books

Northern Winters Are Murder (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackflies Are Murder (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bush Poodles Are Murder (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder, Eh? (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memories Are Murder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Holly Martin Books

And on the Surface Die (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Felt No Pain (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twilight Is Not Good for Maidens (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maddie Temple Books

A Little Learning Is A Murderous Thing (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Terry Hart Books

Man Corn Murders (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Woman Who Did (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

That Dog Won't Hunt (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Contingency Plan (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vancouver or Bust/ No Crime (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Whole She-Bang 2(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Lou Allin
Canadian born novelist Lou Allin is a highly regarded writer of mystery books, each one drawing in scores of readers the world over. Keeping her audience guessing at every turn, she really knows how to raise the tension, holding their attention constantly throughout. With a vivid style to her stories as well, she really evokes a strong atmosphere that envelops the reader too, truly immersing them in the experience. This is also the case for her characters too, as she understands exactly what it is that’s wanted in each of her protagonists.

It’s her love of classic films that has also inspired her, and it definitely shows within her work, giving it a strong atmosphere. Knowing her subject matter well, she really allows it come alive off the page, in both terms of character and location. Her stories are extremely engrossing and addictive, something which her many readers worldwide can testify to. Speaking in a manner that’s direct, it’s easy to see why and how Allin has become so popular as an author over the years.

Whilst many of her stories feature amateur sleuths, such as her much loved Belle Palmer series, Allin manages to bring her own spin on the mystery genre. Having fun with the many ideas and tropes, she has been able to carve out her own unique niche that really stands out. Featuring characters that really make an impact on the reader, she has definitely left her mark on the industry. Maintaining a strong presence both online and off, there’s a lot more to come, with plenty more novels planned for release.

Early and Personal Life:
Born in Toronto, Canada, on the 5th of June 1945, Lou Allin would go on to be raised in Ohio, as her father would go into film in Cleveland in 1948. This would see her becoming better versed in the medium of film, as she’d gain a passion for classic films as an art-form. Over time this would begin to translate into her writing as well, as she’d find herself inspired by much of the cinema.

She had a strong passion for both reading and writing from an early age too, something which would stay with her throughout much of her life. Largely focusing on the mystery novel, this is something that she still continues to this very day, with a clear eye for mystery and intrigue. With plenty more to follow, it’s clear that she’s not stopping any time soon either, as her novels continue to reach a worldwide audience.

Writing Career:
Back in 2000 Lou Allin would release her first novel titled ‘Northern Winters are Murder’, which would kick-start her whole career. This was also the first in the ‘Belle Palmer’ series of mystery novels, which would follow the sleuth through a variety of different cases. Later she’d produce a variety of other similar series, such as Maddie Temple in 2005, Holly Martin in 2008, and Terry Hart in 2009. She’s also produced one stand-alone title called ‘The Woman Who Did’ in 2015, along with a few novellas as well, making for a long and illustrious writing career.

The Woman Who Did
Originally brought out through the Five Star Publishing imprint on the 10th of June in 2015, this was a stand-alone title. One of the few, if only self-contained mysteries from Allin, it really sets a mood with its historical period setting. Capturing the era, Allin crafts a mystery that’s both evocative of the time, and authentic in its approach, whilst also being intriguing too.

Really getting a feel of the time, this is definitely one not to miss out on, as it veers away from some Allin’s longer running series. Showing her skills as a writer outside of her well known franchises, it’s both exciting and mysterious, with some strong characters too. The ambiance of the city is also notable, as it definitely feels like a character in of itself, as the reader can explore it through the story.

Investigating into the life and death of a prostitute, this follows a young police officer in Vancouver Island in 1894. Charting his case, it sees Edwin DesRosiers as he attempts to make sense of the mystery, especially considering his own connection to it after his own mother, an artist, painted the victim. With a personal connection to the victim, he must look into his own past and history with Vicky Crosse, dealing with his own darkened history. Will he be able to solve the case and find the killer? Can he learn the truth behind the city he polices? What happened to the woman who did?

Memories are Murder
First coming out in 2007 on the 1st of January, this was published through the Napoleon and Co publishing outlet. It would be the fifth title in the ongoing Belle Palmer series of mystery novels, which all featured the eponymous amateur sleuth. Working as stand-alone mysteries, they’d each feature a self-contained mystery case file for the investigator to solve.

This is a great early mystery from Allin, as it shows her development as an author, along with being a strong mystery. Whilst the characters had already become a staple by this point in the series, it still clearly shows her evolution as a writer. There’s plenty of twists and turns too, making for a different take on the mystery genre, as it always remains one step ahead of the reader.

The zoologist Gary Myers is discovered drowned after attempting to study the behaviour of Elk, whilst an old high-school boyfriend of Belle Palmer has rented a property on her road. Looking into the case, Belle must deduce whether Myers’ drowning was an accident, or a murder, as his cottage was broken into prior to the death. With a missing laptop and camera, along with a news clipping on the reserves being poisoned, Belle must work out what’s really happened. Can she get to the bottom of it all? Who is the real killer? What will happen when she finds memories are murder?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lou Allin

Leave a Reply