Book Notification

Lou Bradshaw Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ben Blue Books

Publication Order of JL Tate Books

JL Tate, Texas Ranger (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas War Lord (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Comin' Home (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Mule Valley (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Man's Keeper (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shad Cain Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Fine Kettle of Fish (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Trails Less Traveled (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Lou Bradshaw is an American author of fiction novels. A storyteller all of his life, Bradshaw wasn’t always an official writer. He has worked in the past as a graphic artist and commercial illustrator. He would consistently struggle with stress from deadlines and clients, and it even caused him to lose sleep. He would make up stories in his head to distract himself from the stress and what was bothering him. This grew to the point where Bradshaw decided he needed to put his ideas on paper.

Bradshaw soon discovered that his writing was taking up multiple binders, and he figured out that what had originally started as a way to distract himself had turned into a large passion. With the help of a felt pen and a loose-leaf binder, he assembled his notes and his ideas into books and they eventually were published!

A dyslexic child, Bradshaw found that his teachers did not understand his condition and considered him either lazy or slow. He has written more books than he was even able to read in school! He did turn in a book report on Huckleberry Finn, but it was three months late. Still– points for trying! Lou currently lives with his wife Avon in the Missouri Ozarks. They spend their time with family, golfing, and enjoying all of the beauty that the great outdoors has to offer.

He is the author of the El Gato series, which features a number of books in it and focuses on the main character Shad Cain. There is also the Shad Cain series, with six books in that, the most recent being El Gato. He is also the author of the JL Tate series. He collaborated on the book wanted with the help of several other authors; it was published in 2016. He is also the author of the novel A Fine Kettle of Fish, published in 2014.

JL Tate, Texas Ranger is the first book in the JL Tate series. His nickname is Tater, and the last time that readers saw him he was saying goodbye to his friends and going on his way to becoming a prestigious member of the Texas Ranger force. But it hasn’t been but it is not very long at all before we find that he is involved with a lady outlaw in a romantic fling. He is able to extricate himself from this brief tango but when he does he only encounters even more trouble and almost wishes he was back with that fun and wild woman– because this is just a major pain in the rear.

It turns out that he has stumbled upon a significantly large amount of gold that was stolen during the Civil War, and now the state of Texas is claiming that the gold is theirs. Tater must work with Spade Carson, who is his Ranger partner, to unravel this case. When a gang is working to get the gold back and another gang working to take the gold by whatever means and ways that they can, everything gets a bit more complicated than they would like. With a young lady entering into all the chaos of everything that is happening at the moment and Spade and Tater caught in it too, things start to get a little crazy.

It could be his imagination, but Tate is highly charmed by this girl– whose name is Eve. But they have bigger fish to fry, and it seems that nowhere is safe in the nation for the two rangers. Along the way, they must deal with people who are greedy for the gold, ambushes, and even night raids. The two rangers must deliver this gold to Texas or die trying. Will they ever get there? Pick up this exciting book to find out!

The second book in this series is called Texas War Lord and it was published in 2016. This book takes up again once more with the Texas Ranger JL Tate. Now that he has been assigned to an office in Pecos for an indefinite amount of time, Tate is trying to stay out of trouble. But it seems that fate has other pans, and before he can even get near to Pecos he runs into some trouble.

Tate is assigned with patrolling over a few thousand miles– no big deal. It takes a lot of effort and time to do this, and Tate knows that he’s not going to be sitting around and doing nothing– he’s going to be working a lot patrolling. Even though it’s a huge job to take on, the people above him think that he can handle it. Tate hopes that they are right about this.

However, when he has to take on a member of a renegade gang as a prisoner transport to El Paso with Tate as his escort, things get a little strange. The same members of that gang raid Pecos with the goal of shooting the Ranger or anyone else that’s around. Tate is on the way out of El Paso and is ready to saddle up for what seems like it is going to be a long journey.

Luckily for him, he has some help along the way from his partner of the past Spade Carson as well as a young Ranger in training. The kid is young and has a lot to learn, but Tate can use all the help that he can get. He thinks that he’s going to need some people on his side if he’s going to be dealing with the gang and any other surprises. It’s his goal to hunt down the gang on a rampage and put an end to their streak.

Not only does the ranger have to deal with that, now he has to deal with something else. A young woman is on a mission to find two relatives last seen in the West Texas or southern New Mexico area. Can Tate stop the gangs and help this young lady find her missing kin? And can he become a mentor to a young buck who wants to join the Rangers and help train the next generation? Pick up Texas War Lord and see for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lou Bradshaw

5 Responses to “Lou Bradshaw”

  1. Robert Stewart: 2 months ago

    I have tried to find Bradshaw’s book on Amazon and even through your link they aren’t there. I want a paperback edition but a straight search by name renders no results. Thoughts or suggestion of other vendors would be appreciated.

    • Graeme: 2 months ago

      Unfortunately it looks like they have been pulled from Amazon. Not sure why or if its temporary or what – I tried to research it but couldn’t find any details

  2. Larry Jones: 2 years ago

    It’s been a couple of years sin e Mr. Bradshaw’s last book. Is he still writing or hashe retired?

    Hope all is well!

  3. Dorothy Sealy: 2 years ago

    Enjoyed all your books. Hope you will publish another soon.

  4. Spike Jones: 2 years ago

    When will your next be out? I have all of your books and the last was from April 2021.


Leave a Reply