Book Notification

Louis Joseph Vance Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lone Wolf Books

The Lone Wolf (1914)Description / Buy at Amazon
The False Faces (1918)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alias the Lone Wolf (1921)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Masquerade (1921)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Wolf Returns (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Wolf's Son (1931)Description / Buy at Amazon
Encore the Lone Wolfe (1933)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Wolf's Last Prowl (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Wolf and the Hidden Empire (With: Carl W. Smith) (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Terence O'Rourke (1904)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Private War (1906)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brass Bowl (1907)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Bag (1908)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bronze Bell (1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pool of Flame (1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortune Hunter (1910)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Man's Land a Romance (1910)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cynthia-of-the-Minute (1911)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bandbox (1912)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Destroying Angel (1912)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joan Thursday (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day Of Days (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trey O' Hearts (1914)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sheep's Clothing (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Mirror (1920)Description / Buy at Amazon
Linda Lee, Incorporated (1922)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baroque (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Paramor (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to En-Dor (1925)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Fire (1926)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Ride Hard (1926)Description / Buy at Amazon
They Call It Love (1927)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman in the Shadow (1930)Description / Buy at Amazon
Speaking of Women (1930)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trembling Flame (1931)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Street of Strange Faces (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon

Louis Joseph Vance
Louis Joseph Vance was an American mystery author best known for The Lone Wolf character. Otherwise known as Michael Lanyard, this character was featured in over 20films and close to ten books. All this happened from the time the book was published to about 1950. Vance also wrote many other novels and short stories in his lifetime.

The Lone Wolf
The Lone Wolf tells the story of Michael Lanyard. Otherwise known as The Lone Wolf, Michael, a man who started as a jewel thief, became a detective. The story begins in Paris, where a four-year-old boy arrives in a restaurant. While his memory is dulled by time, he remembers the many bedchambers located on the upper floors and being all alone. This marks the beginning of his job as a dogs body in Troyon’s hotel. It is here that the boy is introduced to thievery, and when he is caught in the act one day, he is promoted to a gentlemen jewel thief.

The main story focuses on the jewel thief’s return to Troyon’s many years later. The mayhem and conspiracy that follows is nothing short of extraordinary. First, four criminals known as the Pack want Michael to join their team. When he declines this offer, enmity is created, and Michael will pay dearly for it later. He also falls in love with an American woman named Lucy. In a funny twist of fate, Michael learns that Lucy is a nurse to one of the criminals. While the wise thing to do is end the relationship, Michael is so smitten that he vows to ditch his criminal ways for her.

Michael’s rule was to always avoid entanglements, especially with women. After a successful theft in England, he is looking forward to some quiet time in the place it all started. The one time he goes against this rule turns out to be his downfall. Things between Michael and his newfound love are going great until Michael is framed for murder. Soon enough, the police will be on his case, and Michael and Lucy will have no choice but to flee, and in the most dramatic way. In a dangerous car chase and biplane adventure, Michael comes close to losing his life. The two lovebirds had planned to go to France and start a life there, but fate had other plans.

Incredibly, there is a lot in this story that readers can identify with, considering that the book was written in 1914. There is enough action from cover to cover, and the story will suck you right from the start. Michael is an intriguing character, and the author has done a great job of highlighting some of the circumstances that enticed him in a life of crime.

If you are looking for a book filled with intrigue and action with just a bit of romance, The Lone Wolf is ideal. Join Michael and Lucy on their escapades and get to see the extremes people will go to get what they want. All the characters are well developed, and the plot is quite engaging. Add excellent twists and dramatic turns, and you have yourself a page-turner. The vintage feel also gives this book quite an edge making it a perfect choice for readers looking for a book out of the ordinary.

The Brass Bowl. with Illus.
The Brass Bowl. with Illus. Features Daniel Maitland, a man who has just arrived in New York after being away for weeks. A few of Dan’s friends have planned several activities to mark his arrival. Unfortunately, Dan is not so thrilled, and he anticipates a boring time. However, just when Dan’s friends are dropping him at his apartment, an attractive young woman catches his eye. The beautiful woman is coming out of a house belonging to a bachelor. When Dan gets to his door, he finds a handprint on his desk. Dan can almost swear that the handprint matches the beautiful woman he just saw getting out of his apartment building. This can only mean one thing; the woman was in his house as well.

This discovery marks the beginning of some exciting days for Dan. In a matter of days, Dan will push a car out of the creek, tell lies to the police, encounter burglars, engage in a fistfight, and speed through the streets of New York. The excitement goes a notch higher when Dan hotwires an elevator just before getting involved in a shootout. Just how much is Dan going to get involved with this strange woman? How does a well to do young man gets into all that trouble in only a few weeks?

The key focus here is on the Maitland jewels burglary. Engaging and filled with adventure, this story takes the reader on a wild ride through the streets of New York. The woman in grey acts as the red herring, and the twin appearance of the burglar Anisty is almost dramatic. Other notable characters in the story are the servants, including the Maitland estate butler, who let the reader into their masters. Lives.

This story is set at a period when cabs were horse-drawn, and elevators were primitive. The heroine in the story, mostly referred to as the lady in grey, is a rebellious woman. Join her and Dan on a pleasant adventure where there is going to be enough action to keep you engaged to the end. The story also comes with a bit of romance, and it is interesting how the relationship between the main characters starts. The structure and reveals are epic, but this is expected given that the author was a screenwriter.

The Brass Bowl. with Illus is an enjoyable read. Just like the rest of Vance’s work, the story comes with a contemporary feel, and it is fun to see just how things have changed with time. While the book was initially crafted with young readers in mind, the writing will appeal to readers in all age groups. Get this book if you like a story with loads of drama and a delightful storyline.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Louis Joseph Vance

Leave a Reply