Book Notification

Louise Doughty Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Crazy Paving (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dance With Me (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
An English Murder / Honey-Dew (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fires in the Dark (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stone Cradle (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whatever You Love (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apple Tree Yard (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Water (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Platform Seven (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bird in Winter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Novel in a Year (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Common People: An Anthology of Working Class Writers(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Louise Doughty

British novelist and playwright Louise Doughty is well known for producing mystery thriller books of a high-quality. Engaging readers and keeping them hooked, she really is a true master of suspense, knowing precisely how to hold her audience’s attention. This has proven to be hugely successful for her over the years, as she really sets herself apart with her interesting and entertaining titles. Writing in a style and tone that is very much her own, she has created something that is quite different and idiosyncratic to her.

She’s often known for infusing her stories with a historical element too, with her well researched attention to detail. This makes for a highly immersive set of books that really do draw the reader in and hold them there, allowing them to feel as if they’re really in the story. Not managing series so much, she largely writes stand-alone self-contained novels, with readers being able to pick up any one of her books. She’s also written non-fiction work too, writing on the craft of writing itself, imparting her ideas and wisdom to others.

Her characters are well established too, creating individuals that really stand out from the page, resonating with the audience on a personal level. Many of her characters really do ring true to life, as the reader identifies with both them and their plight, something which Doughty does extremely well. Coupling her characters with her use of suspense, and it’s a successful and highly winning formula that works all the way. There’s a lot more to come too, with plenty more titles planned for release upon the horizon, as she continues writing into the future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in the East Midlands in the UK, Louise Doughty would grow up in Rutland, which is England’s smallest county. It was these rural surroundings that would come to inspire her and much of her work and writing in the following years to come. This would be something that she’d continue on into university, as she would study and learn her craft at a higher level.

Attending Leeds University followed by the University of East Anglia, she would do an MA in Creative Writing during her time there. Spending much of her twenties in London in a series of secretarial jobs, she would continue to write the whole time, progressing herself and her craft. Presenting on ‘A Good Read’ on BBC Radio 4 too, she currently still writes to this very day, continuing to put out work on a regular basis.

Writing Career

Starting out back in 1995, Louise Doughty would begin with the novel ‘Crazy Paving’ and this would be a stand-alone mystery novel. She would also work as a columnist for ‘The Daily Telegraph’ too, and this would lead into her 2007 non-fiction title ‘A Novel in a Year.’ Over the years she would also work as a cultural critic for a number of other newspapers and different magazines as well.

Her novels would all be stand-alone titles, and she mostly looks at stories with a psychological angle to them. She would also see her book ‘Apple Tree Yard’ being adapted into a BBC drama as well, and she has also worked as a playwright too. Winning different awards for her work, including the Orange Prize in 2011, she’s made a name for herself quite unlike any other, which will continue to live on for a long time yet.

Whatever You Love

Originally published in 2010, this would first come out on the 3rd of June through the Faber and Faber publishing imprint. A psychological thriller with plenty of twists and turns, it’s definitely a book that leaves an impression on its audience. Not a part of any overall series either, it’s an entirely stand-alone title that can be read by itself with its self-contained narrative.

This story really is an emotional roller-coaster, dealing with a whole range of different themes and ideas throughout. There’s a serious tone to the novel, and it really holds the reader’s attention, despite its somewhat heavier subject matter. Never losing its audience, it’s a gripping story that’s truly engaging on every level, constantly keeping the reader guessing as to what’s coming next.

Dealing with the death of her daughter Betty who died in a hit-and-run at just nine years of age, Laura sets about exacting revenge of her own. Looking to find the man responsible, she must also deal with the turmoil of David, Betty’s father, and him leaving them for another woman. Coping with the past, she has a thirst for retribution, all whilst coping with love and loss, looking to heal the wounds of the past. Will she ever be able to though? Can she find her way forwards? What will happen as she looks at ‘whatever you love?’

Platform Seven

First published in 2019 on the 22nd of August through Faber and Faber, this would be a stand-alone thriller novel with a supernatural angle to it. Essentially telling a ghost story, it combines it with a mystery thriller, making for an engaging story and intriguing mystery. There’s some heavy themes once again, with some serious ideas present throughout, making for an interesting and thoughtful read. The story is entirely self-contained and can be easily picked up, and there’s plenty of twists and turns throughout to keep the reader continually turning the page. It’s definitely a worthwhile read for both fans of the mystery and supernatural genre, and of the author as well.

At 4am one morning, a man quietly enters platform seven of the Peterborough Railway Station, as he heads to the far end. Believing himself to be all alone he sits on the metal bench, and Lisa Evans knows what he’s about to do, as he heads towards the edge of the platform. There’s been two deaths on the fateful platform, and Lisa herself was one of them, as she now attempts to understand what’s drawing people there. Will she be able to solve the mystery from beyond the grave? Can she discover the truth before more people are drawn there? What is the secret behind Platform Seven?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Louise Doughty

One Response to “Louise Doughty”

  1. Mark Parkin: 5 months ago

    Until seeing the advert for the itv drama of
    platform seven, I’d not heard of Louise Doughty
    , but on the strength of the TV ad,I bought the
    book, along with Apple Tree Yard. Platform seven is one of the best books I’ve ever read( and I’ve read a lot of books over the years), and I immediately put it in my top ten best reads. It’s
    a real tour de force of creative writing. Looking
    forward to reading the rest of her books.


Leave a Reply